Considering a career change.

It has been quite a while since my last post.  Posting from my iPhone has become a challenge of late.

First, I need to apologize to a few people for not commenting on their blog posts.

  • Lynn Claridge has a fantastic blog about her home in Gloucestershire, England.  Seriously her blog is rich in history – her personal history – of an ancient house she and her husband restored and have lived in for the past 30 odd years.
  • Marilyn has a trucking blog she recently started and is struggling with to get followers.

I’ve been trying to comment on both of these ladies blogs and have had so much difficulty using my phone to do so.  Crapazoid!

Joe and I finally got the Chehalis, Washington trucks delivered to Houston, Texas last Thursday.  We both got sick with some upper respiratory thing about last Tuesday.  Between the two of us we blasted through three boxes of Kleenex.  Couldn’t hear a flipping thing with our ears so plugged up with this head cold thing.  Hacking and coughing like we were trying to throw a lung.

I later learned, through our daughter the nurse, the flu shot we got earlier in the year was not the correct shot for the viruses this year.  The shot we got would not protect us from the malady we were afflicted with recently.

By the time we got home late in the afternoon on Friday we were about done in.  We spent the weekend trying to get the necessary sleep required to rid our bodies of this flu.  Seeing us in action you would have thought we were no more than stop action figures.  Only the stopping was far longer than any action going on.

Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday were spent getting necessary errands done.  Joe needed to get his CDL updated since it expires the end of this month.  I had to get my DOT Physical done since mine expires the 27th of this month.  I also got my CDL updated early since it expires in August of this year.  Just driving to these appointments were enough to ensure we were recliner bound the remainder of the day.

When I talked with our daughter, the nurse, about wanting to get off the road and find some different work she suggested that I check into being a “Unit Clerk” of a hospital.  I would need to have a course of some kind that would get me familiar with the medical terminology used in the charts and such.  I did clerical work for a lot of years and this seemed like an avenue worth checking into.

I made an appointment with a local college which specializes in the medical field to see what they have to offer.  I’m in the midst of doing research into the online courses available to me which would not require a Bachelors or Associates degrees.

Let’s face it.  I’m nearly 60 years old.  A degree is not something that I feel necessary to have at this point in my life.  Something that will give me the necessary certification to do the job and allow me to get in at an entry level position in the medical clerical field.

This way, GOD FORBID, if anything happens to Joe and he is no longer around to keep me in the lifestyle I’ve become accustomed to I can take care of myself and maintain my home.

As I indicated in a different posting, December is when I say Adios to the trucking industry.  It is time to get into something different and allow me to be home nightly instead of only briefly each month.

Recuperating from this flu has been my main focus over the past several days.  We will be leaving, once again, later today for Arkansas to deliver trucks up to Michigan.  We have 10 trucks to move in the coming couple of weeks and will need to be physically able to do the job.

This current flu has smitten so many people.  It is making the rounds and hitting pretty hard this time.

So, in case you have been wondering why the silence from me I can blame it on my phone and on the flu.  Hopefully things are back on track.

Hope you all enjoy a great weekend as it comes around.  Time to hit the swimming pools to cool off and get the grill fired up for hamburgers and hot dogs.  Maybe some sprinkler time with the kids in the back yard as they cool off if a pool is not available 😀

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “Considering a career change.

  • Jim From

    Sounds like you are both getting better…I hope…Trucking will not be the same without Bungie, once you retire. If you guys are in the area of Paragould, Ar. let me no…Would love to see you…Jim

    • Message In A Fold

      On one of our trips from Michigan back down to Arkansas we will make a stop to see you.

      I gave Joe your cell phone number and he will give you a call soon. We are like chickens with our heads cut off scrambling to get packed and out today.

      Waiting on repairs to be finished to the brakes on our trailer and a call that it is done. Crazy business.

      I’m looking forward to not having 17 hour days with only a day or two each month off. Getting too old and crabby to enjoy this job anymore.

      See you soon.

      Bungy 😀

  • gardenpinks

    Oh Leslie so sorry to hear you and Joe have been sideswiped again, hope you are both feeling so much better now.
    Your future plans sound exciting, with your life experiences I hope very much you find a job you can enjoy and not have all the physical work and then gruelling hours of paperwork AND have to time to play with your toys 🙂 Sounds great!!
    I thought you were MIA because of a family wedding, I couldn’t remember when it was but thought it was this month – probably way off track there. My mind does weird things at times:D
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx
    PS I shall be discussing the book but probably not this evening as my internet connection is flukey – it is Thursday and apparently there is a load of crap on television so everyone decides to go online and I get kicked off – hey ho!!!!!!!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Girlfriend, I have no idea what day it is anymore! The tux fitting was a couple weeks ago. The wedding is in July. That is going to be a huge family reunion as well. All our kids will be at the event.

      I think the dead critter in that last truck aided the health issues we have been experiencing. Maybe not but I need to think it is so 🙂

      I’ve been trying to comment on the research you have been doing on photo voltaic cells since your home is off the grid. Very interesting stuff you’ve found.

      Love you – Leslie

  • pati

    So your calling a halt to the truck driving, no more life on the road come december. I can understand that, joe will be on his own unless he can find something closer to home to do also. Now thats not a bad idea either. Good luck in your search. Love you sis and joe. Be carefull as you come and go.

    • Message In A Fold

      Once again, sorry for the delay. I’ve done gone lost my mind.

      Joe has a project he is going to do this winter, or so he tells me. Yard sales, auctions, estate sales and the like looking for stuff to sell on eBay. Then he will also be into welding metal pieces into functional items to sell on Etsy.

      Hope he finds his niche and the road warrior can hang up his hat.

      Hope your move is going well and everything, as well as everyone, is cooperating with you 😀

      Love you Sis

  • pati

    Yes all is well with us, we are all moved into our house, now if we can get all our (stuff) crap into place we will be happy. Sure is different living in town again. I am sure joe will find many things to keep himself occupied, and you will find something you like also. By the by sis say a prayer for a friend of mine and even post it for more prayers if u want. Trish just had brain surgery to stop an anurism she is having troubles she is un her early 40s. thx sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m so sorry to hear of your friend’s trauma. I will hold her up in prayer.

      A “towny” once again :-). Dang, no more surprise tractor rides with the hunky farm boys 😉

      I wish you and Les well in your new home and his continued work with the city.

      Love you Sis

      • pati

        Lol yes lol we are a “towny” again, and hopefully no more moves for us lol. My friend trish is NOT doing good at all i hear, i am not really in the loop anymore but i hear she isnt doing good. No, no more tractor rides, no more cows lazily walking across my yard or just staring at us. oh well. We are ready to live in town. Thanks for the well wishes sis. love you.

Leave a Reply

