1993 379 Peterbilt is today’s flavor.

There are only a couple trucks I absolutely HATE to drive and this is one of them. Driving the truck is not the problem. It is making it work right that is the problem.

This truck, along with several others, was purchased at the Taylor-Martin Auction in Fort Worth, Texas by a dealer in Pendleton, Oregon.

As a driver I need to maintain a careful vigil of my speed, the RPM’s for shifting, engine coolant and oil temperatures, fuel, and the air gauges.

Where the heck are they? Or better yet. Which one of these gauges is the air gauge?

20130702-152655.jpg

Once I located the gauges to watch the next thing to find are the headlight switches. Crapazoid!

20130702-153043.jpg

The chrome switches have engraved name plaques. Now just a bit of bobbing and weaving to get the light just right so I can read the dang things.

20130702-153316.jpg

Good, there is a shifting diagram….now if I can read it.

20130702-155252.jpg

This old truck is not too bad looking. It still has a strong presence. Even with over 1,000,000 miles on the odometer.

20130702-155519.jpg

This truck reminds me of an aging “Fabio” type. There is still some flash but not quite as bright. A little less defined abs, a little bit of underarm dingle dangle along with the “guns” show.

This truck might be a little tired but it is still ready for the road. I just have to ignore the shiny bling of the chrome gauges and switches. Kind of like seeing the gold necklaces worn by some older men with their shirts open showing off their bronze chests.

Hopefully this guy will make the trip. If it doesn’t you can be sure I will have a story or two to tell.

Joe’s 2008 Peterbilt is having problems and is in the shop. We have a daughter getting married on the 11th and he is freaking out! She is in Denver, Colorado and we are going to Pendleton, Oregon. Joe is in the mountain moving mode. Come hell or high water he WILL be walking his little girl down the aisle. No matter what it takes.

This could prove interesting…..

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “1993 379 Peterbilt is today’s flavor.

  • mjc1520

    I truly understand about these trucks you have never driven before. And I despise those chrome plates people put on the dash. I mean, what’s the purpose? For as a Pete goes, I have never driven one, especially a 379, they scare me. I thought a KW W900 was bad. Wooo! I drove for a friend for a while and that Freightliner, half the lights on the dash didn’t work and the dash on the passenger side of the truck was being held up my a 2×4! Is that crazy or what?

    Like you, I am helping my sister get her wedding on track. It’s scheduled for September and she has lost 2 sizes since purchasing her dress. But it is all good. Your daughter will have a beautiful wedding and everything will go as planned!

    Marilyn (Lynne)

    • Message In A Fold

      Good grief, I think there are about 50 of those trucks with all the dash lights out but one – and that one you don’t need to see. You cracked me up when I read about the 2 x 4 holding the passenger side dash up. Bet you were glad to see the back side of that truck!

      I hope you are enjoying the wedding planning. Not being a shopper this adventure must be like information overload for you ;-). Flowers, dresses, gifts for the bridal party, venue hunting, and a million other things.

      Sister bonding is awesome. Enjoy the process.

      Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh no you don’t need excitements coming along to disrupt your plans just now but I can imagine that if needs be Joe will be driving through the night to get to the weddng on time 🙂
    Amazing how time is racing along just now!!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe has put a stick in the wasp nest by telling our dispatcher the trucks will be left at the side of the road if they present any more problems.

      We will find a truck stop to leave them and not the side of the road. I swear he can be a bully sometimes. Actually, sometimes there is no other way except to be a bully.

      Hope things are going well at your home.

      Love you – Leslie

  • jake bodewig

    I bought this truck and have had no problem at all driving it from day 1 the air gauge is very easy to see IT IS THE ONE WITH THE ORANGE NEEDLE. The oil girl runs like a top and looks great after I hot the tape off the hood from the dinks that drove it from Texas leaving the paperwork on the hood!

    • Message In A Fold

      That “dink” was probably me. I was under strict instructions to not remove the papers.

      Glad you have found this to be a good truck for you. Hopefully the two of you will have many miles to go.

      Btw – wear your sunglasses in the cab. You will need them to diminish the sun glare from all the chrome 🙂

      Leslie

  • jake bodewig

    And the dash lights took a fuse. The are red, white, and blue btw.

Leave a Reply

