A recap of our journey so far from Arkansas to Wyoming

Why the recap you might ask? Joe’s immune system is not what it used to be. His health maintenance while on Warfarin for his pulmonary embolism of last summer has required some juggling. Colds and other mild maladies I try to stay on top of. A stomach virus snuck up on us and threw his butt on the ground – figuratively speaking.

The icy cold weather we were in throughout February and March took a toll on my big bear of a man. He felt a little tired when we left home for Van Buren, Arkansas to get these new trucks. Hooking the trucks up tired him out so the first leg of our journey included an overnight stop near Tulsa, Oklahoma at a town named Broken Arrow. Getting back on the road Tuesday he drove to Goodland, Kansas where we stopped for the night.

20130405-104007.jpg

Leaving the hotel Tuesday morning in light rain I saw my first sign of Spring. A bright yellow daffodil that I drowned in light from my flash 😦

20130405-104731.jpg

The light rain was supplemented by occasional cloudbursts through Oklahoma

20130405-104854.jpg

Entering Kansas with the rain we went through the Weigh Station….

20130405-105147.jpg

A toll ticket plaza on the Kansas Turnpike to get a ticket…..

20130405-105349.jpg

20130405-105413.jpg

20130405-105430.jpg

Exiting the Kansas Turnpike to make our way to I-70 and head west on I-70.

20130405-105541.jpg

20130405-105726.jpg

The rain had ended by the time we reached I-70. The rain was traded for gusting winds up to 30 miles an hour. This brand new truck is rather noisy with the winds trying to force its way into the driver side door.

Kansas farm land goes on forever! Miles of chopped up and dried out corn fields are strung together like beads on a necklace. Only one lone farmer was seen tending his field with a tractor driven crop sprayer.

20130405-110852.jpg

20130405-110911.jpg

My favorite sight on these long empty landscapes are the barns with their strange faces 😀

20130405-111214.jpg

20130405-111231.jpg

Pivot irrigation machines are another feature of the Kansas farmland. When these long sprinklers are operating there are multiple rainbows dancing in the sun.

20130405-111855.jpg

Tuesday night we stopped in Goodland, Kansas for the night. About 17 miles from the Colorado border.

Wednesday would take us from Goodland, Kansas to Rock Springs, Wyoming.

20130405-112229.jpg

Wednesday morning we encountered fog on I-70 for about 15 miles.

20130405-112342.jpg

We had to make a stop in Evans, Colorado for a much anticipated kraut burger.

20130405-112532.jpg

We had been warned about snow and ice going through Wyoming. Thankfully the snow was evident in small patches out in the fields. Far off mini mountains were dressed in blankets of snow.

20130405-113335.jpg

20130405-113348.jpg

Driving further west in Wyoming the skies that dominate the landscape put on a dramatic display.

20130405-113734.jpg

20130405-113804.jpg

By the time we reached Rock Springs, Wyoming Joe had stopped four times at various truck stops hurriedly running to find a bathroom. Arriving at the hotel for the night Joe was so sick and uncomfortable he was sure he had food poisoning. I didn’t have any symptoms although we ate the same things that day.

Calling our doctor at home I was told there is a stomach virus going around and Joe had it. So we are hanging out in Rock Springs Wednesday night, Thursday, and Friday.

Joe is doing better today, Friday. Maybe we will get back on the road tomorrow. He is up and in a chair. He has walked to the breakfast area and had a little oatmeal to eat.

There is a grocery store across from the hotel where I went to get all manner of things to ease Joe’s discomfort.

20130405-114942.jpg

Snack packets of Jello and applesauce

20130405-115356.jpg

20130405-115421.jpg

A microwave serving of Chicken Noodle soup.

20130405-115525.jpg

7 Up and Gatorade to force liquids on him.

20130405-115629.jpg

20130405-115642.jpg

And Pepto Bismal to ease the diarrhea and vomiting.

20130405-115934.jpg

Even though we are out in the wilds at the middle of nowhere it is good to have these little towns to give us succor.

Hope you are all fairing well. Before I leave today I want to tell you about a book I read yesterday while Joe slept.

The Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline is a story of two young women who have been orphaned at the tender ages of 7 and 10. One woman is now in her 90’s and the book is her story of being alone on the Orphan Train. The other woman is 17 and about to age out of the foster care system. Although decades separate these two the experiences are the same. These two lost women have a magnificent and moving story to tell.

I had my face buried in my iPhone all day yesterday reading this fascinating novel. Stopping only long enough to tend to Joe.

Hope you all enjoy your weekend. We hope to be heading out tomorrow.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “A recap of our journey so far from Arkansas to Wyoming

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m so sorry that Joe is sick away from home. Sick is bad enough, but to be away from the comforts of home must make it doubly tough on the both of you. 😦 Hopefully, this weekend, he’ll start to get his strength back and you guys can finish up this job. I think he’s just trying to extend the time that you guys have such NICE NEW TRUCKS to drive!

    Charlie developed a really horrible pneumonia last week, and took his first sick days for YEARS…..It was REALLY REALLY dicey there for a bit; if the meds would have taken another day or two to kick in, I would have taken him to the hospital, even though I know he would have hated it. He wasn’t making any decisions for himself for a few days, and he really hates that. I think it’s a MAN thing, but then again, I sure don’t want anyone telling me what to do either. Anyway, after a couple of weeks of being sick, he’s finally getting back to normal. His office staff was shocked that he actually took sick time. I wasn’t, because I saw how sick he really was.

    Thanks for the tip on the book. I’ll recommend it to my book club; they’ve been nagging me to recommend something, but I just can’t seem to get back to reading.

    Continue taking good care of Joe!

    • Message In A Fold

      Oh MAN! I’m really sorry to hear about Charlie being whomped so hard with pneumonia. I’d be frantic. You, girlfriend, are the best nurse he could ever hope to have. Tough and tender and you know how to make him take his medicine :D. I’m glad to learn that he is recovering at home. He’ll be back full throttle in a little while. You’ll have your days and the house back LOL 😀

      Whether your book club accepts your recommendation of The Orphan Train, or not, this book is worth the read. I had no idea such a thing was part of our American history. This book rekindled my gratitude for you being in my life, as well as the other women that have befriended me these past few years. I am so blessed to know you.

      Before I get more maudlin I will just say….

      Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

  • Jann Gray

    Oh nooooo! Poor Joe! Nothing worse than not getting to be in your own bed when you are sick! Praying for speedy and complete recovery!

    I am going to have to check out that book…it sounds great!

    Safe journey! Love you, Jann

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks Jann for the thoughts and prayers for Joe. I appreciate you. Poor Joe…he doesn’t do well at home or abroad when he’s sick. Thankfully this virus is on the way out.

      One thing I’ve learned in these past few years is that loving and caring people, such as yourself, make the vagaries of life richer. This book reminded me that I am loved in many ways and I have you to thank for that.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh those tummy bugs are a damn nuisance and they creep up on you all unawares too. There have been a few doing the rounds over here. Pretty darn miserable but so glad Joe is coming through this, thank heavens he wasn’t out on his own so had you to take care of him.
    You have had some awful weather to contend with too. I think we shall all be glad when this is winter weather finally passes us all by, winter seems to have dragged on and on with no let up.
    There is another book that I think you would enjoy called the Christmas Train by David Baldacci – a lovely fictional story that takes place on a train through parts of America following in the footsteps of Mark Twain.

    Hope you are able to travel tomorrow
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      This winter has been a misery. For me and for you. I’m so looking forward to Spring and warmer temperatures. Then, as usual, it will only be a matter of time before I complain about the heat of summer. Crapazoid!

      I like David Baldacci’s writing style. I will have to check on this book you mentioned. Something to keep from going bonkers in the hotel room.

      Thank you, my dear friend, for your kindness and support over these past several years. I am blessed to call you my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

  • tina

    will be praying for a speedy recovery for Joe..thanks for recommending the orphan train…i just might give it a try.. the RSD has taken away the ability to retain things i read…but after being a AVID reader for 40+ years i miss it. this might just be the one to get me back into reading.sounds interesting… be safe… tina

    • Message In A Fold

      Tina, you are frequently thought of. Each time your name comes to mind I offer a prayer of comfort to your aching and pain riddled body. Thank you for your prayers and concerns do Joe. I appreciate you.

      I have trouble with retaining what I read as well. Not because of pain, as you have, but because my brain doesn’t shut off. My brain has ADHD I tell you.

      I appreciate you, girlfriend, and am thankful you are part of my life.

      Love you – Leslie

  • mjc1520

    Poor Joe, we’ve been dealing with it here at home, I’m sure its much worse out there trying to find a bathroom. Your pictures were great and remind me of driving across Wyoming. It always seemed to be snowing everytime we went. Enjoy your trip and be careful!

Leave a Reply

