Handmade mileage and memo books for the road.

I made a pact with myself….NO WHINING!  That is why this blog has been quiet for the past several days.  Too much whining going on.  Amidst all the whining I did get some time between all the many errands, doctor appointments, and cooking…… #you’re whining again#!

Very carefully, and with feet strategically placed, I made it into my craft room to get the necessary supplies to build the two books.  I think I may need the hard hat and steel toed shoes once I am able to get in this room to clean it up so I can use it.

Craft room obstacle course.

Finding what I needed in this mess, I took it all out to the kitchen table where I could make a mess out there 😀

Flat spot on the kitchen table I can use

The best thing about creating your own journals and/or notebooks is you get to recycle cardboard.  Use the cereal boxes you normally toss out.  Tear the flaps off cardboard boxes.  The backer boards of notepads you have laying around with only one or two sheets of paper on them.

Rummaging around in my craft room.  Opening doors, pulling out folders, opening drawers, pawing through piles of stuff is how I spent a good 30 minutes locating the sticker sheets I wanted to use on these two books.  Keep in mind the products I have used are well over five years old and are probably no longer available for purchase.  This first sticker sheet, from Creative Imaginations, is probably about eight years in my stash.

Creative imaginations stickers

PSX Design Company stickers were also used.  These stickers have been in my stash for approximately six years.

PSX Design stickers

A sheet of die cut tags from Club Scrap that has been in my stash for about five years.

Club Scrap die cut tags

Tim Holtz Idea-ology sticker pad is my most recent purchase and has been stashed for approximately four years.  This product I know is available for purchase.

Tim Holtz idea-ology sticker book

The man I am making these books for is taking my place with Joe as he continues to do Drive-Away.  Jim From is his name.  He does some singing with country/western bands near his home in Arkansas.  As an effort to include his love of playing and singing music I thought this sticker would be a great feature image for his memo book.

Music themed sticker

The memo book has lined notebook paper between the covers.  He can jot down the names and phone numbers of people he meets on the road that have a common interest in playing music.  Or for the notes he needs to write to himself as reminders.  Maybe even create some lyrics about life on the open road as a truck driver 😀

Handmade memo pad

The mileage tracker book is one he will need while doing the actual job of Drive-Away.  Keeping track of his load numbers, where the pick up and delivery locations will be, the state line mileage recording as he passes them along the interstates.

Mileage tracker book

The pair of notebooks I made for him.

The books I made

It was fun getting to play with my paper and sticker stash.  Gives me an incentive to get my paperwork and housework in order so I can put on my hard hat and steel toed shoes to begin the clean up process in my craft room :/

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

12 responses to “Handmade mileage and memo books for the road.

  • Jann Gray

    Leslie… he is going to LOVE them! What thoughtful gifts you have made. .. and out of your stash! You’ve inspired me to go on a hunting expedition to see what treasures I might find! Love you and hope you get that paperwork Done really fast so you can spend some time having fun in your craft room!

    Jann

  • Maureen Mathis

    Looks like you’re making progress with getting re-settled into your home. It’s going to take a while. Have you done your paperwork for Jan 2013 yet? I finally tackled my filing Monday, and even though the plan was to get through A&B, so I could be done in less than two weeks, I actually got all the way through K! I hope to do L&M today, but at least it’s finally getting done! My mother-in-law arrives Oct 12th for a week, so there’s LOTS to get done within that time frame.

    I’m hoping to film my haul from the CKC scrapbook show last Friday and post that to You tube, so I’d better get started! Good luck with your To Do list! I appreciate you letting me vent about my silly little To Do List, but just knowing that you’re out there attacking your own at the same time is keeping me motivated!

    • Message In A Fold

      Gave up on the paperwork with all the distractions of care and feeding of Joe and Jim.

      You are kicking butt on your filing system. Woo Hoo! You will have the rest of it knocked out in no time flat.

      I hope you enjoy your visiting mother-in-law.

      I’m thinking I can sneak away from home and drive to San Marcos to invade your home for cookies 😀

      Looking forward to seeing what you bought at the trade show. How fun for you.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    ooh, I rudely forgot to comment on your books – they are really great and manly enough that he’ll actually use them! Are you SURE that you didn’t attach some glitter and a flower behind one of those stickers just cause you COULDN’T RESIST?!

  • aspot2stamp

    Beautiful work Leslie. I can relate to the whining 🙂 My desk is full of stuff that’s not craft related !! Why is it a catch all??? It’s like a stuff magnet lol 🙂
    Love ya my dear friend
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Shelly.

      It is crazy the stuff that finds a home on our craft table. Socks, toys, tools, dishes.

      How is your vegetable preserving going? Hope you are enjoying the process.

      I may have to plan an escape weekend and find myself knocking on your door in Danville 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Reading through the comments Leslie you are going to be awfully busy travelling to meet up with all your friends 😀
    Love the books and that is a great quote on the memo book. Seeing your bind-it-all machine reminded me that I have one that our daughter very kindly bought me but I have yet to use it as our budget won’t run to buying the wires 😦 One day I will remedy that.
    Hope you can soon get back to the dreaded paperwork and get it all done and out of sight 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I have been wondering where this comment of yours went. I saw it on my phone, and I briefly saw it here then it disappeared.

      As to being busy traveling, while on the road I had thought about stopping by and seeing the ladies as we passed through but that is as far as it got. Probably the same now that I’m no longer traveling, thinking about it but don’t do it :/

      How sweet of your daughter to gift you with a Bind-It-All. Hey, maybe you can write a letter to Santa asking for the wires 😀 Thank you for your sweet comment on my books. That quote is so fitting for Jim. Poor guy, he had bright hopes of bringing his guitar and his “fiddle” along with him in his travels with Joe. They haven’t had time enough for him to even crack open the cases.

      As to the paperwork, I made a start on it yesterday. Almost finished with January. Think I can knock that one out today or tomorrow.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • Tracy :)

    Your books are wonderful.
    So sweet of you to make them for him. He will have the nicest milage tracker book of any trucker 😉

Leave a Reply

