Being retired. Nowhere to go and nothing to do.

At this exact moment, my home is quiet.  There is no one here but me.  I have no where to go.  I don’t have anything to do.  Ahhhhh, sheer bliss.

Usually this time of year my butt is planted in front of my computer.  I have had file folders at my feet, work desk piled to overflowing with files, the printer spitting out one print out after another.   Receipts and papers of all of our trips during the last year would be gone through, one at a time, and entered into the QuickBooks program for the business and the Quicken program for the personal.

I have finished with all of that.  Last week, in fact.  Now I await the arrival of 1099 Forms in the mail.  Once they all arrive I can take my printed documents to our accountant and I will officially be done with the tax stuff.

Joe has left for Maryland.  He will pick up Jim From on his way and the two of them will be getting trucks going to California.  So far, things are not looking too good for Joe.  He is less than 200 miles from home and stuck in traffic in Arkansas.  Cold rain falling around him, which will soon turn to ice.  The salt and sand trucks are having difficulty treating the roads due to the back up of vehicles.  Jim is waiting at a truck stop about another 175 miles away from Joe.  These two guys will have a few stories for their memoirs about this auspicious day.

All I can say is I’m glad I’m home in my comfy house and not beside Joe waiting for the traffic to begin moving.  Another thing I’m thankful for is not hearing…..one more time…..”Are you hungry?”  “What’s there to eat?”  “What’s for supper?”  “Are you going to eat any breakfast?”  “I’m hungry. What’s for lunch?”  “Do you want to watch some television?”

As I look at my day planner for this week, I find the open boxes to be quite daunting.  Besides a brief visit to our attorney today there is nothing else to do this week.

Empty day planner

Empty day planner

I have a brother-in-law having a birthday this week.  I need to make a card for him and get it mailed.  Other than that, there is nothing for me to do.

I am a person that requires structure.  Left to my own devices I get myself into a depression that is extremely difficult to work my way out of.  I have had structure of one form or another most of my life.  School as a child and young adult, many different jobs from the age of 15 to my now nearly 60 years.  There was always something to do and somewhere to be.  Having to be the “Master” of my life is a challenge I am not totally prepared for.

The place to start is in my kitchen.  This week’s Zone at Flylady.net is the kitchen.  I’m several days behind in the tasks.  The “mantra” at Flylady is “You are NEVER BEHIND.  You can always jump right in.”  The thing to do is create a list.  A list of all the tasks involved in cleaning my kitchen.

 

Kitchen list

Kitchen list

My youngest daughter has a birthday next week.  I am in the process of making her birthday present and I need to get that finished and mailed off to her.

Do you have a life that is so busy you can’t turn around or you’ll meet yourself around the corner?  Do you have things in your life that you have been wanting to get done but don’t know where to start…let alone have the time to do them?  Do you have way too many things to do and most of them get left undone?

While I’m home the rest of this winter I have plans.  Quite lofty plans.  I don’t know if I will get them completed or even started.  One of them is a major undertaking.  I have YouTube videos on both of my channels that need to be deleted.  Those videos that proclaim my affiliation with Stampin’ Up!.  They HAVE to be removed.  I have about 200 of them and the thought of taking on this challenge is enough to make me want to go crawl under the covers and not come out for anything.

I would like to pass on a website I found that has a FREE planner for the month of January 2014.  I think it is a teaser to get  you to purchase their planner but it looks like it will be  helpful.  The website is “Productive Flourishing” and I have printed the Monthly Action Planner.

Monthly Action Planner

Monthly Action Planner

What do you use to keep your life in working order?  Leave me a link to websites you find helpful.  Have any ideas you want to share?

An update on Joe and his travels for the day.  In three hours he has traversed 40 miles on I-40 in Arkansas.  Wrecks abound on the highway from the icy slick roads.  He is moving, slowly, but he is moving on the  slick and hazardous roads.  Joe is making his way to a hotel a little over 20 miles before he can safely stop.  Bad weather for man and beast :/

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Being retired. Nowhere to go and nothing to do.

  • aspot2stamp

    Whoa I feel for Joe and others out in the icy weather. The kiddies finally get to return to school tomorrow although it will start late due to the terrible road conditions. They have been home since before Christmas and we all need a break from each other.
    Congratulations on getting your taxes all finished and waiting, Brian has been plugging away at ours.
    I like you function better with a list of to do’s I feel all jumbled up with out them the problem is Brian is not and he throws a wrench into my planning and says just wing it !! Yikes…..drives me crazy 🙂 !! Now this year I have been researching planners and have been trying to put one together with an old stampin up business planner / ringed binder and have been feverishly working on it every spare minute I get. I have several sections put together, both monthly and weekly calendars, a blog information, a meal / menu section, address book, Bible study, a spot for quotes, and a section for artsy doodles and stuffs. I have been keeping up with monthly appointments and work schedules for awhile however I think I will like it better having everything in one place. I am still looking for a way to keep my writing tools with me and I’m looking for a messenger / satchel type bag to use as a purse and have room to carry my binder and my other gear. I will have to get a post done to share but like I said we are getting caged animal syndrome around here so it may be a few days til I can get to it.
    Take care
    Love and Hugs
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      While you are getting your planner sorted…which is a major chore and challenge all on its own….take a look at this site – “Philofaxy“. There are FREE full year planner pages you can print yourself. The planner pages are for all the sizes of binders available and used by the majority of people. Punch your own holes. You did say you had a section put together for your monthly and weekly calendars already. I wasn’t sure if you actually had the pages for this year or not.

      When you are out and about you might check out the thrift stores for your messenger bag. Maybe a plain and not to baby-ish diaper bag in good condition would work. I don’t know what your needs are but those things are usually big enough to tote around King Kong. Check out this link from Tip Junkie for menu planning sheets.

      Talk about “cabin fever”! You must be just on the razor edge of losing your mind. Well, maybe not. You deal with the family noise and bustle better than I ever did when our kids were younger. I prefer the quiet. Kids are anything BUT quiet 😀 Hope you guys are staying warm and dry. This winter weather is vicious right now! Tell Brian that I understand his woes and frustrations in his tax prep. He’s a great man and has always done well. I just feel sorry for him :/ I hate the process but love it when it is done!

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Hope all is well with Joe and Jim and that the roads are becoming less icy. I see on the weather news for North America that the temperatures are supposed to be warming up.

    We have had tremendous winds and heavy rains which have caused flooding in some areas with some homes being lost down cliff sides. In one part of the country on the east side 6 or 7 homes were lost down cliffs.
    The thing that is causing so much flooding besides the amount of rain is the very high tides at this time of year and the winds have increased their height even more. Towns and villages along the river Thames are still suffering from floods as more and more rivers and streams feed into the Thames. Many people suffered flooding and being without electricity all over Christmas – poor sods – with some not getting their power back until well into the New Year when the gale force winds blew the power lines down.

    Well done on getting all that paperwork done!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Holy Cow! That news is dreadful! Houses tumbling off cliffs, homes flooded, and the power off. Well, Happy Christmas just went all pear shaped. Bet no one was much in the mood for the New Year either. I’d be a raging grump. All those poor people. How awful for them.

      As for Joe and Jim. Poor Joe, it took him 12 hours…..12 HOURS….to go 200 miles the first day he was back out on the road. Accidents, lanes closed for road work, a semi-truck was jack knifed across the highway as well. Terrible time for him. The next day dawned warmer and the roads were clear. So the two guys are merrily motoring their way to Maryland now. The trouble all behind them.

      Stay warm my friend, and SAFE.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

