Where will you be sleeping tonight?

Whether you say your prayers before bed at night or not, tonight say “Thank You bed for being there for me tonight” or say “Thank You Lord for my bed tonight”.

If for no other reason than to remind yourself there are some that will sleep on the floor, on a sofa, out in the cold, in a car, or under a bridge.

This job of mine takes me all across this great country of ours. My comfy bed at home is a distant memory every month. My waterbed that surrounds and supports me while I sleep is such a welcome sight to my eyes and comfort to my back when I’m home. I always say “Hello bed. I have missed you.” When it is time to leave once again it is akin to telling a lived one goodbye when they will be sorely missed.

January we were gone only 8 days. February we were gone 16 days. March we were gone 22 days. April we were gone 23 days. So far in May we have been gone 11 days.

The hotel breakdown goes like this. From January to today we have stayed at these hotels.

Super 8 – 13 nights
Red Roof Inn – 12 nights
Days Inn – 15 nights
Best Western – 6 nights
Quality Inn – 2 nights
Extended Stay – 1 night
Ramada Inn – 4 nights
America’s Best Value Inn – 9 nights
Clarion Hotel – 5 nights
La Quinta Inn – 5 nights
Rodeway Inn – 1 night
Magnason Inn – 1 night
Hotel on the Falls – 1 night
Studio 6 – 1 night
Comfort Inn – 2 nights
USA Inn – 1 night

The accommodations range from a step up from “Flea Bags” to really nice rooms. The carpet on the floors in most of these hotels is downright frightening. I wouldn’t get on any of the floors to exercise. I don’t like walking barefoot on them. There have been a few with duck tape covering the torn edges of the carpet.

The beds are another experience altogether. Some are harder than the floor. More than one has a hump in the middle which causes me to roll nearly on top of Joe as he shifts position during the night. Several have dips on the outer edge from countless people sitting in one spot for a long time. Those bends try to toss me out on the floor as I turn over. Then there are the “Pillowtop” beds that feel heavenly at first, only to make my already aching back hurt more.

The main thing I dislike about this job is never knowing where I will sleep tonight.

Indeed, you have the right to say “Quit complaining! You’ve got a place to sleep out of the cold!”

The purpose of this post besides whining – and it is my blog after all – is to remind you of the most simplest thing in your life can be a source of comfort. Be thankful for that small comfort.

Whether you make your bed every day or not doesn’t matter. It is knowing you have something of value in your life. A comfy bed.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “Where will you be sleeping tonight?

  • tina

    can i get a AMEN…you my sweet lady are so insightful…i would say your skills and talents are being wasted..but we have to make a living…I think you are on the right path…I sleep sitting up which gets strange at times…lol never go to sleep with a mouth full of Hershey kisses ..that stuff will go into ur sinuses…lol ….stay safe girlfriend

    • Message In A Fold

      OMG! Not just up your sinuses (LOL) but stress down your chin and on your jammies. 😀

      How do you sleep sitting up without your neck getting a permanent kink in it? You poor girl. I take it the reason is your RSD and all the pain associated with that. Sure wish I could help 😦

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh my bed is far from comfy Leslie! We desperately need a new bed and will one day; we bought a new mattress not so long ago and it is rubbish so we bought a memory foam topper and that has flattened and worse than useless. I ache more by morning than I did when I went to bed. Moan over 🙂
    Hope you will soon be reunited with your bed 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Man oh man, that totally sucks! There is nothing worse than an uncomfortable bed :/. Yes there is….not enough money to buy a replacement. That’s terrible. I sure wish that I could help you out.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

