Barns seen in my travels through Nebraska and South Dakota

It has been far too long since my last post. We have been out west in Texas and New Mexico the past couple of weeks. No barns out there.

We picked up trucks in Commerce City, Colorado – a suburb of Denver – and took them to Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin. Delivered them this morning.

We were back in “Barn country” 🙂

Here are four photos of just a smidgen of barns I’ve seen and photographed this trip. These are the long shots followed by the cropped version.

20131109-164546.jpg

Here is the cropped photo of the barn. This one has a wide toothy grin.

20131109-164651.jpg

By the time I crop the photos some of the resolution is destroyed, so forgive me for bad shots.

Next is a farm yard in Nebraska on US-81 north of Columbus, Nebraska.

20131109-164958.jpg

This is the cropped photo. This guy is one I would not like to meet in the dark. :/

20131109-165131.jpg

Going further north in Nebraska on US-81, nearing the South Dakota state line was this farm.

20131109-165243.jpg

I think this barn got surprised! Maybe the scary barn did it.

20131109-165429.jpg

The last farm is in South Dakota on US-81. There are several structures grouped in this one.

20131109-165618.jpg

I think of this as a momma and her child 🙂

20131109-165743.jpg

You guys weigh in here and tell me what you think of these barn faces. Joe says I’m silly but what does he know anyway 🙂

Enjoy your weekend. We are deadheading to Pennsylvania.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Barns seen in my travels through Nebraska and South Dakota

  • Maureen Mathis

    Of course we love the barn pictures! My favorite is the red one that got spooked!

    • Message In A Fold

      Mine as well :-). That face is just too funny.

      A few days ago I sent you a text message. I heard about the flooding in Austin. I know your kids are in college there. Hope all is well with you and your family.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh no Joe Leslie isn’t silly we love barns 🙂 We don’t get those types of barns over here in the UK. Yep the red surprised one is my favourite too 😀 Looks so funny.
    How is Jim?
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Jim is finally home and recuperating. He says he will be ready and have a doctor release after the first of the year. Joe and Jim spend hours on the phone plotting and planning. What is the male equivalent of a “Hen Party” I wonder. Those two can talk!

      Hope you are all well and getting ready for the Christmas season.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

