Microfiber cloth in place of Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop.

I am down to my very last Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop pad.  I have more floor than mopping refills.  Arrrrgh! I don’t want to resurrect that old mop and bucket!  Crapazoid!

Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop refills

Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop refills

Only one mopping pad left

Only one mopping pad left

Wait.  I have a Microfiber cloth and some household cleaner.  Hmmmmm.  I wonder if that would work?

 

Microfiber cloth and household cleaner

Microfiber cloth and household cleaner

Lay the Microfiber cloth out lengthwise.

Lay out the Microfiber cloth

Lay out the Microfiber cloth

Test to see which direction of the Microfiber cloth best fits your Swiffer Sweeper head.  Mine will fit this way.

Test to see which way your mop head will work best

Test to see which way your mop head will work best

Poke the Microfiber cloth into the holes where you would the Wet Mop pads.

Poke the cloth into the holes

Poke the cloth into the holes

Once the Microfiber cloth is secure you are ready to get the cloth wet with a little bit of tap water.  Don’t get it soaking wet though.  Don’t want to have a soggy mop.

 

It is now ready to get damp

It is now ready to get damp

Take the Swiffer Sweeper to the area to be cleaned.  Pour a small amount of household cleaner on the floor.  Just a small amount.

NOTE:  You can use vinegar to clean the floors if you don’t like to use harsh chemicals.

Go to your cleaning area

Go to your cleaning area

Pour a small amount of household cleaner on the floor

Pour a small amount of household cleaner on the floor

Mop as you normally would.  For this demonstration I only cleaned an area two “tile” widths wide on this section of my entry way.  You can sort of see the difference between the clean floor and the dirty floor.

Mop as usual

Mop as usual

When you have finished cleaning the floor take the mop to your sink, remove the Microfiber cloth and rinse it out well with running water.

Yuck

Yuck

Gross

Gross

Rinse with running water

Rinse with running water

Wring the water out of the Microfiber cloth and replace it on your Swiffer Sweeper mop head and go back to the area you just cleaned.  This will pick up  more dirt and clean  your floor better.

Repeat mopping the area you just cleaned

Repeat mopping the area you just cleaned

I was surprised to see I was still getting dirt off the floor!  Gross!

Repeat these steps for the remainder of your floor until you are done.  I did a three foot section of my kitchen and entry way floor at a time.  I waited until the cleaned area was dry before I put the table and chairs back.  I played a couple games of Solitaire while I waited for the floor section to dry.

Total time to thoroughly wash my kitchen floor and entry way:  One hour.

When finished mopping the floor, toss the Microfiber cloth in the washing machine with a load of towels and call it a day.

Yesterday I tackled the refrigerator.  Totally GROSS!!

Refrigerator that needs cleaning

Refrigerator that needs cleaning

This is just GROSS

This is just GROSS

This was worse than gross

This was worse than gross

A clean refrigerator makes me very happy.

Ahhhh.  Clean!

Ahhhh. Clean!

Just look at that clean refrigerator

Just look at that clean refrigerator

Time estimated to fully clean the refrigerator:  2 Hours.

Actual time to fully clean the refrigerator:  1-1/2 Hours.

My kitchen work is done.  Well, I still have to sort out my pantry.  I’ll save that for the next time this Zone comes around.  I have crafty things to do!

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “Microfiber cloth in place of Swiffer Sweeper Wet Mop.

Leave a Reply

