Glitch in the mobile app for WordPress

Has it only been one week since my last real posting?

If you use the iOS Mobile App for WordPress to write your blog posts, read and reply to the comments you receive, or keep up with the blogs you follow regularly the newest update is a real pain in the arse.

While waiting for road service to arrive and replace batteries in Joe’s truck up in Portland, Oregon last week I was going to catch up on my blog reading. An automatic message appeared telling me of a new update to the WordPress App. I had the choice of updating the app or ignoring the message. Should have ignored it.

The update locked me totally out! Touching the WordPress icon took me to an opening blank screen which never changed. Waiting a minute or two for the app to become active I was then popped out to the “Home” page.

Several days I attempted to use the App with the same results. Locked out.

I have searched through the WordPress Forum for help and tips to make this App work. There is nothing there except a myriad of similar complaints.

I searched through Google for answers to this problem. Nothing could be found to fix this problem.

This morning I deleted the App from my phone and read the warning that all data would be lost by deleting the old App. I reinstalled the App and had to register my site information. This App is working at this time.

However, all the blogs I follow have been lost. That is the “data that will be lost” by deleting the older version of the WordPress App.

When selecting the “Blogs I Follow” link on the WordPress App I received an Error Message and informed my information had been compromised. ~heavy sigh~

Five hours later all is well. I can read the blogs I follow. Next is to see if I can leave a comment on them.

So far this new, and frustrating, App seems to be no different than the older version.

FYI….the rabid remarks on the iTunes App for WordPress will tell you there is trouble ahead if you are thinking to get the update. Well….not today. The remarks have been removed and this App has received two stars (**) out of five.

Recently I have been notified there is an update to the previous update. Supposedly fixes the crash problems from the other ones. I’m not in a hurry to get the update.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Glitch in the mobile app for WordPress

  • gardenpinks

    I do hate updates!! I foolishly updated Firefox a while ago and now can’t upload photos to a forum I am a member of so I have open Internet Explorer to upload photos. How daft is that? I installed Firefox because IE was becoming a pain and now FF has become the pain.
    I rarely install updates for Windows as the last time I did that I had all sorts of problems with my computer- thank heavens I could return the computer to a time prior to the updates. Never, ever let updates install themselves always select to install them yourself.

    Hope you have managed to get rid of the buggy app and can do all that you want to.

    Love and hugs to you both
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Lynn, what a major pain in the butt you have dealt with! Do you have access to Flickr or Picasa? Flickr is accessed via a Yahoo account and Picasa is accessed via a Google account. Both are programs you upload your photos to. Once uploaded you then can (somehow, don’t know how it is done) copy and paste the photo(s) where you wish to. One of these might be of use to you in your craft forum without having to go through IE or Firefox.

      As to the smartphone blog App….still having some trouble with the bugger. I’m home and have news which I will be posting to my blog.

      Love you my friend,
      Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        I have a photobucket account which I use occasionally to put extra free photos on ebay when I am selling something but it is such a faff using a third party to upload photos to a forum. First upload photos to photobucket, flickr, etc then copy the correct bit of html and then open forum and hope it will paste okay. Too much messing about and life is too short! I know I can upload photos to this particular forum via IE so just have to remember to open that browser instead of Fiefox and the issue hasn’t been addressed in later updates either. Older versions of Firefox are okay though!
        Hope the updates for the App soon get sorted though.
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        What a total bummer! Whoever claimed that computers would make our lives easier needs their ears boxed.

        At the least you do have a working solution to your problem and can add your photos.

        I’ve seen your new blog post. Awesome is what I will say here, more will be given at your site 😀

        Love you my friend
        Leslie

  • FacingBackwards

    Developers do make mistakes sometimes as frustrating as it can be. Chances are, if there’s a second update that quickly after the one that caused issues, they are aware of the problem and have released a solution. Maybe updating it will help.

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for leaving your comment. I appreciate you doing so. My “hat is off” to those who can create any smartphone App to make our lives richer 😉 in the way we share with the world. Not having my blog App work has made me feel like I am missing out on the party. Never fear, I am finally home and am about to remedy that.

      Once again, thank you for your comment.

      Leslie

Leave a Reply

