Hoarders. Cringe and squirm in your seat television, maybe even some gagging going on.

Holy Cow!  As if Zombies and horror movies are not enough for the general population of the United States television and movie viewers.

The ultimate in horror shows, in my opinion, is Hoarders on the A&E network.

While home this week recuperating from that nasty cold/flu bug, and catching up on my blog reading I have read several posts where the author(s) claim to have sat through a marathon of the Reality TV show Hoarders.  Curiosity got the better of me.  I had to watch one.

People!  Seriously?  You watch hour after hour of this horror show?

I sat through just one hour.  It was the longest hour I’ve spent in my life!  I was a raging *itch for hours after.  My heart was pounding fiercely, my brain had images of the nasty show flitting around in my  head, my adrenaline was cranked on full throttle and I was just steps away from pitching everything in our home out the door.

Poor Joe!  He was totally dumbfounded by my stomping around the house and grumbling.  He had dinner cooking out on the grill and was going about his business quite happily.  I would hear little snippets of “I finally get to do something for my wife”.

“Are you ready for dinner?” Joe innocently asked.  In his food prep he left corn silks in the sink drain, cracked ground pepper crumbs on the counter, smears of butter on the counter and a bit on the toaster from the corn he prepared to cook on the grill.

I have to confess.  I went off.  I went bonkers.  I was possessed by a demon.  I snapped at him with some pretty harsh words over the mess he left for me to clean up.

Needless to say I will not be watching another episode of that show.  A&E you can count me out as one of your viewers.

I know, I know.  A&E wants the publicity in anyway they can get it.  My rant here only increases the likelihood of sending someone running to the television to watch the show.

Do I watch Reality TV?  Yes, indeed I do.  Shows that have a value.

SyFy Network’s “Face Off“:  This show is a contest for makeup artists.  Each artist puts together a full costume and makeup each week for a chance to break into the movie industry.

Spike Network’s “Ink Masters“:  This show is a contest for tattoo artists.  Each artist has a “canvas” (person) to work on in each episode for a chance to become recognized as an INK MASTER.

I’ll stick with the Reality TV shows that actually have something to share instead of the crap like Hoarders.

Okay, RANT over.

Maybe I’ll see you on the highways in my travels.  Stay safe and watch out for those looneys that finish their grooming in the rear view mirror as they drive.  Also watch out for those that have to text or read the Tweets while they are driving.

Leslie

 

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

8 responses to “Hoarders. Cringe and squirm in your seat television, maybe even some gagging going on.

  • JasmineKyleSings

    Let me tell you I know it’s crazy to watch Hoarders. But once it’s over I get SOOOO much housework done! My husband will come home sometimes and say… did you watch Hoarders today? I’ll be like YEAH why? Oh the house is so clean!!! LOL

    • Message In A Fold

      I am thrilled to learn the show has a beneficial outcome for you. Awesome that it can spur you on to prevent the havoc that is broadcast. Plus you get the added benefit of your husband noticing the work you did and praising you for it!

      Whatever works I say go for it.

      Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Sorry but I can’t believe that Hoarders show is for real. I think that it is set up especially for the programme and the thing that gave it away was the fact that the couple in video you put on your blog were too clean – am I really expected to believe that two people live in such squalor yet have clean skin/clothes and hair??? Wonder how much they got paid to do that programme?
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Real or fake I won’t be watching that show again. The show I actually watched was not on a format that could be seen out of the US. I just picked a YouTube video I knew could be seen by anyone.

      Still the living room of that house was bad enough for me.

      Do you, over in the UK, have reality shows?

      Are you packing like a mad woman now?

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        Yes I believe there are “reality” shows on our television channels though why they are called reality shows when they are anything but real!
        Yes we are madly packing still and finding lots of rubbish to burn or scrap 🙂 Did I tell you that we put in an offer for a house in Cornwall and it has been accepted??
        So many people to tell that I have forgotten who knows and who doesn’t LOL
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        I’m so excited for you two. Finally you will be in a warmer climate AND have public transportation – hopefully close to your new home.

        I can imagine the two of you are doing a lot of “Why do we still have this?!” And a few other queries.

        I don’t envy you the packing job though. Moving is exhausting work that rattles and frays the nerves.

        Keep your eye on the prize 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    You have hit that spot on Leslie – why the heck have we kept this??? Too much of that going on!! 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe has told me we will be clearing parts of our house this winter. Getting our closet cleaned out and the hallway cleared of his tools.

      I’m looking forward to claiming more room in our house. Not looking forward to the work involved though. His stuff is his….even though I’m sorely tempted to rent a storage shed to get the crap out. Won’t be pleasant.

      I suppose you and Rod are going through the “That’s yours! No, it is not! ” bits of craziness ;-).

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

