Cleaning and sorting your pantry.

I’m still going clockwise in my kitchen this week.  A couple years ago I sorted my pantry and had everything all nice a organized.  Life happened and all that hard work went unchecked.

Disorganized mess

Disorganized mess

While Joe and I were out running errands the day before yesterday we stopped by Lowe’s Home Improvement Center.  There were some pantry baskets I wanted to get.  They are $6.95 each.  I bought all they had on the shelf.

Storage baskets

Storage baskets

I had some wire baskets from the last time I organized this mess.  I had to dig them out of the clutter first.

Hidden baskets

Hidden baskets

My intent was to lay the canned goods on their sides so I could readily see what I had and how many there were.  Joe had other ideas.  He came in to give me his advice and thoughts of proper use of space in the baskets.

If you stand them up you will have more room

If you stand them up you will have more room

See.....more room

See…..more room

Thank you, love of my life, for your organization skills.  Now would you please do me a favor and figure out how to put these baskets together for me?

What?!  Are  you banishing me?

What?! Are you banishing me?

Don't worry.  I've got this!

Don’t worry. I’ve got this!

So while Joe is busy chasing the little tie wraps and trying to make them wind around the wires to attach the baskets together….I’ll get back into the business of organizing the pantry.

Put “Like with Like”.  Get all your groupings of food items together and situated in baskets so they fit well.

Sort and organize the goods

Sort and organize the goods

You will find that there is more than one of anything and everything.

Thought I was out of spaghetti sauce

Thought I was out of spaghetti sauce

Noodles of all kinds appeared before me.

Noodles of all kinds

Noodles of all kinds

Some Mexican and Asian foods, and some canned fruit I didn’t know where to put.

Mexican, Asian, and fruit

Mexican, Asian, and fruit

Joe says “We need mayonnaise and I’m out of pickles”.  Well, not anymore you aren’t.

Mayonnaise and pickles

Mayonnaise and pickles

Peanut butter, jelly, and salad dressings.

Peanut butter, jelly, and salad dressing

Peanut butter, jelly, and salad dressing

Oh, wait.  The Ramen Noodles.  They’ll fit on this shelf.

Make room for the Ramen Noodles

Make room for the Ramen Noodles

I didn’t know we had all this sugar!

Sugar

Sugar

I had to get into Joe’s stash of boxes because I ran out of wire baskets.  Baking items are in this box.

Baking items

Baking items

There were still items left on the counter tops and table that needed to find a home.  I used more of Joe’s boxes to contain things and stashed other items in places that would be a likely spot.

Organized and done

Organized and done

Now…where did I put the salad dressing?  I can’t find it!  A minute or two of searching I found it :/  Organized chaos!

You can find a lot of pantry storage ideas on Pinterest.  You can drool over the large walk-in pantries with wrap around shelving.  See all the colorful baskets used to store the items.  Get some ideas for your pantry storage items.

Sooner or later you will need to get the sugar and salt granules that make their way to the floor then get tracked through the house.  Once you get your pantry organized, stand back and take a look at the work you did and feel the satisfaction of getting the job done.  Don’t think about the weeks and months to come when the pantry might get back into the shape before all this has been done.  Just enjoy the moment.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Cleaning and sorting your pantry.

  • Maureen Mathis

    Now that you’re able to go grocery shopping on a regular basis and will know what’s actually in your pantry, you won’t go buying all those duplicates. Once those are eliminated, the panty will have a bit more visual open space. Not being home much made it hard for you to manage what was in the pantry, because you simply didn’t have time to take inventory before shopping; you had meals to cook and many other tasks that had to be done in a few days before heading out. You must feel great to actually have the time now to manage the household a bit more efficiently these days. I know Joe must be noticing a new sense of calmness in you because you are able to manage the house now, instead of IT managing YOU! The pantry looks awesome!

    • Message In A Fold

      Wow! Total light bulb moment! Reading your comment made the fog lift from my brain. The sun came out from behind the clouds and the birds began singing!

      You are so right. My life was “Managing” ME. Having this freedom to clean the house in the mornings and have the rest of the day to play in my room has been so good for me. Allowed me to feel more in control of my world.

      Joe is even getting involved in the process 😀 Now…what to do about the “I’m hungry. What’s there to eat” schlock. I mean. I am a “Suzy Homemaker” to an extent. A “Stepford Wife” I won’t ever be!

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I remember you sorting your pantry out before, is it really two years???? Where did the last year go? I have wall hung cupboards in our kitchen for tinned goods – not much in there as we don’t use tinned items much, tomatoes, baked beans and soup so plenty of space for some dried goods and a smaller cupboard for seasonings, marmalades and herbs. A drawer for rice, spaghetti and couscous. So not too much to get disorganised at all, however these spaces do occasionally need a wash and anything not used for while moved to the front to be used up. Close the door quick so no one sees any untidiness 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I like the sound of your pantry area. More manageable in content. Seems you have a “Healthy” foods home. I’ll have to work on that…..next year 😀

      And, yes, it has been two years. Time flies when you’re having fun, I guess :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

