All I want for Christmas is….

Already here 😀

I have a fun and loving family, a wonderful husband, and a life that most people don’t even know exists.  I get to travel our great country, and get paid to do it.  I get to keep in touch with all of our children to watch them grow and expand their lives.  Plus I get to be home during the Holidays without feeling guilt about missing work.

This is the time of year where I get caught up on all the things that need to be done.  Having the job I do, being away from home most of the year, has a price to pay.  Cram 12 months of stuff into the time frame of three months.

My first major project, paperwork, is in a holding pattern for the end of the year.  Not much to do in that area.

My next major project is to conquer CHAOS or “Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome”.  If you have been wondering why I have not been keeping up with my daily posting it is because I am in the throes of deep cleaning my house.  This project is usually done in the months of January and February.  However, this year it is sooner owing to the fact that Joe has had a really bad year with  burgeoning health issues.  The luxury of being home until March or April won’t be happening this year.  We are going back to work after the New Year’s celebrations.

I could just let him go out on his own and remain home as I would usually.  Things are different in our lives right now and I feel I would be selfish if I did not go back out with him.  I don’t mean to “borrow trouble” but there are so many things that could go wrong out there.  Since he is on Warfarin falling off a truck is no longer funny.  Joe has regaled me with past stories of clamoring around on the trucks, doing the job I normally do, and he falls off and scrapes the heck out of a leg, or bangs his head until he sees stars, or gets the wind knocked out of him when he crashes to the ground.  Better safe than sorry I say.

I am at war with dust,

Dust covered cuckoo clock

Love note in the dust

clutter,

Bins to be sorted

a tangle of wires,

Messy wires that are being taken care of

Tangle of component wires

and grime.

Dusty and dirty mini blinds

I will be sharing some tips with you in the next few days that make my job of house cleaning a bit more user friendly.

Oh to one day be able to call up Merry Maids to come do this for me 🙂  Until that time I will get in and apply some energy and sweat 😀

Tomorrow I will tell you how I handle the clutter that overtakes our home.  The purchases made during the year out on the road.  Usually I do my Christmas shopping throughout the year all over the country.  These purchases get stored away in plastic bins that are kept in the back of our work pickup until we get home and the bins are dumped in the living room filled with all kinds of junk and good stuff.

The living room is complete.  The room I’m working on now is the master bedroom.  Time to get the second half finished in there today.

Christmas day is fast arriving.  I hope you all are enjoying being blessed by the Christmas Spirit.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

2 responses to “All I want for Christmas is….

  • gardenpinks

    So sorry to have been MIA Leslie! I had a few projects to complete for Christmas gifts and needed to concentrate on them plus I was going out with my sister yesterday (Sunday) and then to daughter and son-in-law’s today (Christmas Eve) with other daughter, four grandchildren, Rod and sister for a sit down roast lunch but first my sister and I had to negotiate floods to get to Jill’s home – it wasn’t easy at times. Anyhow here I am and now have lots to catch up on! Christmas Day Rod and I will be relaxing in each others company 🙂
    I have taken photos of the one or two of the projects and will put them on my blog once all has settled down again.

    Deep cleaning??? Oh my word the best of luck in that area. Come the New Year we will be wielding paint brushes and rollers to spruce up the paintwork yet again ready for the next batch of prospective buyers – sigh! Thought (hoped) we wouldn’t need to do that again! Hey ho here we are.

    Hope you and Joe have a great Christmas with friends and neighbours.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    • Message In A Fold

      You have, more than likely, been tearing around like one of your bees in the spring time 😀 How wonderful that you are surrounded by your family to celebrate Christmas. Sounds like you have had some very wet weather if you are negotiating floods to get to Jill’s. “Over the river and through the woods to daughter’s house you go?”

      Seems you will be joining the aching back and arms club come the New Year with your painting project. I don’t envy you in the least for that job. Yes, I’ve been deep cleaning. Seems that home is not the place for rest anymore. I will have to go back out on the road to get that 😦 Truly, Lynn, I hope this is the last spring you will be in your home. It is about time for a true buyer to come knocking on your door then hustling you two out of that house and into the home you want in Cornwall.

      I hope you and Rod have a wonderful Christmas as the two of you relax and enjoy each others company. I’ll be watching for your blog update :D. Until then, enjoy your well earned rest period.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

