Tornadoes, frantic families, texts from friends, and us totally clueless.

Joe and I delivered our trucks to Charlotte, North Carolina around noon today and began the long deadhead trek back up to Franklin, Massachusetts.

A text message came to me from Maureen.

20130520-202514.jpg

Next was a text from our son, Curtis.

20130520-202821.jpg

On the heels of that text came this one from our daughter Loreli.

20130520-203015.jpg

Night before last I had watched a local Roanoke, Virginia news station showing tornado damage in Shawnee, Oklahoma which is about 30 miles east and north of our home. After receiving these text messages I asked Joe “What the heck do you think is going on at home?”

We were both totally clueless.

By television reports, once again in Roanoke, Virginia, the city of Moore, Oklahoma – which is 5 miles north of where we live – had been devastated by a mile wide tornado that stayed on the ground for nearly an hour.

Another daughter texted me.

20130520-203704.jpg

Repeated calls to our neighbor, Hugh, continue to go unanswered. It is our hope that the cell stations are overloaded and power outages have made contacting friends at home impossible.

There are, at last count, 75 third grade children lost in the wreckage of an elementary school in Moore, Oklahoma.

The only thing that Joe and I can do is pray for the families that have had their homes and lives torn apart today. Our hearts go out to the families whose children have died today. We pray for these families.

Currently we are 1,000 miles away and don’t know if our home is safe or not. We have each other, we are safe, our children know we are safe, and that is all that matters right now.

At some point we hope to hear Hugh’s voice on the phone. He will be sure to let us know what has gone on in our neighborhood. Until that time I will just stay calm. There is nothing we can do except add to the confusion and chaos. We have obligations to meet, and a job to do.

Our home will either be in one piece or a billion pieces scattered for miles. The important thing is we are together and safe. Although we enjoy the comforts of our home when we do spend time there, the fact is it is only stuff and it can all be replaced. The families who have suffered the worst blow imaginable are the one’s who have lost everything.

Send up a prayer for the families that have lost their children and other loved ones. Join Joe and I in this.

With a heavy heart – Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “Tornadoes, frantic families, texts from friends, and us totally clueless.

  • Jann Gray

    Glad to know you are safe! Praying with you for the families who are faced with the devastation and loss of family members! Let us know when you know about your home! Love you!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Jann. We finally heard from Hugh after 10 pm last night. Norman only had a small amount of rain. The tornado didn’t come near our home. Power was out and the telephone and cell towers were overloaded.

      Hugh told us the news reports were are stating the entire population of Moore, Oklahoma was was affected. As if the loss of children’s lives weren’t bad enough many of the surviving school children’s parents are missing.

      We are just heart sick!

      Hope your travels are going well and you are having fun.

      Love you – Leslie

  • aspot2stamp

    I have been watching this and our family have prayed and will continue to. I cannot imagine the devastation these families are going through ;( . So happy you and Joe are safe and Pray your friends are too. We are watching the weather closely as the line of storms march our way. The tornado that hit in Grandbury Texas was a close call for our family as my Moms cousin lives there and thankfully it hit on the other side of town and she is safe, also happy to hear Maureen post as that means she and her family are safe there in Texas. Gonna pop over to my blog and check my mail, my sweetie is sharing his computer til we get my power
    cord situation taken care of. Keep us updated when you can.
    Much love and big hugs to both Joe and you.
    Love,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m glad to learn your extended family in Texas is safe. I’ll pray that the tornadoes Peter out and don’t head your way. What a spring we are having 😦

      We heard from Hugh last night after we went to bed. All is well at home. The power was out for a while and the cell towers were overloaded. I am just heart sick over the families that have been impacted by this tragedy.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • PRAY FOR OKLAHOMA | hastywords

    […] Tornadoes, frantic families, texts from friends, and us totally clueless. (message8.wordpress.com) […]

  • gardenpinks

    Just couldn’t believe the devastation that tornado caused. Our news service covered this ‘event’ this morning and they were reporting 90 plus people killed with 20 of them children but by this evening that was way down once people came out of shelters and many children pulled from the schools in Moore. Think they got the total down to 20 something, still too many. Have just been looking at the photos and it is horrendous, what is amazing that houses, schools, hospitals, etc have been flattened yet a couple of yards away the buildings are still intact! So hard to believe that so many people lived through this. Let us hope there aren’t too many more tornadoes to come.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxxxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Living in “Tornado Alley” we know that every spring is a Craps Shoot. What you saw in your news program is typical of a tornado. Devastation with a small oasis of no damage at all, or slight damage.

      Thank you for your comment and your concern my dear friend. I appreciate you.

      I saw your recent post and the “Brilliant” gift you made for your soon to be married friends. I attempted to leave a comment and am not sure if I was successful 😦

      Love you – Leslie

  • Indira

    I`m glad Joe, your family and you are ok. I can`t imagine all the damage a tornado can cause. We have in the caribbean the storm and I hate them. I two week start our storm season, hope we have a quiet one. Take care.

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh, indeed you do get storms. Hurricanes that threaten to blow you int next week.

      Indira, I hope your storm season is a quiet one. Thank you for stopping by. I must say I’m ashamed that I have not kept up with your blog and I am terribly sorry for that.

      Some friend I am 😩

      I hope your predacious little girl and boy are doing well, as are you and your husband.

      I need to go over to your blog right now.

      Thanks my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

