Wyoming winter has us shut down

We picked up our trucks in Las Vegas, Nevada on Thursday at a Penske Truck Center. These trucks are going to Eaton, Colorado, not far from where I was born and raised.

Looking at the Weather App on my phone snow was being predicted near Salt Lake City, Utah along I-15 and across I-80 throughout Wyoming. We wouldn’t encounter the snow until later Friday night in Wyoming and there were severe alerts along a good portion of our route.

Thursday we traveled through Nevada, Arizona, and into Utah stopping in Cedar City. The weather was good and roads dry. Leaving Cedar City Friday morning the storm clouds were brewing.

20130209-131506.jpg

Keeping ahead of the storm Friday we got through Utah and into Wyoming stopping last night in Rock Springs, Wyoming. This morning I woke to a skiff of snow on the ground.

20130209-131724.jpg

Weather reports and advisories for I-80 from Rock Springs, Wyoming to west of Laramie, Wyoming are pretty bad. All the highways are slick with ice. At Wamsutter , Wyoming – just a little less than 70 miles from Rick Springs – black ice is covering the roads and travel advisories say to avoid the roads. We are staying in Rock Springs for today.

Here is a link to the road conditions for I-80 in Wyoming for today – February 9, 2013. Wyoming DOT

It is snowing outside now in Rock Springs as I take one of my short smoke breaks. I am now down to 4 cigarettes a day instead of an entire pack. Joe is gritting his teeth because I won’t just quit. He’ll live through it. I’m not ready yet to let it go.

It has been a while since I last posted on this blog. I’m having difficulty being interested in anything. Even my card making is suffering. I did try a bit of coloring in stamped images last week while I rode with Joe but my heart is just not in it.

20130209-132833.jpg

Time to go back inside and try to drum up some enthusiasm. Get my Mojo started and take advantage of the down time to be creative.

I don’t have anything to stop me like all those poor souls in the teeth of a massive winter storm in the northeast US. Time to be grateful for the things in my life instead of being so negative and ungrateful.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

3 responses to “Wyoming winter has us shut down

  • gardenpinks

    Was beginning to get worried about you both wondering if Joe had been taken ill again. Try not to go down the slippery slope of being down Leslie, if you can’t find your mojo then watch some Youtubes, read a book or 6 or listen to an audio book.
    Hope you can both get travelling again soon.
    Parts of the UK are expecting to be hit by snow tomorrow, we’re keeping our fingers crossed that it isn’t us 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  • aspot2stamp

    Good to hear from you 🙂 Sorry about the weather though. We stopped at Rock Spprings when we headed to and from California in september.
    Atta Girl for being down to 4 smokes a day I’m sure it has and will be a hard thing to kick but knowing your determination I know you will be successful !! I have in my head a bunch of ideas swirling in my skull but I’m having a hard time bringing them to fruition. I did however run some aluminum foil (several sheets on top of each other since its the super thin kind) through my big shot in an embossing folder and it kinda looks like a piece of armour and a piece of cardstock another time with my hoot hoot folder , looks pretty good so I put the stuff away and can say I crafted !!!!
    I hope you and Joe are well and that your mojo comes runnin back to ya 🙂
    I Love you,
    Shelly

  • Jann Gray

    Hey Leslie…

    Just wanted to check in on you and see “where you be’s!?!?!?” You were right in the thick of that storm! Hope you and Joe stayed safe and snuggled in until it passed!

    I am sending you a dose of MoJo….cause I miss seeing creations from my friend, Leslie!

    Thinking about you!

    Jann

Leave a Reply

