7,619 miles driven, so far, in April.

April 2013 route traveled

We are home for a couple days before we get back out.  This  month has been a hard one for Joe and I with the demands of our work.  We seem to be edging toward a “regular” truck driving job.  For those drivers working the “regular” job and logging 3,000 miles – plus – in a week I SALUTE YOU!

There has been very little time in the day for me to check my fellow bloggers and see what they have contributed.  I’m having trouble with my phone.  It seems to turn the ringer off while in my purse so I have missed calls from friends and family.

While I attempt to catch up on my blog reading and video watching (if I don’t fall asleep at my keyboard) I will leave you with a funny video.  One major rule of truck driving is to know the height of your vehicle.  Disastrous results ensue if a driver doesn’t keep this one rule in mind.  Hope you enjoy this video.  It was sent to me earlier in the month and I finally watched it last week.

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “7,619 miles driven, so far, in April.

  • mjc1520

    I have seen things like this everywhere. I have no idea why 6 wheelers think those signs are only for big trucks. Most of them don’t realize how tall their truck is.

  • tina

    glad to see ur ok. was starting to get worried hadn’t seen u in awhile. love the video. thanks for sharing. be safe …your in my prayers …tina

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks, Tina. This has been one crazy month! Time enough to get to the hotel room at night and fall on the bed, wake up and do it all over again 😦 I appreciate you and your prayers, my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

    • Message In A Fold

      Got in a hurry there, sorry. I meant to ask after you. How are you doing? Has this crazy weather make your pains worse? I hope not. What exciting thing have you been doing lately? I’d love to hear.

      Love you – again 😀 – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Phew that is some mileage Leslie! I can see why you have had a doozie of a month 🙂
    Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving lovely comments.
    As for this bridge that has seemingly caught some vehicles out it reminded me about the bridge we have in our hamlet. This has a height sign on it but the Highways should have changed the sign after doing some road repairs which lifted the height of the road and this coupled with a slight rise in the road coming up the lane has caused some problems with large vehicles. Even tractors carrying loads on the front arms have take care.
    One lorry had a very narrow escape when the driver realised the road was rising and part of his vehicle was still under the bridge! Several menfolk went down to give him encouragement; by lowering the lorry’s suspension the driver came through safely 🙂
    Anyone moving home either into or out of our hamlet has to warn removal lorries to bring smaller vehicles too to ferry furniture to/from the house and lorry! After many months the Highways Agency finally got around to changing the sign 🙂

    love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Good grief! Seems the US does not have the only bridges that like to give a shave to drivers that don’t pay attention.

      Colorado used to have a lot of trouble with building the road base higher and causing the bridge to be lower. Heads rolled after a while and that soon stopped.

      I’m really glad to see your creations once again on your blog. Gives me something to look forward to since my crafting days have been shut off 😦 waaaaa

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

