Getting a trial run on the hard hat.

Our dispatch office gives me plenty to wonder about. Why things are done the way they are. And of course I think I could do things better. NOT!!

Essentially we are on a deadhead trip from Charlotte, North Carolina to Chehalis, Washington.

20130605-192123.jpg

Were it not for the suit fitting, last Saturday for our daughter’s wedding this coming July, we would probably still be in the northeast or Midwest. All that traveling for TWO trucks. Joe wheedled and badgered until a second set of trucks was found near Salt Lake City, Utah.

We hooked up my trucks this morning at Magna, Utah.

20130605-193240.jpg

This job site requires all the safety gear to be worn. A couple of the men at the site had big smiles on their faces as they met me. I think it was my hard hat and they want one like mine.

20130605-194123.jpg

My trucks are going to Henderson, Colorado from Magna, Utah.

20130605-194514.jpg

Joe’s route will be a little out of route when we drop down to get my trucks then head to the Houston, Texas area.

20130605-194850.jpg

I have found one odd thing about strangers.

If I go into a restaurant in my grease stained and dirty scrubs I get looks ranging from disgust to stink eye. If, however, I wear my orange vest over my grease stained and dirty scrubs I don’t get the odd looks.

Go figure. A working stiff is a working stiff. Dirty homeless people don’t, as a rule, walk into a restaurant to eat a $30 lunch or dinner for two.

Perception. That’s what it is. The orange vest is the answer to the dirty scrub clue. I have a job and I get dirty.

So from now on….the orange vest will be my friend 🙂 and it will get a lot of use.

This week is just about over. Where does the time go? I hear this Sunday is Father’s Day. Dad’s, practice your best smile. The neck ties are coming.

Hey! Any of you men that read my blog want to get a contest started? An “Ugly Tie” contest? Send me a link if anyone takes me up on it.

Leslie

My hard hat.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Getting a trial run on the hard hat.

  • Jim From

    I,m living in Paragould, Arkansas now, if your every in the area or even close give me a shout….Guitarman

    • Message In A Fold

      I received your email with phone numbers. Paragould?! What the heck is in Paragould? I guess it is just as good a place as any. At least you are not in tornado alley.

      I have your email address and will send you a heads up when we have a chance to go through the middle of Arkansas. As you know only too well, this crazy job takes us to places we’ve never heard of.

      See you sometime soon. Until then Be well.

      Leslie – Bungy

  • Maureen Mathis

    Father’s Day is actually June 16th, so you’ve got some extra time until the big day! I hope your trucks are in good shape! When do you get to Houston? We’ll be there this Saturday for Shannon’s basketball practice.

    • Message In A Fold

      It is anticipated, planning is like wishing to win the lottery, we will be in Houston on the 14th. That is if all the stars align and no tornadoes try to take over the world.

      Boo Hoo, I will miss you this weekend. Tell Shannon that I’m in her corner and will be cheering her on, even if she will be sitting out the game because of her foot.

      Thanks for alerting me to the fact that Father’s Day is the 16th. I have time to find something for Joe.

      Love you my friend

  • gardenpinks

    Woohoo you got to parade your hard hat, I bet the guys were sooooo jealous 😀
    Fingers crossed but there may be two families about to have a fight over our home!!!!! Will let you know when we know although I may not say very much until that darn contract is signed, sealed and delivered and then you will hear my shouts of joy clear across the ‘pond 🙂 We have been let down twice now so are learning not to tempt providence any more!!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m so happy! I was a little afraid the estate agents would have forgotten about you and your home over the winter. So I am stoked to learn they have stepped up to the job and are bringing prospective buyers around to see your lovely home.

      I won’t jinx it for you.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

