Dispatch and Inspection sheets for Drive-Away

First thing to relay is we heard from our neighbor last night just after we went to bed in Roanoke, Virginia. Norman, Oklahoma had a small amount of rain and the power was out for several hours. Other than that all is well back home.

The families in Moore, Oklahoma have had their tragedies worsened. Some of the surviving children from the schools that were destroyed are now missing parents who came to get them.

Hold the communities of Luther, Shawnee, and Moore, Oklahoma in your prayers as they were all hit by tornadoes in the past couple days.

Now, to begin my series of what goes on in Drive-Away. I’ve tried to think of the best way to document the process and have decided to start at the beginning of it all. Later posts I will deal with each item on the forms and let you know which are DOT Regulated and which are only “cosmetic”.

First thing is we have to know WHERE we are going. Dispatch notification is done by fax or email. Sometimes we have the dispatch form faxed to the hotels we are staying at, or if home to our machine there. The following is a dispatch that has been emailed to us.

20130521-065954.jpg

Each Drive-Away company has their own Inspection Forms they want us to use. Driving for multiple companies keep me on my toes. I’m a person who likes things to be the same all the time. Switching from one form type to another adds time to my inspection because of the clunking and clanging going on in my brain as I shift gears, so to speak.

Freightliner Corporation has an in depth Inspection Form that encompasses the entire truck. These forms are used by Coldiron Companies Drive-Away division. Joe has altered one of these forms for use with Dependable Transport. We only use this form when a signature is not required at the delivery location. This is only common to one of their customers.

20130521-071006.jpg

Dependable’s Inspection Form is less involved than the Freightliner form yet it covers the important things.

20130521-073012.jpg

The Dependable form is four parts. Pen pressure has to be considered at all times while I fill it out. Making sure all my notes are transferred to the bottom sheet.

20130521-073209.jpg

For this series I will be using the Freightliner form since most of my readers are not familiar with semi trucks and their components.

My sister, Pati, and her husband, Les, worked with us a couple years ago. It fell to Pati to fill out the forms for Les while Joe instructed Les in the mechanical process of hooking up. I had been doing this for nearly 10 years and had a system that worked for me.

Poor Pati was so anxious about getting things wrong and messing up I tried to make it fun for her to ease the fear away.

Ready or not, the series has begun. Hope you find this informative.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Dispatch and Inspection sheets for Drive-Away

  • aspot2stamp

    Will be waiting 🙂
    So happy to hear that Hugh id well and your home is waiting when you get back that way. Will be keeping the folks there in Ok. in our thought and prayers as they deal with the days ahead.
    Keep safe
    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

  • gardenpinks

    I can see why Pati was so anxious! Just so much paperwork! Not sure how much of this series I will be commenting on Leslie as all vehicles to me are just tin boxes with wheels and I am just fine knowing that much 🙂 Car/truck talk does bore me to tears – sorreeeeeeee 🙂 I know where to put the fuel, where to check the oil, where to put water and how to change a tyre but seeing that I don’t have a vehicle all this is useless information and taking up valuable space in my poor brain cell LOL
    So glad you managed to talk to Hugh and tha all is okay at home 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I already figured there would be some that would feel as you do. Never fear my friend. I have photos of the highways and landscapes that will be placed first in the series of posts. You can look at what you want to and then skeedaddle 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

