Being a “New Hire” once again.

A 45 minute job. Not today. Two hours is the final tally. Only 30 minutes of that time was spent waiting for batteries to be jump started on the truck Joe is driving.

Joe makes fun of me when I get back to work after time off. He calls me the New Hire because he has to tell me what to do. Normally we work in tandem. Each anticipating the other’s needs and being prepared.

The rest of the 90 minutes was the two of us trying to remember the sequence of events necessary to hook the trucks up. Crazy how we have trouble shifting gears in our brains to get back to work.

If you read my post of Christmas Eve, titled “Parting doesn’t have to be “Sweet Sorrow”” you may have noticed the photo of all the ratchet straps.

Our back trucks require a total of four each of the straps. The rear truck’s air fairings get tied down. This keeps the winds and road turbulence from tearing the fairings off as we drive the highways.

20130103-210545.jpg

The straps are run diagonally from the top down on both sides. The upper portion of the fairing, top of cab and roof, is securely bolted into place and we don’t have to secure that part of the truck.

20130103-210708.jpg

The second set of ratchet straps secure the steering wheel in the center position as the truck is pulled along behind.

20130103-210903.jpg

The cold morning air, right at freezing (32 degrees), didn’t make us work any faster either. It did warm up to a balmy 45 degrees by the time we finished and were ready to leave the Arrow Truck dealership in Dallas, Texas.

20130103-211307.jpg

The day’s traveling included a brief stop back home to get forgotten items….mainly Joe’s toothbrush 😀

466 miles driven today from Dallas, Texas to Mt. Vernon, Missouri. It was interminably long for Joe since he did all the driving.

Another couple of weeks and we’ll be back in the swing of things. At least long enough to make it count before the doctor appointments begin in February and we take a few more days off.

These Kenworths are going to Dixon, Illinois. The forecast for Friday night and Saturday morning is temperatures in the teens with no precipitation. Just cold. Not cold and snowy. It would be great if there will be no winds do deal with.

We still have another 400 miles of driving tomorrow. Once we deliver we will be heading to the Nashville, Tennessee area to pick up trucks going to Wilmer, Texas. It will be Monday before we can get the Nashville trucks.

Since we will be be going through Champagne, Illinois, on our way south, I’ve made tentative plans to stop in on Shelly (aspot2stamp.wordpress.com). Her family has experienced the loss of too many loved ones since September. I think Shelly needs a hug.

Long day today. A very hard bed awaits. It is time to say goodnight.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

11 responses to “Being a “New Hire” once again.

  • JasmineKyleSings

    My dad owned a truck when we were children. It was huge but this truck is CRAZY BIG!!!!

    • Message In A Fold

      I bet you had mixed feelings about your Dad driving truck. Home for just a little while and you were happy to see him, reluctant to see him go. He probably wasn’t able to go to your school activities, and those he did attend were more special.

      Yes, these trucks have become rolling homes. Complete with refrigerators and some with microwaves. Anything to keep the driver on the road making deliveries. Crazy business this is.

      Hugs – Leslie

      • JasmineKyleSings

        I don’t have good memories about my father being home. I liked it when he left but I DID like the truck he drove it was red I think. Like I’ve said my memory was fuzzy.

      • Message In A Fold

        I’m sorry it was difficult for you. This is the worst, absolute worst, job to have while raising a family. The parent that is missing, frequently, becomes an interloper. Strange dynamic. Nobody wins.

        You are a bright spot in many lives now so you won 🙂

        Hugs – Leslie

      • JasmineKyleSings

        Well I am trying to live a good life that is always a win… my father used to abuse us well before he had the truck. The truck made it better for us. He was a real Dickens Character…
        Hugs back Leslie!

      • Message In A Fold

        I’m sorry for your fears and troubles during your innocent years. Too many children have their youth stolen by selfish adults.

        Keep doing what you are doing. Live the best life you can. Be the person he couldn’t be. You will be the winner. TRUST me! I know of which I speak.

      • JasmineKyleSings

        Yes it is hard but we go through things for a reason..

  • gardenpinks

    I can imagine how tiring it has been while re-adapting yourselves back into harness. Just take it easy and Joe it isn’t necessary for you to do all the driving!!
    I do hope you can see Shelly, please give her a hug from me and give her my love and best wishes.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe is not about to let time get the better of him. As long as he can legally drive he will push it. That is what this job is about. Miles equal pay. More miles – more pay.

      It takes about a week before we get used to the work and the driving.

      I’ll hug Shelly for you and pass on your love.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m so glad you’ll get to see Shelly! Tell her hi for me!

Leave a Reply

