Closet Cleaning Day!

This time of year is when I spend weeks and months doing my paperwork for the trucking business.  In the past I have waited until the winter months to even start on the paperwork.  The past couple of years I have done as much as I can when we are home for a week or two to lighten the load.  It is finished as far as I can get it right now.  Up to the end of November and I’m waiting for bank statements to arrive to finalize November.  Yippy Skippy!

2012 Paperwork

Now that this job is completed there is another one that requires my attention.  The master bedroom closet.  What an eyesore this has been for quite a long time.  It is the dumping ground when we get home and clean out the pickup from our trips.  Clothing seasonal changes and just a bunch of stuff!  I can’t even close the door to put it out of eye sight.

This will be handled the “Flylady” way.  With Joe’s help we can get this sorted out and cleared away.  After all, there is quite a bit of his stuff in this closet and he will be the one to decide what happens to his stuff.

What is the “Flylady” way, you may be asking.  Well it is to go through the items.  Make a decision what is to be kept and put in the KEEP PILE.  What items are to be given away or donated and placed in the GIVE AWAY PILE.  Finally what items are to thrown away and placed in the TOSS PILE.

Once all the sorting has been done the GIVE AWAY PILE is taken directly to your vehicle.  Not left in the house.  Items that are in the TOSS PILE are taken to the trash and not left in the house.  What you are left with will be put away where it belongs.  Are you ready?

BEFORE!

Master bedroom closet

Clothing not worn in years

Looks like a hoarder lives here

Stacks and stacks of unused items

The water heater is located in this closet.  If we needed to get to this appliance there would be no way to do it.  Major water damage would be my biggest problem.

Carts full of Joe's film developing stuff

Joe’s carts of film developing paraphernalia.

Behind the closet door

Inside the closet with the door closed.  The wall in the front is a false wall.

Is the water heater panel

Housing the water heater AND a whole lot of dust bunnies.

AFTER!

Cleared closet area

With Joe’s help we sorted through the mess.  A pile for KEEP, GIVE AWAY, and THROW AWAY.  I can now walk in this closet.

Clothing culled to nearly nothing

Clothing has been culled.  Carefully checked over for grease stains, tears, and stains.  This is what remains from the closet filled with unworn clothing.

Floor cleared

The floor is cleared and manageable.

Joe's film stuff

Joe’s film developing stuff will remain in this corner.

One lone bag of items we will be keeping.  These will be folded and placed in drawers.

KEEP pile

Two big black trash bags filled with shirts, sweat pants, shorts, and other outer wear.

GIVE AWAY pile

Shoes and more clothing in the boxes to be donated.

GIVE AWAY pile

A super sized vacuum bag filled with winter coats to be donated.

COATS to be given away

In the event we have overnight company I have finally found the bag of sheets and blankets.  I’ve also found the air mattress!  Good grief what a mess I had.

Sheets and blankets

All the sheets and blankets have been folded and placed in this basket.  You wouldn’t know it from all the crap but this basket was in the closet under all the junk.

Hidden basket

Now it is storage.

Stored in a hidden basket

The air mattress sits atop the basket for easy access and use when we have overnight company.

Air mattress atop the sheets and blankets

Man am I glad that chore is finished.  Thank you my “Honey Bunny” for helping me to clean out that mess.

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Closet Cleaning Day!

  • Jann Gray

    Wow…good for you! So glad you are ahead of the game on paperwork – and that the closet is clean! Its a great feeling isn’t it! AND you are getting your stamps organized….girl you are organizing like a WHIRLWIND! Awesome!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you, Jann 😀 Seriously, I think I’ve done gone insane. At least now I have a closet to go hide in when I do go bonkers 😀 You are so correct. It feels so good to look in that closet to see all the space. It feels good to get things done. I think you did something similar to this in your craft room last year, didn’t you? Big undertaking but so well worth it.

      Love you – Leslie

  • aspot2stamp

    Oh I am so envious of your clean closet!! Mine has needed an over haul for a loooong time but the closest it got was when we installed the new water heater a few years back and it sucks that the stupid thing is inside the closet and we did have water damage which we didnt know since it was inside the false wall bad design idea I think. Anyway big kudos and high fives to you and Joe. Much love sent your way 🙂
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Your water heater episode a couple years back has stuck in my mind ever since. Every time I looked in that closet I thought of all the stuff that you said got ruined. I figured it was high time to do something about it. So, Shelly, thank you for the inspiration to get my butt in gear!

      Sorry about missing out on the daily phone calls to you the last few days. I’m going to get back to it. Hope your extracted tooth is doing better this time around than the last one you had pulled.

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Yay!!!!!!!! Paperwork up to date and closet cleared. Well done and I bet you feel a great sense of satisfaction from that. OMG all those empty coat hangers 😀 I have done a wardrobe clearout already and there are a few items of clothes that need to be thrown away when we do finally move but for now we are still using them for mucky jobs! I also have a couple of coats to send to the charity shop which will be done when I can find someone going near a charity shop.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Isn’t that a crazy amount of hangers?! What the heck was I thinkin’?! We hold on to so much STUFF that it is totally mind boggling and quite insane. A lot of the clothing of Joe’s has been with us since before we got married – 22 YEARS AGO! He chose to let it go and I’m so proud of him. For myself, I guess I was hanging on to a lot of the clothing thinking I would fit back in them some day. Well, that some day won’t be coming now. Someone else can get use out of the clothing. The City Rescue Mission in Oklahoma City now has the whole lot to give away to the needy families.

      When you get ready to move to your new house it will be quite a bit easier since you have already gone through and savagely culled through your stuff. Have you had any new lookers? I sure do hope you guys get the deal made and done.

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

