Hurricane Sandy has claimed 16.

My heart aches for hundreds of thousands of people this morning. The devastation of Hurricane Sandy is wide spread along the eastern seaboard of the US.

As you go about your daily life today offer up a prayer.

Many have lost everything in this storm, including a much loved member of their family.

There will be many with no home to return to. Once the storm is over they will find a ruin which once was a place of safety, comfort, and family.

I know the feelings and emotions they will have. The overwhelming feeling of loss and briefly feel their life is over. Tornadoes in Oklahoma are my experience.

Thousands will be without electricity. Those whose homes were spared. The daily comforts will be gone. A warm house, a hot shower, worry over food in their refrigerators and freezers, no coffee or tea. Stumbling around in a darkened familiar house that has become foreign to them.

Hospitals and nursing homes will have an influx of patients as they take in those from facilities flooded or where generators have failed.

Family members will squabble with each other as each of them come to terms with what they face.

There are many who live safely away from the devastation but are now faced with being jobless or just unable to get to work because much of the public transit has been shut down.

Raise a prayer of hope and comfort to all who are dealing with fear and hopelessness today.

Contact your local Salvation Army and ask how you can help. Gently used clothing, coats, shoes. Kitchen goods, i.e. pots and pans, dishes, cups, drinking glasses, tableware, and cooking utensils. You will be given a general list of things you can donate.

I must confess about a bit of selfishness. When I heard the news of the force heading to the east coast my thoughts went to my crafting friends and suppliers of goodies. I prayed each would be unscathed and remain whole so I could watch tutorial videos on YouTube they create or hunt their websites for my next “Must Have” item.

So with my heart heavy and my head hanging in a bit of shame I offer a prayer to all whose lives are now shaken and turned upside down.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “Hurricane Sandy has claimed 16.

  • aspot2stamp

    Thanks Leslie for the sharing your thoughts. I too have thought today of all who will be homeless and jobless or dealing with the loss of someone dear to their hearts. . Adults and children alike whose lives will be forever more changed by this massive storm. We are getting winds from this storm system today and have gray overcast skies, reminding me off how far reaching this storm system is. So as I go about my day I will lift up prayer for the many people along the east coast. Tak care as you’re out on the road and know you’ve been in my thoughts and prayers. We are still trying to figure out what is happening with Brians health concerns, so I’ve been a bit preoccupied.
    Love and Hugs (for both you and Joe)

    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      I saw the massive storm this morning in the news and watched as it moved ever inland towards Indiana and Illinois.

      I hope you guys don’t get pummeled by this storm. I’ll keep you in my prayers as well. I’ll also hold Brian up in my prayers for diagnosis of his ailments. Inspire and enlighten the doctors caring for him.

      Love you my friend. Sorry you are in the crush of worry.

      Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    That was some storm that hit the East Coast after battering poor Haiti and wrecking crops and killing 50 people. Thank heavens for the technology so the meterologists could track this hurricane and give plenty of notice of its path so that people could be evacuated and got out of the way. So sorry for all the folk who are homeless and aren’t covered by insurance, that must be devastating.
    So glad you folks were out of the way.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      This storm has left its mark nearly everywhere!

      The new weather information technology is amazing. Warning of impending disaster. More lives have been saved because of it. Still the aftermath has been horrendous. I feel so bad for the people in the midst of it.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Indira

    Oh Leslie, you express really well must of the sentiment a person can feel on that situation. We was hitting by Sandy last week, but just the tail, we got a lot of rain, I spent a whole day without light, but there was someone who had more time without it. The southern region was cut off because many of the bridges that connect it fall due to rising rivers. This storm has been, in my opinion one of the most powerful that has passed since the rains were very intense, thanks God we did not hit as hard, but we are still suffering from the damage left by her. My prayer is raised every day by those who have somehow been affected by this phenomenon and pray for those who are still waiting for the passage of Sandy by their state.

  • Pati Mishler

    OMGOSH!! Such devastation!! I am so sorry to hear about all that sandy has caused, we have friends that have a daughter around those parts, she is ok, others not so lucky.

    We are keeping all in our prayers, everyone stay safe, help others if you can. Sis and Joe, stay safe. Love you

Leave a Reply

