Through the bug splats

Today I am on a road I have not been on before. The Brent T. Combs Mountain Parkway in Kentucky. We are going 400 miles out of route for Joe’s delivery in New Jersey to get my trucks in Pikesville, Kentucky. 

The scenery is beautiful. Forest of trees fills my vision. 

  
Some of the trees are bright with Spring blooms. 

  
A busy two lane road requires all of Joe’s attention while I explore the passing fields, streams, and occasional derelict buildings. 

   
   
A road widening project is being done near the end of the Mountain Parkway. Heavy machinery moves along the steep hills of this area. Moving rock and dirt to clear the way for eventual road construction. 

   
   
In my travels I have often seen the drill marks left on a rock face and wondered how that was done. 

  
Today, I saw the machine and operator that does the drilling through the ground and rock.  I find it fascinating, a machine that is the size of a road grader can puncture the hard earth.  Creating stress points in the rock to be broken off then later cleared away. Leaving nothing but long veryical lines in the rock. 

  

Our never ceasing need to expand, outgrow, and populate areas begin with machines. 

I hope you enjoy your day. We are a few short miles away from where I will pick up my trucks going to New Jersey with Joe. 

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

