Dust doesn’t take a holiday :/

Before I get into this post I want to tell you about Joe and Jim out in their romp across the highways.

Seems that Joe is wearing Jim out.  Poor Jim…he is at the mercy of Joe and his “I’m driving to get home” attitude.  When a body is not used to the long hours and the constant travel it can wreck havoc on a person and make them feel they are running a marathon.

The two of them picked up trucks in North East, Maryland on January 11th.  The trucks were going to Acompo, California.

They delivered the trucks on January 18th then began a deadhead to Irvine, California to get another set of trucks.

Once they got to Irvine, California on January 20th, they headed to Salt Lake City, Utah to deliver the trucks.

They arrived in Salt Lake City on January 22nd, made their delivery then began the deadhead to Phoenix, Arizona where they will be moving eight trucks to auction in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Joe took pity on poor Jim and let him have almost two days to rest up.  While they hung out in Phoenix, after getting their first set of trucks checked out and moved off the property, Jim was left to do whatever he wanted to do.  Joe was going to visit our youngest daughter who lives near Phoenix.  Jim had been invited along to meet her and visit.  I think Jim was just totally ready to be shed of Joe for a while.

Carissa and her husband, Jaime, are pregnant.  WITH TWINS!  They have been married for almost seven years and have had so much difficulty getting pregnant.  Then wham!  They really got pregnant.  She is so beautiful.

Our "Little Mommy"

Our “Little Mommy”

Yesterday, Joe and Jim got in their trucks and delivered them to the auction site in Las Vegas, Nevada and are now making the return trip to Phoenix, Arizona for the next set.

While I have fully retired from truck driving and have the house to myself I am keeping busy.  Playing in my craft room and getting my house cleaned.  Several times while Joe and Jim have been in the pickup together deadheading somewhere Jim will holler out so I can hear him through the cell phone “You can have your job back.  I’ll give it back to you!”  Me…being the kind and caring person I am.  Someone who wouldn’t intentionally hurt anyone’s feelings respond with “Bwahahahahaha.  Fat chance of that!”

This week of cleaning with the Flylady Zones – I am concentrating on my living room.  Yesterday I did my little office area.  I’m going around the room in a clockwise fashion.  I’m only going to deep clean the area to the right of my office.

The area I'm cleaning today

The area I’m cleaning today

If you have a Dyson vacuum cleaner I would totally recommend you get, if you don’t already have it, the Dyson Car Cleaning Kit.  I use this tool to vacuum the upholstered recliners in our living room.

Dyson Car Cleaning Kit

Dyson Car Cleaning Kit

It has a really great small beater attachment.

Attachments

Attachments

It has a coupling device in the box that will allow you to use it with the hose attachment of the Dyson.

Hooked up to the vacuum

Hooked up to the vacuum

I so needed a shower after doing this bit of work.  All the dead skin, dust, and who knows what else has been captured in just this small area.  It is just totally gross.

Yucky!  Gross!!

Yucky! Gross!!

I did find a missing sock which I cleaned Joe’s chair.  It went missing in November and had not been seen since then…until today.

Missing sock found

Missing sock found

The dust has been cleaned up in this area and the sun is brighter!  At least I think it is anyway.

 

So much brighter in here

So much brighter in here

If you need a good deodorizer that is cost effective try putting some vinegar in a spray bottle.  Full strength, don’t dilute it with water.  Spray on the fabrics in the cleaned area.  It will smell like a salad in the room for about an  hour but it goes away.

Put Vinegar in a spray bottle

Put Vinegar in a spray bottle

Just lightly spray the fabric.  You don’t have to make them soaking wet, just mist over the items.

Mist the fabrics

Mist the fabrics

Alright.  That is enough foolishness for one day.  I’m not looking forward to tomorrows portion of the room.  All the book cases :/

Leslie

 

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Dust doesn’t take a holiday :/

  • Maureen Mathis

    Cleaning will be SOOO much easier, now that you’re able to do it regularly! Joe is going to change his mind about asking you back when he sees how nice, clean and cozy your home is now!

    • Message In A Fold

      That’s what I’m hoping for. Easier cleaning. Instead of crash and burn for two weeks a YEAR! The rest of the year I’m not home but the dust is :/ Thanks for being so kind to me 😀

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Congratulations to Carissa and Jaime, wonderful news. Typical though that they wait around for 7 years for a bus and then two arrive together 😀
    Poor Jim, hope he doesn’t burn out too soon!
    Dust doesn’t take a holiday but as long as it isn’t disturbed no one knows how long it has been there 🙂
    Love and hugs and happy cleaning(???)
    Lynn x

    • Message In A Fold

      You crack me up! Wait around for a bus then two arrive. ROTFLMBO! I’m going to have to pass this on to Carissa 😀

      Jim, poor guy. One of the reasons I’m glad to be home is that Joe would wear me plain ragged and I was about to kill him on several occasions. Hope Jim can restrain himself from doing that :/

      I’m just about “SO OVER” this house keeping stuff ^_^!!!

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

