2012 Chevrolet Malibu

This has been one “Wild and Crazy” month! More things going on than a juggler at a lumberjack log rolling contest!

No service on my phone traveling through the back of beyond. My phone locked up on me a couple times. Posting on this blog was difficult at best sometimes. Before I knew it a whole week flew by!

Well, you don’t need to hear my excuses. So on to the reason for this post. We rented a car in Salt Lake City, Utah for driving to Colorado to be with our daughter at her wedding.

The “Full Size” vehicle we rented was more like a motorized skateboard! I’m used to our pickup and the relatively high ground clearance. The car was a bit difficult to get used to. See how much lower the car is to our pickup! Also notice the ground clearance between the two.

20130718-203226.jpg

I got a taste of how the rest of the world sees big trucks. No wonder you guys fear being sucked under a tractor trailer combination while driving next to one.

20130718-203516.jpg

20130718-203530.jpg

These two pictures were taken by me as Joe drove back up to Salt Lake City on our return.

We rented a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu. This car was extremely difficult to get in and out of. To get in, either the driver’s or passenger seat, I found it a bit more manageable to get sat first then swing my legs in. It has been forever since I’ve acted like a lady and had to relearn that bit all over again.

The seats, both driver and passenger, are uncomfortable! The front bucket seats are hard and the back support is in the wrong place.

I have become too accustomed to the oversized seats in our pickup and the air ride seats in the big trucks. This car, in my opinion, is not good for long distance traveling.

Road noise was distracting for the first 200 miles. The car sounded as though the wheel bearings were about to seize up.

The road experience was another thing all together. Being so close to the ground 70 mph felt more like 100 mph. The steering on this car was tight. A heavy hand at the wheel of this car made for a couple of frightening moments.

Both Joe and I are used to the extra play in the steering wheels of the used trucks we drive. You have to get a grip on the wheel and work that thing to get the response needed. This car only needed a light touch. Handling this car like our pickup or one of the trucks was the wrong thing to do….as I found out when leaving a parking spot at the airport long term parking area. Thank goodness we were in an area far from the other cars parked.

One major complaint I had about the car was the headrests. They were too far forward when the seat back was upright for my preferred seated position. I found the headrest was not so much of a problem when the seat back was at a more rearward angle. This made my back and neck ache after 10 hours in the car.

We drove to Estes Park, Colorado on Saturday. This car handled well on the twisting roads and hairpin turns. As long as I used a gentle touch on the wheel.

This was one of the times I had trouble with my phone. Most of my pictures were out of focus or blurred. Except for these three.

20130718-220839.jpg

20130718-220857.jpg

20130718-220913.jpg

My two girls – Loreli and Carissa – reconnecting after too many years apart.

That is all for now.

Leslie

P.S. Lynn, I have read the comment you left on my previous post. Due to phone problems I have been unable to respond. I will remedy that tomorrow.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “2012 Chevrolet Malibu

  • gardenpinks

    Here I am at last!! There is a thunderstorm rattling around so will soon have to disconnect! Did the wedding go well?? Would love to see a photo of the bride 🙂
    Yes those trucks are frightening when you are sat in a small vehicle alongside them especially when the driver decides to pull out and overtake another lorry but doesn’t check his mirrors to see if there are any little cars coming alongside!! We were nearly wiped out when this happened to us, he decided to overtake another lorry just as we were overtaking him and he hadn’t seen us. Luckily Rod saw his indicators out of the corner of his eye and managed to drop back. Much horn blowing and flashing lights meanwhile our hearts were beating rapidly!

    News alert – latest grandchild arrived at 7am on 13th July. A boy named Elliot and weighing in at a smidgeon under 10lbs. Mum and baby are very well and mum came home the same day and then undertook a drive out. She was back racing over the weekend 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I have to admit to being a bit unsettled driving and riding in that wretched little car. Sounds like you and Rod had more of a terrifying experience than you needed :/

      So glad you two were able to come away from it with your hearts thumping and adrenaline coursing through your systems.

      Congratulations on your newest grand child. I hope you enjoyed your time with the boys while everyone awaited the new arrival. So glad to know mother and babe are well.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

