Hello. My name is Leslie and I have heart trouble and dropsy.

To any of you that ACTUALLY do have heart trouble or dropsy, I beg your forgiveness if I offend you.  I am sorry.  Please know that I mean not to ridicule you and your medical issues.

My issues are psychological in nature.  I drop my butt in a chair and I don’t have the heart to get back up again.  Unless…..there is something going on in my craft room and then I’m magically cured.

As many of you know I have been a truck driver for 12 years.  I have traveled all across the 48 states of this vast US of A and I’ve seen every ocean that surrounds this great land.  In that job my home was not, in fact, a home.  It was a way point.  A stopping over point.  A place to be for a week or two or maybe even a month.  Around tax time it was my place for a couple of months.  I crammed everything I had to do in that short period of time.  Do the tax work, clean my house from top to bottom, and nearly blow my stack quite often when the oft lamented refrain coming from my husband was “I’m hungry.  What is there to eat?”.

Home was somewhere I really didn’t want to be.  Home meant non stop work.  No relaxation and enjoyment of any kind.  This house has never been “Home”.  It was not where my heart is.  It was about as “safe a place to fall” as a motel/hotel room.  When we bought this house on New Years Day of 2003 I had plans to put my stamp on it and make it home.  Now it is 2014 and that has not yet happened.

I fully retired from truck driving in November of 2013.  It is now, mid January of 2014, that I am getting to the place where I am ready to begin the “Nesting” and turning this house into a home.  First I have to clean it.  And this is where the heart trouble and dropsy come in.

Every winter I follow the Flylady way of cleaning house.  It has served me well.  Put me on a much needed schedule.  Helped with my time management issues.  I still follow Flylady and her plans of action.  I want to tell you about a website I use IN ADDITION to Flylady.  It is Clean My Space and it has a ton of information there that has inspired me to get up off my butt.

I finally got motivated to begin.  A week late on the Flylady Zone.  But I’m motivated to get started.  Last week was the main bathroom.  This week is the master bedroom.

This is my bathroom BEFORE.

Bathroom BEFORE

Bathroom BEFORE

And here is the bathroom AFTER.

Bathroom AFTER

Bathroom AFTER

Yes.  The toilet wand is still sticking out of the toilet.  Let me tell you, that little tip has been a good one for me.  I’ll add the Clean My Space bathroom cleaning video and you can see why the toilet wand is still there.  When the floor dries I will put everything back.

On this site you will find recipes for DIY cleaning solutions.  I went out and purchased a cleaning caddy and some empty spray bottles.  I restocked up on alcohol, hydrogen peroxide, vinegar, and baking soda while I was at the store.

Cleaning caddy

Cleaning caddy

DIY DEGREASER:  50% dish washing liquid and 50% vinegar.  I used a store bought cleaner a long time ago and decided to reuse the spray bottle.  I ended up having to trade it up for a new spray bottle because the old one had some issues with the spray mechanism.

DIY Degreaser

DIY Degreaser

This degreaser is also supposed to work on soap scum and the cruddy buildup on the shower floor caused by bath gels and hair conditioners.

I rate this DIY Degreaser and soap scum cleaner a ****.   4 out of 5 stars.  If, and when you use this, turn the fan on in your bathroom.  The vinegar and liquid soap causes fumes that will make you cough.  The slipping around on the shower floor I did from all the slippery soap was all that was needed to clean the gunk off the shower floor.  Not much elbow grease was involved in getting the shower clean.  Watch the bathroom cleaning video.  You  have to leave this stuff on for several minutes and let the solution do its work.

DIY All PURPOSE CLEANER:  2 Tablespoons of liquid dish washing liquid to a bottle of water.  Again, I used a long empty store bought cleaning product as the spray bottle for this cleaner.  This bottle worked and I didn’t have to change it out for a new one.

DIY All Purpose Cleaner

DIY All Purpose Cleaner

I rate this DIY All Purpose Cleaner a *****.  5 out of 5 stars.  I sprayed it on the toilet, the bathtub, the sink and counter, the trash can, and the rolling cart.  By the time I was finished clearing the stuff off the counters and putting things away I was ready to wet a microfiber cloth and begin the scrubbing.  This made my cleaning so easy.  A quick wipe up with a clean microfiber cloth and everything was clean.

DIY DISINFECTANT:  50% alcohol and 50% water.  I used a new spray bottle for this solution.

DIY Disinfectant

DIY Disinfectant

I rate this DIY Disinfectant a *****.  5 out of 5 stars.  Spraying this solution on the toilet handle, light switch, fan switch, tub and sink faucets and handles.  Everything was sparkly clean and hopefully germ free.

DIY FLOOR CLEANERsort of.  1/3 bottle store bought product and 2/3 water.  I put this solution in a new spray bottle.

DIY Floor Cleaner - SORT OF

DIY Floor Cleaner – SORT OF

I would rate this as ****.  4 out of 5 stars.  My linoleum floors tend to get a sticky feel after a couple days with any store bought floor cleaner.  That includes the Swiffer brand stuff as well.

Window Cleaner – NOT DIY.

Window cleaner - NOT DIY

Window cleaner – NOT DIY

Give your mirrors a good spray with any window solution and let it set while you do your other cleaning chores.  Add some more if the glass dries.  Clean with paper towels and buff with a microfiber cloth.

Before I went into my bathroom and began the cleaning process I had to get the light bulbs and light fixture clean.  I have been meaning to do this the entire time we have lived in this house and I keep forgetting.  I only remember AFTER I’ve turned the lights on.  I did do it today and used the All Purpose cleaner on the bulbs and fixture.

Clean the light bulbs and fixture

Clean the light bulbs and fixture

My house now smells of liquid dish soap.  I’m so glad I did not purchase what the rest of the world is in love with.  Dawn.  I can’t stand the smell of that stuff.  The Ivory I use is quite potent in and of itself right now.

What do you do to motivate yourself to do household chores?  Does it come easy to you because you have a routine?  If so, let me know what your routine is.

Leslie

 

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Hello. My name is Leslie and I have heart trouble and dropsy.

  • gardenpinks

    I think I must be a freaky sort of person because I clean our bathroom and kitchen almost daily – i just hate the thought of germs!! No I’m not OCD or any such thing and I can leave dust to sit anywhere else without being fazed but dirty bathrooms and kitchens make me crawl and in the kitchen we have a tiled floor which also gets cleaned every day. The rest of the housework I do on a weekly basis – not any particular day either but I try to get it done first thing in the morning and start at the top of the house (bedrooms) and work down. A couple of hours and it is all done and the rest of the day is mine :)And you can bet that the unexpected visitors always drop in when the dust needs removing and there are rumpled cushions or the floor needs vacuuming however the bathroom and kitchen will be clean 😀
    I was beginning to wonder that perhaps you had got on with your cleaning and not mentioned it 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m working on getting a routine worked out that works for me. My kitchen stays fairly clean and my bathroom gets a daily swish at the commode but that is about it as for keeping on top of things. I am putting things away now so that cuts down on a lot of the problem areas I have. I’m going to be doing the Flylady thing again these next couple of months until I have my house cleaned the way I want it. Then it will be just like you. Get it done right away and it is finished.

      I’ve seen you guys on your island are being wholloped by one winter storm after another! I can imagine this is playing hell with Rod and you as far as arthritis goes. I’m sorry you guys are having such a terrible winter. Stay warm my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

