Hills of Kentucky and West Virginia. 

We picked up my trucks in Pikeville, Kentucky this morning. 

  
Pikeville is in the north eastern part of Kentucky. Less than 30 miles from West Virginia and about 2 hours from Charleston. 

The trees and hills in Kentucky and West Virginia are everywhere. This is coal mining country. Many of the towns are in “hollows”, or as the old time country singers call them – “hollers”.   This is Williamson at the border. 

  
Driving the twisting roads, chugging up the hills slowly and speeding down the other side, thick forest is the main scenery. 

   
 
After we were in West Virginia, smoke billowed out from an area.  The smell of burning wood took me back to my youth at camp around a wood fire. I love that smell. 

  
We are staying in Charleston, West Virginia tonight. Next to a river, I don’t know the name of. A river that still is a major thoroughfare of goods shipped. Coal in barges is a big commodity here. 

Outside our hotel sit barges docked and loaded, ready for their trip up or down stream. Pilot boats are at rest this evening. Waiting to push the barges to their destinations. 

   
 
A beached log is home to a growth of some type of mushroom. I don’t know if this is one variety that is edible or if it is the kind to take someone crazy enough to try off on a halucinigenic trip or a quick ambulance ride to the hospital. 

  
There is always something to marvel at as I drive these roads. It doesn’t take much to entertain me. LOL

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

