Joe’s home for a few days.

Joe got in last night at 11 p.m.  He drove all the way from Flagstaff, Arizona.  That man was dedicated!

This morning, when I presented him with his cup of coffee, I was told “I’m hungry.”  Followed by “Are you hungry?”  Then “What’s for supper?”  Before I could respond with some acidly biting comment I was gifted with this.

That cheesy grin of his

That cheesy grin of his

I couldn’t help but laugh.  I love this crazy man!  I’m glad he is home and I can hear his laugh.

 

I love his laugh

I love his laugh

This week, with Flylady, the Zone is the kitchen.  We have a lot of errands to run so I am going to seriously do just a small amount.

I don’t think I have cleaned the top of this island cabinet since we have lived in this house.  I know it has been well over a year since the wooden bowl was put up there.  The toaster oven has been up there for about five years.  The silver bowls come down at least once a month when we have a popcorn night.

 

Way up high

Way up high

I had to get the step ladder to see what was hidden up there.  I was getting prepared for spiders, dust, and all kinds of scary stuff.  I was pleasantly surprised to find just a small amount of dust up there.

Step ladder

Step ladder

Only a little dust

Only a little dust

What I found in the wooden bowl was the most frightening.  Out of sight, out of mind.

Good grief!

Good grief!

I’m going to be using my DIY All Purpose cleaner on this project.  It is 2 tablespoons of dish washing liquid and tap water to fill the bottle.  I’ll be using a microfiber cloth as well.

 

DIY All Purpose cleaner

DIY All Purpose cleaner

Spray the cabinet doors with the All Purpose cleaner and give them a good wipe down.  Make sure to wipe the inside doors and the shelf fronts while you are at it.  This takes just a few minutes.  That is if the grease build up is not bad.  Thankfully, it seems the grease build up was all on my living room fan :/

Spray and wipe doors

Spray and wipe doors

Wipe the insides as well

Wipe the insides as well

A little purging of the counter top, a good wipe down using the All Purpose cleaner.  I even used it on the wooden bowl and toaster oven.  Now that area is done for a month!

Job done.

Job done.

I almost forgot to wipe the baseboards under the cupboard.  That is another place that gets neglected in my cleaning.  Looks like it needs it!

Clean the baseboards

Clean the baseboards

Toss out the cookies left over from Christmas :/

Dried out cookies

Dried out cookies

As for “What’s for supper”….it will be pork chops, baked beans, and stuffing.  I use my FoodSaver.  A LOT!  Those little aluminum loaf tins bakers use at Christmas to distribute there tasty treats as gifts.  I use them to put a serving of Joe’s stuffing he makes.  The stuffing is from Thanksgiving and has been in the freezer since.  Baked beans, Joe made his wonderful stuff for New Years and I put a portion in a tin and then in the freezer.  The pork chops were separated after I came back from the grocery store in September of last year.

What's for supper?

What’s for supper?

Once the pork chops thaw out, I will drizzle them with olive oil and rub it around on both sides.  Sprinkle a little salt and pepper on both sides, then a very light dusting of dried Rosemary or Thyme will be added to both sides of the meat.  Remove the stuffing and baked beans from the FoodSaver bags and put it all in the oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Okay, time to get a bunch of running around done.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Joe’s home for a few days.

  • Maureen Mathis

    Glad he’s home for a few days, even if it is for doctor’s appointments! He’d been waiting FOR A MONTH to ask you what’s for dinner, cause he KNOWS that makes your skin crawl. I’m surprised that he didn’t say it FIRST! Enjoy him while he’s home!

    • Message In A Fold

      He was so tired when he got home last night. His thoughts were only about getting to bed and sleeping. Poor guy, he was out like a light just as soon as his head hit the pillow.

      I knew I would not get away with it for long 😉

      Love you – Leslie

  • mjc1520

    Good advice about the all purpose cleaner, Leslie, but strangely enough, since I have been home I constantly clean. I have moved every piece of furniture and vacuumed under it or swept. I have taken all the dishes out of the cabinets and cleaned. It’s ridiculous! I need to find something to do or get the HELL out of here!! I think I am developing an OCD!! I am glad that Joe has made it home safely. Xoxoxoxoxo

    Marilyn

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry, Marilyn :/ I know what you are going through. The boredom! Fighting it the best way you know how and then the craziness sets in :/ I’m going to assume that you have recovered from your surgery well enough to be shoving and pushing furniture around.

      Have you given any thought to your writing? Do you have a quiet space to be where you live? I have to craft or I would be cleaning 24/7, then get burned out and look like I live in a hoarder’s house.

      You stay warm and cozy. There are multiple severe storms headed your way.

      Love you – Leslie

      • mjc1520

        Well, all the furniture moving was before the surgery. I just walk around with a dust cloth, broom or mop in hand right now. Can’t do too much cleaning and can’t wait til the doc says, “Ok, you can clean.” I can’t stand a dirty house.

        As far as my writing is concerned, I have started a new story that i’ve been working on for about 6 days. Feeling good about, I think! Haven’t been able to follow the two people you told me about because I am working from my tablet. My computer is at my ec-husband’s house and he killed my laptop!

        I am SO over all this snow! If it never snows again, it will be fine by me!! 😉

        Thanks deary,
        Marilyn

      • Message In A Fold

        I’m sorry that your laptop has been ruined and your computer is being held hostage 😦 You might not want the computer back if you could have it . Only God knows what kinds of images have been burned into the hard drive….know what I mean – jelly bean?

        I’m excited for you. Getting a story started and you are enjoying the process. As far as the two blogs I recommended for you, don’t worry about it.

        The next time you are in the admin part of your WordPress blog, look up at the top left and you will see the logo. A “W” in a Circle. Hover the cursor over the logo and there will be a drop down menu. Click on the “Reader” link. If that gets you nowhere then click on the “Freshly Pressed” link. That is the listing of blogs that get the highest amount of traffic and WordPress officials like the posts.

        Check around at those blogs to find the category they fit in. Food, photography, fashion, and so on until you find the “Writing” category. Then go lurk around at the offerings there.

        That ought to kill about six hours of your day :/

        Glad you are doing well and healing up. We are a couple of tough cookies, until some doctor cuts away at us and then we are just “wanna be’s” :/ You will be back to your old self soon.

        Love you – Leslie

      • mjc1520

        Morning Leslie, it’s a joy to talk to you. It really makes my day! My ex-husband is anticipating his tax return and I am going to make him buy me a new laptop and a computer for himself. I mean, I love this tablet but I can’t do everything on it. I have been trying to find a program where I can access my desktop, but can’t coordinate between the internet and google play. Kind of nerve wracking!!

        Amazingly, I slept late this morning, got up at 10:00. Easy to do when it’s raining. Actually, I am ready to lay back down and its only 11:30. Lol I hope you are having a great day with Joe. Hope you won’t use the whole time he’s home to do errands, enjoy him! I’ve been single for 20 years and not dating anyone right now, so enjoy the time with him!

        Well, I’m going to squeeze in some writing before the kids get here from school. Have a grea day, love!

        Marilyn

      • Message In A Fold

        Poor Joe. I kind of wrangled him into helping me clean and organize our pantry. I guess that would qualify for “spending time together” 😀

        Well, you must have needed the sleep. It is not often you get to sleep in late. Enjoy it while you can. 😀

        It is good to know that you and your ex are friends. Most times couples become enemies. I hope you get the laptop you want. One with all the bells and whistles 😀

        Enjoy your writers solitude….while the muse is speaking to you and the words are flowing like water. Awesome!

        Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Hope Joe is over his manic ride home now and has finished tormenting you 🙂 Just love the big guy’s smile 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

