Valley of Fire State Park in Nevada

About 40 miles north of Las Vegas, Nevada on I-15 and approximately 13 miles east off Exit 75 you will find the entrance to the Valley of Fire. This is a protected area and is a Nevada State Park. An entrance fee of $10 per vehicle is charged to enter this amazing place.

The park is only open from sunrise to sunset. There are campground areas nestled amongst the massive rock formations for those that wish to stay. I don’t know what the charge is for overnight.

Make sure to bring your camera. This is an awesome place for photo ops. You might even find someone like me who will ask “Would you like me to take a picture of all of you (or both of you)?”

20121107-093006.jpg

I accosted several couples yesterday. The men were taking pictures of their female companions standing in the grotto like hole blasted from winds, rains, and wear. The cameras were willingly handed to me and the posing commenced 😀

20121107-093441.jpg

The above rock formation is named a “Beehive”. There are several of them. Each started life as a sand dune. Over the thousands of years of wind, rain, intense heat, and cold the sand has cemented itself into these stunning rocks.

This Valley of Fire encompasses about 50 miles of paved road winding around and near the features of this park. We got a late start only spending about three hours and didn’t even get to the Visitors Center four miles from the park entrance.

I had my phone and small digital camera to document my journey through this amazing place. Unfortunately, a good share of the great shots are in my digital camera and I left my laptop at home 😦

I did get Joe to scamper over some of the rocks to view the beauty I saw.

20121107-094632.jpg

He wasn’t affected by this place as I was. He enjoyed seeing the rocks and did his best to humor me.

20121107-094831.jpg

There are ancient petroglyphs carved in the stone near the top of “Atlatal Rock”. Climb the steps to see these carvings.

20121107-095048.jpg

20121107-095425.jpg

I didn’t think I would make it to the top of the stairs before dark and there was more yet to see.

In another rock formation there stands a natural arch that has been carved by the winds of time.

20121107-095707.jpg

20121107-095727.jpg

20121107-095741.jpg

The last item to see before we had to leave was the petrified logs. That entailed a drive down an unpaved road and a foot trek downhill.

20121107-095930.jpg

20121107-095952.jpg

20121107-100013.jpg

20121107-100030.jpg

For myself, this was a spiritual journey into my soul. Starting my life unformed. The vagaries of my life experiences have made me the person I am today. The abrasive and hard people that were once a part of my life had hardened me into a stone cold heart.

As I grew older my children and Joe have been like the winds, rain, heat, and cold to reshape my heart and my soul into the person I have become. My friends from far flung places have also worked at shaping me into a better person.

The Valley of Fire was, for me, walking with God and listening to his voice. For others it was probably nothing like that. Just the simple enjoyment of a cool afternoon hiking the rocks and desert in this beautiful land.

I highly recommend a visit to this Nevada State Park if you will be near Las Vegas. After you get your fill of the crowds, dinging slot machines, and bright lights at night you might be in need of some peace and quiet.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Valley of Fire State Park in Nevada

  • gardenpinks

    Oh thank you so much Leslie for sharing these wonderful photos, how I wish I had been with you sharing the experience of seeing how wonderful nature is at creating these beautiful places. As you say food for the soul 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      How I wish you could have been tramping around the rocks with me. We would have been accosting passers by requesting them to take our picture 😀

      Are you and Rod holding up to the task of packing your lives in boxes? I hope you both are doing well.

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        All packing has stopped Leslie, our damn buyers pulled out at the 11th hour:( Rod extremely angry and I have cried buckets. Have now a lot of catching up with blogs to do.
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xxx

      • Message In A Fold

        Oh my Stinking Heck! That is the worst news I’ve heard in forever!

        All that work the two of you have done. Packing, sorting, purging. Crapazoid!

        Please know that the both of you are in my thoughts and prayers.

        Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh awesome sis, love the pics, soothing to the soul. Glad you enjoyed yourselves, lol, even when Joe humors you, lol Beautiful place. Later sis

    • Message In A Fold

      Sis, you might have enjoyed this place. At the very least maybe the Visitor Center and the museum.

      You and Les going to be with the Mishler’s for Thanksgiving? Joe has been asking if you said yes or no when we met up with you in Dodge City.

      Love you Sis

Leave a Reply

