“Circling” The Drain

Round Drain Cover

While following my husband around our local hardware store, as he was searching for some things he needed, we went down a plumbing aisle.

Content to follow and look at all the items on display I was sort of lost in my own world.  He would make a comment about a product or ask me an occasional question.  I don’t even remember if I answered him.  Must have since I don’t remember him stopping, turning around, and asking “Are you listening to me?”

That is until I spied shiny items like this drain cover.  We have these in our home, as do you.  I dig hair out of them when the drain slows, especially when I had long hair.  Looking at this drain cover in the store package it became something more than a drain cover to me.

I guess my husband had been talking to me and I was non responsive.  He came over and asked if I’d heard him.  I had to admit that I had not heard anything he had said.  I was totally lost in my crafting world.  Consumed with this drain cover and how I could use it.  Put it on a piece of white card stock and cover the paper with colorful circles, use the outer rim of circles as a frame, use the widest middle section to make a row of circles.

Drain cover with square holes

Then I saw the squares and my mind really took off on its own.  So lost in thought and creative imagination that the outside world was gone.

My husband had to touch my arm to get my attention.  “What do you want with drain covers?”he asked.  And before he could take a breath he knew.  “Something for your crafty stuff” was what he said next.

Then, because he is the love of my life he said “Put them in the cart and lets go”.  How lucky can a girl be?

The holes in the drain covers are not sharp or ragged so they won’t tear up your markers as you color in the spaces.  Using chalk in the holes can be a bit tricky but the effect is quite nice.  The centers are highly colored while the outer edges of each square or circle are lighter.  Acrylic paint used in these holes can be the hardest to do.  While the paint is wet you should not disturb the drain cover.  It will smear the paint and it won’t look very good.  Too much paint and it bleeds beneath the cover and makes a horrid mess.  How do I know this?  Tried it that is how I know.  Do the Dry Brush technique if you want the best results with acrylic paints.

So, if you want to try something different on a card front or a photo  matte, then go to your local hardware store.  Today’s video shows you how to use felt tipped markers and these drain covers.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to ““Circling” The Drain

Leave a comment