I think I have recovered from the all-nighter last Friday.

Friday last we delivered four more of the ProStar International trucks to Oak Park, Michigan – a suburb of Detroit.

20130703-211628.jpg

20130703-211652.jpg

There were a total of 10 of those trucks out of Van Buren, Arkansas. We were going to stop in Danville, Illinois to see my friend Shelly then jog over to Paragould, Arkansas to meet up with a former Drive-Away driver we know on our way to get the last two trucks.

Instead we were requested to drive from Oak Park, Michigan and arrive in West Columbia, South Carolina by 7a.m. Saturday morning. That deadhead trip was over 700 miles.

Joe started off driving for a couple hours then I took over and drove until 1 a.m. at which time Joe finished and got us to the required place on time.

We were about done in! Thankfully there were only two trucks to hook up.

Before I forget this roiling and leaden sky over the Indiana Turnpike I need to add it here. I was driving at the time and had Joe take the picture.

20130703-212529.jpg

My phone went off with a tone similar to the Emergency Broadcast irritating wail. There was flash flooding in the area I drove through.

Menacing. I think that would be more appropriate than roiling.

Arriving at the Kenworth dealer in West Columbia I started the inspection process of Joe’s trucks. He started to move one of his trucks – a T800 Kenworth – when bedlam ensued.

20130703-213125.jpg

That wet spot on the ground is diesel fuel. Someone at the dealership had connected a hose to the crossover connection on the left fuel tank.

The crossover enables the fuel to be pumped evenly between the two fuel tanks on big trucks. Anyway….the connection

20130703-213436.jpg

The other end of the hose was placed on the deck plate and left open. The mechanic didn’t even cap the hose!

20130703-213603.jpg

20130703-213621.jpg

In less than a minute 10 gallons of diesel fuel spurted out of the hose when Joe started the truck. He quickly shut it off.

20130703-213757.jpg

Joe moved pretty fast for an arthritic old fart after a night of little sleep in the pickup seat.

Once we got hooked up we had to be off the dealership property by 11:30 a.m. because it would be closing for the weekend.

Knowing what we were up against I took the time to see what hotels were near the dealership and found one about a mile away. Thankfully there was a room for us right away. Once we walked in the room it didn’t take long before we flopped on the bed and slept the afternoon away. After dark we slept the night through and left Sunday morning for Wilmer, Texas where these two trucks were headed.

These are the perks of being a business owner and working for ourselves 🙂

Hope you enjoy the July 4th celebration. Fireworks, hotdogs, burgers, and family.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “I think I have recovered from the all-nighter last Friday.

  • Maureen Mathis

    LOVE that happy face after talking about working for yourselves! Too funny! Have a great 4th, whatever you have planned! Shannon and I will be packing for our flight to Dallas for a basketball tournament for several days, then we fly to Nashville for another tournament and return home on Sat the 13th.

    I could never do what you do. I’ve only been running around like a crazy person with this basketball stuff for 5 months; I could NEVER live a nomads life for the year! I admire your and Joe’s dedication to one of the hardest jobs out there; it’s really amazing! I knew I was going crazy when I started seeing FACES on the backs of 18 wheelers driving from Houston last night after practice! If I weren’t driving, I would have texted you! I wanted to grab my IPad and take a picture, but I’m not as talented as juggling a camera and posting to social media while driving like YOU are…..!!!

    Have a great time at the wedding if you don’t post til then!

    • Message In A Fold

      You and Shannon stay safe in your travels. That’s precious cargo in my book – the two of you!

      Passing on my rah rah good wishes for solid wins as Shannon and her team make the others run their legs off.

      Oh my, seeing faces on the backs of trailers? :-). 5 months of being a nomad, living out of a suitcase, being on someone else’s schedule will do that to you 😉

      While you and Shannon are out sampling the local flavors of Dallas and Nashville your Charlie will have the run of the house and your kitchen, that could prove interesting ;-).

      Good luck and stay safe.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Jim From

    Sorry you didn’t make it to Paragould, maybe next time…I’ve heard stories of big rig operators having truck problems…I guess I’m lucky never having had a breakdown when I was on the road…You do believe me don’t you…If so I have another story or two to tell you…HAVE A GOOD 4th…Jim

  • gardenpinks

    What happened is called Sod’s Law Leslie!! Damn shame you had to miss out on your visit to Shelly and Jim.
    Fantastic sky photo, definitely menacing but beautiful too 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I really wanted to see Shelly and spend some time with her. I had one of my “feelings” and I didn’t let her know we were planning to drop in on her. Good thing I didn’t say anything.

      We haven’t seen Jim in about five years so there would have been a lot to catch up on there.

      “Sod’s” Law sounds a perfect name for that mess.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

