A small glitch in Shelly’s Book Club.

Here’s the deal. The “Page” idea I had for this Book Club is not going to do what I thought it would. It is only a single page that allows comments but no updates can be added. I can not even put up the selected book cover photo or a synopsis of what the book is about. I will not be able to have a post with the chapter selections to read and include a place for your comments and thoughts on what has been read.

The next little problem I have is figuring our what, exactly, type of book to start off with.

Lynn, all the way over in Jolly Old England, has suggested a “historical Medieval romance” novel which looks to be quite good. I’ve Googled “Summer’s Storm” by Denise Domning and find it quite tempting. There is one book before this in Ms. Domning’s series.

We will be delivering in Charlotte, North Carolina tomorrow, Saturday, and will be heading home for a couple days before leaving for the west coast and Washington once again. We should be home on Monday and stay for a couple days.

See, this is what happens when I make a snap decision without doing any research. Not to worry though.

I think a new blog, a separate blog, will be the answer to the glitch. I can start it from my phone (I think) and tweak it when I get home to my computer. This only means a slight delay.

While I’m working out the new place for Shelly’s Book Club to live I would like to take a poll, of sorts, to find out what genre of books you guys all find enjoyable.

I’m not much up for shoot’em up and gore – I get enough of that listening to books with Joe as we travel. Murder mysteries and police procedural books have been listened to for the past year. Suspense and dangerous situations took their toll on me.

I paid him back though. He had to listen to a Nora Roberts book – The Witness – which was actually good. Funny to watch him squirm during the erotic bits. That was hilarious! Poor guy 😜. Thankfully, for him, there was more good story than erotic bits LOL.

Since I’ve never been part of a book club I don’t know how a book gets selected. I’m positive there is a leader whom the decision falls to and everyone else follows.

If there are no other book suggestions from you guys then we will begin with Summer’s Storm. This time delay will allow us all to get the book.

Check with your local library to see if they have it or can get it for you. If you choose to do an “ebooks” I saw this book available at Amazon, Booksamillion, and on Kindle. It is NOT, however, available through iBooks. You can also purchase it from your local bookseller or online from Barnes and Noble.

Here is a link to the book Summer’s Storm”

Last, and most important, I am both amazed and thrilled with the amount of interest and support this “Project to help Shelly” has garnered. It is my wish that everyone benefits from this venture and we all feel part of something even though we are from all over the place.

A side benefit is we can carry on a discussion of the books in our jammies at no particular time. No one will have to break their neck cleaning the house and baking cookies for the gathering 😎

Okay, time to hit the road.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “A small glitch in Shelly’s Book Club.

  • Maureen Mathis

    I can start a Facebook group. I don’t want this to be another To Do maintenance item on your list. Let’s just use their platform that’s set up already! I’ve set one up and added you, and you can add other members if they are facebook friends. Are the interested folks willing to set up a facebook account to make this happen? We could make it a private group, if they are concerned about opening up the Facebook can of worms. I’ve linked a few books for suggestions that are not mystery or technical. What do you think?

    • Message In A Fold

      Totally AWESOME!! Maureen this will allow people to chat amongst themselves and the group as well. Most everyone in my family hang out on Facebook. Two of my girls want to be in on this too.

      • Maureen Mathis

        I’ve already added you to the group, so you can add your girls. I didn’t see Lynn, Shelly or any of the other folks who were interested. It will only work if they agree to set up facebook accounts. Can you check with them?

      • Message In A Fold

        I will notify my girls and make another blog post tomorrow about your wizardry. I’ll call you later tonight, if you will be available, and we can get this thing rolling.

        Thank you my friend for thinking on your feet and being an amazing problem solver.

        Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I do have a Facebook account already, not that I’ve used it much but I need to do some research on that site to set up a promotional page for craft work. I am under strict instructions from my sister, her very talented friend and another lady who is a designer to promote my craft work with a view to selling one off pieces!!!!! Our granddaughter already does this and has a thriving business on Facebook.

    I tried to create a page Leslie for the gardening related posts so I could separate them out from my craft side of the blog but came up against the same restrictions as you found, I don’t really want to start yet another blog just now as there are already two in operation so things will have to remain as they are for the time being!

    So how do I find the page Maureen has set up? If you need to add me as a friend then use my gmail account – this is for all the junk emails 😀 The one I use for Facebook, etc at lynnclaridge@gmail.com.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

