Today, my role in my business is “Mail Room Clerk”.

We got home late Sunday night (9/8/13).  Monday and Tuesday were veg out days.  All I accomplished was food prep (sandwiches and store bought potato salad) and the laundry.

Wednesday I had to go with Joe to Bowie and Grand Prairie, Texas to hook up two trucks going to Celina, Ohio.  These trucks were “Emergency moves for a good customer” and Dependable wanted to look good.

Joe has a lot of work to do on the trailer and had started making schedules with his various vendors to have the trailer this week.  So, it will be put off one more week.  After Joe gets home from Celina, Ohio late tonight he will have this week and most of next for the repairs to be made.

Joe has a couple of doctor appointments next week he has to attend.  Can’t put these off.  One of them is to make sure his lungs have healed well enough from this bi-lateral pulmonary embolisms (blood clots in the lungs) and he can be taken off the Warfarin for good.

Starting my paperwork regimen is always fraught with angst.  I made a vow to myself that this year there will be NO WHINING.

Thursday I went to Office Depot for the necessary supplies I will need to complete this task.  I decided to get a full blown day planner.  I usually carry with me a monthly planner to keep track of the days we are out and home.  This is for our tax purposes and to help me remember where we have been.  This new day planner will be one that will be used for setting goals and keeping track of them.

Normally I have three months to do all the paperwork, clean the house, fix meals, and make attempts to get some crafting done.  The urge to get cracking on everything is so strong because I’ve taught myself to cram everything in all at one time.  The result of this is I have created an ADD Monster.  Attention Deficit Disorder off the scale %itch.  I don’t like me before it is all said and done.

In fact, I dislike myself so much during this time that I don’t even want to be home.

I had a “Management Meeting” with myself yesterday.  Didn’t last long because my head wasn’t in the right space.  However, I was able to write down a few things that are important to me.  Security and Personality Qualities.

Self examination

While at Office Depot I found some cute Washie Tape rolls I will be incorporating into my day planner as I go along.  I’m not going to get all critical about myself and the design elements of my pages.  I need to be accountable to myself.  Find out just, exactly, how much time I spend procrastinating over an element of my work that I don’t like doing.

Washie Tape

One section of the day will be goals for my paperwork and another section will be my goals for house cleaning.  I’m going to be doing the Flylady Zones instead of trying to kill myself by doing it all at once….as I normally do.

Goal setting for this coming week

I will be wearing many hats this coming week.  The first hat will be “Mail Room Clerk”.  This morning I wore my “Management” hat to get the weeks goals written down.  First for our business…

Business goals

Then I had another Management meeting for scheduling housekeeping goals….

Housekeeping goals

Putting the task off as long as I could, I had to remind myself that one of my “Personality goals” was to be more accountable to myself and to focus on a task at hand with discipline.  See it through to the end.  Looking at eight months of mail….I looked around me to see whom I could pawn the task off to.  No one else here.  Might as well get on with it.

8 months worth of unopened mail

Three hours later the “Mail Room Clerk” job was finished.  Piles of bank statements, Settlement sheets, Joe’s medical bills, and our household bills.

Piles of paperwork

The floor has suffered quite a bit through this exercise.  The pile nearest the kitchen sink will end up in the recycling bin.  The pile further away will be shredded and the resultant bags of shredded paper will also be dumped in the recycling bin.

Pile of trash

Now that this task is finished I think I will go watch some YouTube videos on decorating day planner pages or some other paper crafting delight.  Get the old nearly fizzled out embers heating up and setting fire once again.

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Today, my role in my business is “Mail Room Clerk”.

  • gardenpinks

    Never ceases to amaze us just how much junk mail is delivered. Do these companies really have people respond to the junk mail? It must cost a fortune in printing costs. We have a recycling bin which is emptied every fortnight, into this bin goes waste paper, tin cans, jars, bottles (both glass and plastic), newspapers, old telephone directories and Yellow Pages, plastic of many forms, and we can’t believe how much recycling we actually do. Every day a goodly pile goes into that bin and then there is the battery recycling at the supermarkets as well as plastic carrier bags, ink cartridges, mobile phones, books, clothes, shoes, etc, etc. For the bigger items as well as electronic and electrical things then that is taken to the recycle centre at the local ‘tip’ (rubbish dump). It is a brilliant concept all this recycling and it doesn’t end up in landfill to pollute the land.
    So glad to see you getting yourself organised; make sure you set yourself realisable targets so you don’t have the need to whine and moan but you leave yourself some downtime too 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Down time is a must. Figuring out how to make it happen will be a challenge.

      You have separate recycling bins for paper, glass, and plastic? Our recycling pick up people won’t take glass. They dump the glass into our regular trash bin with stuff going to the landfill.

      Someone around here needs to make up my mind about what gets recycled and what doesn’t. :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • Jann Gray

    You go girl! I love your Lists! And wow did you manage to “make hay while the sun shines” (as my grandmother used to say) with that attack of mail! You are doing great! And you deserve some crafty time for sure! Will be praying for you and Joe as you go through this transition. . And for Joe’s doctors appointments to have great results!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you, Jann. Your prayers are greatly appreciated. We need all the help we can get 😉 Joe has developed a really nasty rash under his arms that looks like it should be bleeding all over the place. We go see his General Physician tomorrow afternoon. I really hope it is just something with the heat and not a reaction to his meds after all this time :/

      Thank you for the support you have shown in this crazy part of my life. Helps me to keep my confidence up and be motivated :D.

      My craft room, sadly, will have to wait for a little while until I get a better handle on this paperwork and my housecleaning. I’ve been working on getting a spark going with my Mojo. Nothing yet. In time it will come back. Always seems to be in fit form while I’m driving down the highway and have no way to make things happen.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

