Getting the correct truck in Drive-Away.

A note before I get into this post. A warm and very appreciative thank you to all who dropped by my blog yesterday in response to my plea for help for one of my friends.

I have a page started on this blog titled “Shelly’s Book Club” Foolishness and Mayhem Book Club. That will be the official spot if you choose to join. No fees are involved in this project to help my friend. All that will be necessary for you to do is go to your local library to borrow the book we will be reading.

Which book? That has not been decided just yet. I will post the title and author on this part of my blog and in the Book Club section as well.

If you will be using an iPhone you can access that page in the following manner. Look for the word “Menu” near the top left in the lower portion of the header.

20130522-192218.jpg

Touch on the word “Menu” and you will find a drop down list.

20130522-192312.jpg

Touch on the link “Shelly’s Book Club” Foolishness and Mayhem Book Club and you will be taken directly there.

20130522-192419.jpg

Updates, information, and comments will be made in this area for the Book Club.

Once again, thank you all for your interest.

**********
Now for those of you that want a place to bale before getting into the Drive-Away Series can do so now. But Wait. Don’t you get sick of hearing that on half the television commercials?

We made a side trip Tuesday so Joe could meet the man that repairs all of his camera lenses. This man lives in Virginia down in a hollow similar to this one.

20130522-193056.jpg

Joe drove the barely wide enough two lane twisting roads while I white knuckled it and kept track of the GPS directions.

Yes, you can all flap your elbows and cluck like a chicken because I am one 🐔

While Joe nattered away with his repair guy I wandered around his gardens.

20130522-193618.jpg

He proudly told me the Hostas were beautiful. I’ll take his word for it since I have no clue what a Hosta is.

Maybe it is this with the oddly beautiful purple flowers.

20130522-194001.jpg

20130522-194021.jpg

Or these fascinating flowers.

20130522-194134.jpg

20130522-194157.jpg

Or these bell shaped wonders.

20130522-194242.jpg

20130522-194303.jpg

These leafy bush things caught my eye because of the colors and they look like funnels. Oops, I have one wrong photo in here. Well there were several of these leafy bushes anyway.

20130522-194614.jpg

20130522-195011.jpg

I had an enjoyable 90 minutes of traipsing around the flower beds.

*************
Okay, time to get to the reason for the post. Identifying the vehicles that will be transported to the delivery sight.

We are given the VIN or Vehicle Identification Number and Unit Number, if any, on our dispatch.

20130522-195927.jpg

In the “De-Identification” process the Unit Numbers are usually gone. On these trucks the number is on the left side of the hood.

20130522-200118.jpg

Seeing a Unit Number is not always enough. Sometimes in my rush to get this task started I transpose numbers in my head and inspect the wrong truck.

My stop gap for that faux pas is to actually check the “Name Plate” which is usually located on the door post.

20130522-200413.jpg

We are given the last six numbers of the VIN for identification.

20130522-200507.jpg

The Unit and VIN or Serial Number are written in the designated portions of the Inspection Form.

20130522-200627.jpg

20130522-200644.jpg

When I first started riding with Joe, in 1999, I heard story after story of drivers that took the wrong truck from the pick up point. One driver drove the wrong truck from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to Denver, Pennsylvania. He was in deep doo doo.

Since I was, technically, not allowed to ride with Joe I didn’t want to mess up when I did the inspections.

However, AFTER I was legally on the job I did take the wrong truck. 25 miles later I realized my mistake and had to go back and fess up to my carelessness. I got chewed out, admonished to pay closer attention the next time, then was chided “at least you didn’t get all the way to Pennsylvania”.

Mystery solved on this question. How do you know which trucks you have to take?

Where has this week gone? It is Thursday already. Have a great day.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Getting the correct truck in Drive-Away.

  • gardenpinks

    Okay in order of pictures on your post – Photo 1 is Tradescantia – named after a plant and curio hunter by the name of Tradescant, he and his son collected many plants from around the world but also other curiosities and is buried in a church in Lambeth, London. His tomb is fabulously carved and decorated with the things he ‘discovered’. The churchyard is also where Captain Bligh – he of the famous mutiny on The Bounty:)
    Photo 2 are Aquilegias, commonly known as Granny’s Bonnets!
    Photo 3 are Foxgloves from which is distilled Digitalis – Digitalis being the Latin name of the plant.
    Photo 4 are Hostas!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Beautiful plants that do flower but are grown more for their gorgeous leaves – they love the soil here and I have many types as they are a perfect foil for so many other plants.
    What a beautiful garden, I would have loved to have walked around that garden with you.

    Book suggestion – There are 5 books in the series written by Denise Domning, the first one is called Summer’s Storm. The author is American and written about the mediaeval period in English history, the books are all fiction and are a type of love story without being slushy. In fact they are quite lusty in places but a good read and not heavy going. The second bok in the series is Winter’s Heat. If you have a Kindle or a Kindle app on your iPhone, tablet, iPad, computer you can download these from Amazon as well as get them in a book store and library. Happy reading 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      I knew you would be the plant guru :-). Such history in that little garden.

      Flowers and gardens connect the world in a lovely way.

      That book series sounds great. Thank you for the suggestion.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        That is what I love about plants and gardening is the connection to history especially as I love history – well most of it!! My favourite period is 6th Century to 16th Century – so many interesting things went on and so many discoveries 🙂
        Hugs
        Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

