Lazy trucker’s Yoga.

Now for something entirely different. Exercise. Better yet – bastardized Yoga.

We spend hour after hour sitting in these trucks or in our pickup to deadhead to our next job. Our bodies get so stiff we can hardly move. Watching either of us get out of the vehicles you’d think we were ancient and fragile.

Stretching helps to loosen the stiff muscles, unclamp the joints, and get blood moving back into the areas that had been under constant pressure. Such as the backs of our thighs, the gluteus Maximus (the butt), and portions of our lower backs.

I have some trouble with my sciatic nerve on my right rear. To keep that bugger from clenching and causing terrible pain I do the stretches.

Okay. Here we go. First is a “Sun Salutation”. A full upward stretch that can be felt in the large muscle groups of the back, shoulders, and arms.

Raise your arms above your head and reach toward the sky. I choose to put my hands together because I have a tendency to pull myself off to one side instead of straight up.

20130502-192414.jpg

I’m in my work scrubs awaiting the trucks to be ready. Joe is taking the pictures for me.

To give your back, neck, shoulders, and arms a good stretch bend backward. Make sure to widen your foot stance a bit. You could unbalance yourself and get hurt if you keep your feet together.

20130502-193051.jpg

Bend as far forward as you can. Try to touch your toes. Go back to the upright stance then bend backward once again. Hold each of the backward and over forward poses for three breaths. Inhale through your nose and blow out through your mouth.

Joe got distracted on the forward bending so you will just have to imagine that one 😉

If you feel “Charley Horses” coming on (muscle strain) then STOP!

To stretch the butt, sciatic nerves, thighs, and hamstrings prop one foot on a solid object as high as you can stand it.

20130502-193657.jpg

This stretch hurts Joe too much so he uses the bottom step of the truck.

20130502-193803.jpg

Lean into the stretch as far as you can. Hold this pose for three breaths.

20130502-193932.jpg

Switch legs and do the same with the other one.

20130502-194032.jpg

20130502-194055.jpg

Lastly is the feet, shins, and calves. Get up on the bottom step of the truck, holding on the mirror bracket for balance and set your feet on the step edge just at the balls of your feet.

20130502-194348.jpg

Holding onto the truck lower your heels below the step edge. You will feel the pull from your Achille’s Tendon all the way up to the backs of your knees.

20130502-194611.jpg

Finally, raise up on your tip toes and hold for a bit. Each of these poses hold for three breaths. The lowering of your heels and the raising of them.

20130502-194801.jpg

These stretches take about 5 minutes to do. You will be surprised how much better you feel and refreshed. Do this in a rest area or truck stop when going through a sleepy period and you will be amazed how alert and focused you feel.

The magic is from the deep inhales of breath through your nose and blowing out through your mouth. Your lungs and body gets a good jolt of much needed oxygen and your muscles get stimulated.

Don’t over do this or you will become really stiff and sore.

Joe doesn’t like reaching over his head and bending. He has a compromise that works for him. Holding on the trailer to stretch his back and arms.

20130502-195512.jpg

20130502-195555.jpg

20130502-195619.jpg

For office workers you can use a stair for the foot stretches, a chair (not one with wheels) for the leg stretches. If stuck in a car you can use your cars rear bumper and a parking curb for the leg and foot stretches.

There is no Yoga pose on the ground that I recommend. In fact, I recommend staying off the ground in truck stops and rest areas. Copious amounts of urine are tossed out of windows and doors of parked trucks during the night. Yuck!

So, until next time – bye for now.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

5 responses to “Lazy trucker’s Yoga.

  • Jann Gray

    These are great! I do have to say I snorted at you final piece of advice as I didn’t see that one coming! You are the best! A combination of challenging and useful information with a dose of humor and practicality! Perfect way to start my day.. Well I’m off to do my stretches. .. and after taking a second look around my hotel room, I think i will also follow your last piece of advice as well! Love you! Have a great day And safe journey!

    • Message In A Fold

      I know what you are looking at. Hotel room floors give me the creeps. I think about a Yoga mat on one of these floors and and I cringe. Just the thought of rolling the mat up makes me cringe. Plus there is little room to really do Yoga in motel rooms.

      I forgot you traveled nearly as much as I do. You stay safe my friend. I get my crafting cup filled by watching the amazing videos of your creations and learning from you.

      Love you my dear friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I do similar stretches to those that you do as my sciatica and back pain have been horrendously painful these last few weeks – think some of the back pain is caused by stress! However some of that pain is also caused by being overweight so I am trying to lose weight . The foot stretches I can’t do so well without intense cramping in my calves, I could never do that bend the knee and hold foot behind you stretch without excruciating cramps in the back of the thighs unless I do that one in a swimming pool. Touching toes or finger tips on the ground and walking hands forward is an easy one for me – Rod can’t touch his toes though! He has never been able to do that and I have never been able to sit cross legged 🙂

    Just shows that you can do these stretches without spending a fortune on special clothes or equipment! Good for you.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      My belly gets in the way. I can’t touch my toes. You are quite the limber lass to not only touch your toes but walk your fingers on the ground.

      Like you, I make do with what I can to exercise. Just so long as we can continue walking and moving. Poor Joe. His arthritis is getting into his hops, knees, and heels. Makes me cringe just to watch him walk.

      Take care my friend. Say “Cheers” to Rod for me.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Yogi in MM

    Leslie,

    Your post has such wisdom and is so beautifully adapted to the trucking world. I work in the health and wellness area and would like to have a phone conversation with you about your adapted program. Would you be willing have a conversation? I can privately send you my contact information.

    Thank you in advance for your consideration.
    ~ E

Leave a Reply

