Do you look for the “Invisibles”?

I have a challenge for you, my dear readers. It won’t cost you one single “red cent”, as the penny used to be called. However, it will cost you about 2 minutes of your time and a little bit of discomfort.

Most, if not all, of the “invisibles” are in your everyday life as you journey from home.

The grocery store check out clerks, convenience store clerks, servers in restaurants, fast food servers, car wash attendants, store clerks of all kinds.

Joe and I encounter them all over this country and at home. These workers, always paid minimum wage (even less for restaurant servers who work for tips), provide a convenience to us. They all stand on their feet for 8 hours and watch as one person after another comes into their space for a few minutes and are quickly gone, only to be replaced by a new warm body.

Every time I have to wait in line to order food or check out purchases I watch the people in front of me dealing with the clerks. For the most part no one says “Hello” to the clerks. No one acknowledges the person in front of them providing a service to them.

My challenge to you is to actually look the service provider in the eyes, smile like you are glad to see them, say “Hello”. If you are loading your goods on the conveyor belt at the grocery store, when finished loading, get yourself to the pay area and say “Hello” to the store clerk. They will look up from the task they are doing and look at you like you’ve shocked them. Give them one of your best smiles and look them in the eye.

If you are in a restaurant look the server in the eye when he/she comes to your table to take your order. Remember. Big real smile and “Hello”.

When you have placed your fast food order or completed the store purchase process make sure to clearly say “Thank You”. When at the restaurant make sure to also “Thank” your server out loud.

Who provides a service to you in your daily life? Please take a few minutes to let them know they are not “invisible”.

Let me know if you notice a change in your service experience. You will also get a lift in your spirits as well.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leslie

Oh! Don’t forget to get in on the Santoku Knife. Check out my post and get entered in the contest.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

7 responses to “Do you look for the “Invisibles”?

  • tina

    this is something i practice everyday…why…because i am that invisible person..i have been known to leave a tip larger then the check. why….because i been there done that….that’s ok because i got 2 wonderful children raised and on their own…lady you are very special

    • Message In A Fold

      Awesome! Raising children to be on their own successfully is quite a job all on its own. Doing it while working with the general public in these thankless jobs is hard work.

      Tipping at restaurants Joe cedes to me. He says he doesn’t want to piss off this former waitress :D. I know what you mean by tipping more than the bill sometimes.

      Thank you for your kind words my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I also do this every time I use a service – I’ve been a shop assistant and a waitress and know what it is like to be ignored or treated rudely. It doesn’t take any effort to speak nicely to those who serve us nor forget that they are human too.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      It always amazes me to watch people act as though they are in an insulated world. And the rude people that think they are entitled. Makes me think we are a nation of herded cattle or sheep.

      Common courtesy and respect for our fellow men and women is lacking. Wake up people!

      I totally agree with you. It takes next to nothing to smile and be friendly to the people working to make my life easier.

      Love you – Leslie

    • Message In A Fold

      I can’t remember if I replied to your comment :/.

      It is so easy for me to rush into a place and hurriedly rattle off my order and run back out. I have done that a couple times, regretfully, only to turn around and go back to specifically thank the people behind the counter for taking care of me.

      Makes me feel better for correcting my manners. Gives them a surprise and I get rewarded with knowing I made them feel better, too.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • aspot2stamp

    As a former waitress ,retail cashier and movie theatre employee it was always refreshing to get someone who genuinely appreciated the job you were doing. I guess people think the job you”re doing is easy… NOT !! I think if they would trade you places they”d be surprised of how hard it really is. Thanks Leslie for calling attention to this. Hope you are all well and keep safe as you travel the highways and byways.
    Love you,
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      To service the general public there is so much involved. To give specialized service to one individual (rye bread at Arby’s instead of the bun for me as an example) is what I appreciate. Mostly I appreciate the people that chose to walk in the door of their workplace to take care of my needs.

      All these people ask for is common courtesy and respect from us as customers. That I can do 😀

      Thanks Shelly for popping in and adding your two cents 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

