The strange people one sees standing on corners.

20131021-201421.jpg

With Jim in the hospital and Joe frantically trying to keep up the work of two people I asked if he needed me back out for a while. He knows this is not where I want to be but sometimes it is just necessary to “Put the Big Girl Panties” on and suck it up.

Dependable Transport made it possible by renting a car for me to drive out to meet Joe. I left Oklahoma City just after noon and made the drive to Springfield, Missouri.

20131021-202048.jpg

I arrived at the hotel Joe had reserved a room for us in. He hadn’t eaten all day and it was his wish to go get something to eat first.

20131021-202230.jpg

Poor guy. He has been messing around with bank repos all day long. Waiting for someone to find keys. Waiting for someone to jump start the trucks. Waiting for someone to figure out how to stop a truck from honking incessantly because he doesn’t know the code for the security feature.

His plan was to have my two trucks hooked up and ready to go except for the inspection. Plans, in this job, have a way of not panning out.

Tomorrow I will drop the rental car at the airport in Springfield then go with Joe to see, exactly, what I have gotten myself into.

On the bright side…..I need to purchase adhesive rolls for my big ATG Gun. I can do that from the road and it will be waiting for me when I get home. Around Thanksgiving :/

Have a great night everyone.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “The strange people one sees standing on corners.

  • Jann Gray

    So proud of you and your GREAT attitude! Love you girlie…and will be praying for safety and good travels for you and Joe over the next few weeks!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you, Jann. You make me feel good. I cringed a little after pressing “Publish” thinking I had succumbed to another bout of whining.

      I appreciate you and your friendship very much.

      Love you lots – Leslie

  • Maureen

    I figured you d be heading out soon! Thanksgiving break is just around the corner. I just ordered atg tape from the tape jungle.com. Free shipping. I used to get it from tape depot, but when I looked, they didn’t have 1/4 inch in quantities less than a case!

    • Message In A Fold

      A case of AGT tape is enough to last you forever, except you won’t have money to live on for a while :/. Good grief.

      I have to check out the Binding Source where I used to buy a box of 12 for about $70. Wonder if I can still get it by the box?

      Do you use Score Tape? If so, where do you get it?

      And, finally, yes Thanksgiving isn’t that far away. I can tough it out for that long 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • tina

    the big girl panties are very uncomfortable but we all gotta wear um every now and then. but they look so good on you girl”. prayers always be safe
    love tina

  • gardenpinks

    Like Maureen I guessed you would be heading out in your big girl panties. Hope you can find your tape! Fingers crossed you both have safe travels and few troubles.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

Leave a Reply

