I’m SERIOUSLY going to rethink this Flu Shot thing!

All of Joe’s “ologists” (doctors) have been asking him for months “Have you had the flu shot?” to which Joe has answered “No”.  The reactions are mixed.  A single eyebrow raise and a “hmmm” from the cardi”ologist”, an empahtic “Why Not?” demand from the pulmin”ologist”, a slight shake of a lowered head by the neur”ologist”, and a recitation of the benefits of having the flu shot to protect him from the virus by his nephr”ologist”.  Our very own ICU Trauma Nurse daughter has asked when her Dad will be getting a flu shot.

Okay, the writing was on the wall.  Personally.  I’m not going to get the flu shot or any kind of SHOT!  Maybe I’ve mentioned, at least 50 times in previous posts, my fear of needles.  I will not be the first person in line for any kind of shot.  The further back I can keep in the line and make my quiet escape is fine with me.

Joe’s health issues have gone all pear shaped the past few years.  Maybe it is time for me to just “Put my big girl panties on and just do it”.  Friday evening, January 11th, we both got flu shots from our local grocery store pharmacy.  Yep.  It hurt like he**.  I had a swollen area with a hard knot the size of a golf ball at the injection site for two days.  The golf ball went away, finally, by Tuesday.

This past Friday, January 18th, Joe and I returned home from our Nashville, Tennessee to Wilmer, Texas trip.  We would be leaving on Monday afternoon for Charlotte, North Carolina….that is until we were both stricken with THE FLU!

Friday night we both had tickles in our throats that coughing would not ease.  We went to bed about 10 p.m. and awoke at nearly 11 a.m. on Saturday.  I had to send a text message to Carissa to “sing” her Happy Birthday song because we were too sick to actually call her.  That sucks!  By 4 in the afternoon on Saturday we were back in bed and were there through Sunday evening.  Long enough for me to stagger out of bed to hunt up the thermometer.  Both of us had fevers of 102.3.  Drink some water, take some acetaminophen then go back to bed.

All the time we spent in bed we had fitful bouts of sleep interrupted by spates of coughing which made us see stars and walk like we were drunk trying to make it to the bathroom before we peed the bed from all the hacking.  Both of us were trying to get the bed linens wrapped around us in an attempt to get warm when the cold chills had us shaking and jerking the covers away from each other.  Blanket hogs is what we became.  Then the covers would be flung off as we searched for a spot in bed that was cool while our bodies seemed to be on fire.

Monday we went to our family physician.  He has also been on the flu shot bandwagon and harping at us.  I was sent to get my chest x-rayed since our doctor feared I may  have pneumonia and we were both sent to a lab to have blood drawn.  A prescription for a tetracycline antibiotic for each of us and a note to get Mucinex DM Maximum Strength.  This was followed by an admonition to drink lots and lots of water.

Joe is not handling this well.  He is lamenting about how tired he feels and that he just doesn’t have the energy to move.  I tell him to get his butt out of the chair and get it moving.  Walk to the bedroom closet and back to your chair.  Then walk into the kitchen and back.  I get lip from him.  He was even so fraught with frustration at my harping at him to get his butt moving I was rewarded with the “finger”.  I’m still rolling on the floor laughing at that one.  He’s rather chagrined and mortified by his outburst and I’m about to bust a gut.  He is moving though.  You want to know what did it?  His hospital stays.  Walk the halls of the hospital before you can think about getting home.  I also told him “Awful Nurse Leslie isn’t bringing you water.  You have to go get it yourself.”

Today, I’m feeling better.  Got the bedding all washed up and put back on so we have a clean bed to go to tonight.  Some grocery shopping yesterday for fresh fruit and soups.  A small steam vaporizer today from our local drug store to help me to be able to breathe easier.  I tell you, there have been times that I felt like a fish out of water.  Gulping and gasping to draw in air.  My oxygen levels  at the doctor office were not good, in the high 80’s, which was why I was sent for chest x-rays.  My ribs and neck muscles are sore from all the coughing and subsequent straining to get air in my lungs.  Between the nasty and foul Mucinex and the vaporizer I am back to breathing freely.

Will I be getting another flu shot next year?  Not just NO, but HELL NO!

Maybe tomorrow I will get in my craft room and do something in there instead of watching way too many YouTube videos of other crafters.

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “I’m SERIOUSLY going to rethink this Flu Shot thing!

  • Jann Gray

    Oh girl I am so sorry to hear that you two have had the flu! It is bad! Rest, fluids, water, walk, repeat!

    I got your package! You are so sweet! I have begun using my book bag to keep my knitting supplies ready to go. .. love looking down and being reminded of you! I told Royce that those two lovely ladies are you and me.. to which he replied…”there are two people conspicuously missing!” Boys!

    I also loved the Butterfly charm! Am leaving it on my bag for now. .. it is so pretty!

    I am so glad to have that fingernail file too! I can leave that one in my purse and still fly with it. ..I can’t tell you the number of files the TSA has confiscated from me at the airport! Perfection!

    I have plans for that cigar tin! How cool is that? !? Love it! Thank you for sharing it with me!

    My butterfly magnet is on my frig… holding up some of the healthy recipes I’ve pulled off of Pinterest. .. maybe it will help my attitude about cooking healthy! Lol

    Leslie thank you for my wonderful gifts! Please take care of yourselves. .. this flu is brutal! Rest-walk-drink-sniff-spit repeat!
    Love you!
    Jann

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for your well wishes for Joe and I. They are greatly appreciated.

      Woo Hoo! You got a bonus with the nail file. I didn’t even think of it as being safe from the TSA thugs. I thought it was the coolest thing I’d ever seen AND used so I figured a bit of sharing would be good 😀 Revlon puts out a quasi similar nail file, the only problem with that one is the rough surface wears off with use and you are left with bare slick spots to file your nails. I just had to share that tool with you, my friend. No, that didn’t come out right. You get one of your own, I’m keeping mine so I’m sharing the uniqueness of the tool. Can I blame the rambling on the flu? 😀

      Jann, I have finally completed my task. Shamefully and woefully late but I’m glad you are happy with the tote bag. I have no idea if it is washable since that great picture of the two friends enjoying each others company over a cuppa has been attached with multiple layers of Mod Podge. About seven layers, including the first very wet application to affix the picture to the canvas.

      I “rejoice” in you my friend. The butterfly represents, to me, the friendship you continue to bless me with as we flit in and out of each others lives but always leaving a smile on my face and thanksgiving in my heart for you. Who would have ever imagined that cooking healthy can be so difficult? All the vegetable prep involved in this new way of cooking makes me grumpy. I like the end result 😀

      Thank you for letting me know you received your package and are enjoying the contents. Love you, my dear friend.

      Leslie

  • JasmineKyleSings

    Oh darling I get into the same conundrum but the 3 flu shot’ I have received 2 of them after the fact I was told didn’t protect me from those forms of flu and the other one I got the flu anyway so! I’m forced to live like Howard Hughes! Feel better!

  • gardenpinks

    Leslie so sorry to hear that you and Joe have been poorly with the dreaded flu bug. Glad to hear you are on the mend though. I don’t get offered the flu injection and would refuse anyway but Rod is constantly reminded about having it and he just as constantly refuses because the last time he had the flu jab- a few years ago now – he was very bad and the previous jabs left him feeling out of sorts for a while so he won’t have it any more. He also, one year, was given a one-off pneumonia injection at the same time and boy was he ill plus he lost feeling in his arm for over a week. So I think ‘risking’ catching the flu is better than having a flu injection to supposedly prevent it and coming down with it is a better bet 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Wow! Poor Rod got slammed into next week from the shots. I know you two were a bit puny several weeks ago with something and have been back on the mend. I don’t know, everyone keeps telling me we didn’t get sick from the shots but I think there is a conspiracy going on to make me think I’m losing my mind. I hate being ill. There are better things in life to do than lay about recuperating from an illness. You two stay well.

      Love you – Leslie

  • pati

    I completely agree with you, NO MORE FLU SHOTS!!!! Each time I got one, and was almost forced by the hospital to get one, I GOT the FLU!!! So what was the dang shot for? We had epidemic flu out here. No more flu shots for me. Les did not take the shot, he got the flu. Crazy, not worth it. My opinion now. 😀

    • Message In A Fold

      Here, here! I totally agree with your opinion on the flu shot thing. Malarkey and bullsnort is what it is. All those people saying you have to have the flu shot to prevent getting the flu. I think it is just a conspiracy to get people into the doctor office to drum up business. I hate being sick! I know you do as well. Hope the two of you have finally shaken it all off and on the way to full health once again.

      Love you Sis

Leave a Reply

