A gratitude post. 

Joe and I were sent from Buna, Texas to New Orleans, Louisiana on Friday. Calling ahead to the next pick up point we find our trucks aren’t ready until two guys come back from vacation on Tuesday. 

Friday night was Rayne, Louisiana. Saturday and Sunday were in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. There I was able to get a bit of card making done and even a YouTube video made with a tutorial. 

Leaving Baton Rouge on Monday morning, the 83 mile trek was overcast and cool. Arriving at the pick up point we found our trucks were not ready. Another Coldiron contract driver was there waiting for his trucks to be ready. Joe and I got to know the young man during the five hours we all waited.  

These trucks we are waiting on will be sold at a Taylor/Martin auction in Tunica, Mississippi next week. Pressure is being put on us by dispatch to get the trucks. The company selling the trucks is having to pull men away from their regular jobs to get us out of their. It is a lose-lose situation all the way around. 

The man we talked with was able to get down the road last night while Joe’s trucks were being moved into our staging area. We got a start on hooking Joe up. My driving truck came a bit later.  Joe put my boom on that one. 

This morning we woke to drizzly rain. At the pick up location we had to wait while Joe’s truck needed to be jump started. 

  
Waiting for my second truck took all morning long. Rain pelted us as we waited. From sprinkling to a downpour with lightening streaking the sky then back to sprinkles. By late morning the rain stopped. Early afternoon the last truck arrived and we finished our work. 

Leaving New Orleans on I-10 we headed back west to catch I-55 north to Mississippi. 

Louisiana is full of lakes, bayous, and rivers. Bridges are what makes traveling through Louisiana easy. 

   
 
There are people that live beneath the bridges in houseboats. Their little spot on the water. Interstate noise probably mutes the songs of frogs and other insects. I would imagine it beats apartment dwelling. 

   
   
I even saw a partially capsized boat under one of the bridges. Someone got their feet a little wet I’d say. 

  
I have much to be thankful for. Tonight is spent in Jackson, Mississippi.  Tomorrow will be unloading under a cloud laden sky with cool temperatures. No rain predicted for tomorrow. Can’t beat that. 

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

Leave a Reply

