Viewing the tornado damage on our way out of town.

We had to drive through a bit of Moore, Oklahoma on our way out of town today.

This is what I saw.

20130530-124212.jpg

20130530-124226.jpg

20130530-124240.jpg

20130530-124256.jpg

20130530-124310.jpg

20130530-124324.jpg

I am totally awe struck by the hordes of volunteers that have come from Europe and all over the US to help with the clean up and sifting through the debris to recover salvageable personal items of the homeowners.

Church parking lots are jam packed with volunteer’s cars and pickups. There are more good people in this world than bad. It is a shame that the news media only spends token amounts of time on the good happening here.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “Viewing the tornado damage on our way out of town.

  • Maureen Mathis

    I don’t know WHY you are so shocked at the volunteers, giving of their time. If you weren’t on the road, you’d be RIGHT THERE with them. You are capable of many things, but you are TOTALLY INCAPABLE of ignoring others pain.

    So THERE, I said it. And boy am I glad that I don’t have to watch you SQUIRM when given a compliment! That’s Joe’s job!

    I love you, Leslie!

  • gardenpinks

    I second what Maureen said 🙂
    So pleased for those people that there are kind people in the world who have given up their time to help them out.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I can’t imagine having a home one morning then splinters or broken roofs or walls later that same day.

      Having groups of people to ease the confusion and helplessness for these families must be most welcome to frayed nerves.

      Thank you, also, for your kind compliment.

      Love you – Leslie

  • mjc1520

    Leslie thank you for these photos. I went to New Orleans about 2 weeks after Katrina! Like in your photos, the damage was unreal! I was so overwhelm by what I saw I had to pull over and gather myself. I called my dispatch, hyperventilating, trying to describe what I was seeing! It took me a while to get myself together and get my load to the Big Lots store that was waiting. I went back 1 1/2 years later and some of the area had not been repaired! Unfortunately, I did not see any volunteers during those trips.

    • Message In A Fold

      That mess in New Orleans was horrendous. The thing that made me lose it and bawl like a baby was seeing shoes lining the shoulder of I-12.

      Shoes! A mile or more of shoes. Still makes me want to bawl.

      The poor people that were displaced by that storm were screwed every which way from Tuesday. Made me furious to learn the insurance companies (mafia in my opinion) were the biggest b**tards in ruining the lives of the survivors.

      There is nothing more crippling of a person’s soul than to know no one cares.

      Unfortunately, the lessons were learned in a hard way with Katrina.

      Thank you my friend for recounting your experience.

      Leslie

Leave a Reply

