NyQuill, DayQuill, Kleenex, Breathe Rite Strips, and other necessities.

I haven’t been sick for five years! No colds, no flu, no ails, no ills.

I knew I was going to have sinusitis after all of the hot and cold temperature changes in Florida. Hot outside, cold inside.

I have been self medicating with NyQuill at night so I can sleep. DayQuill for the daytime to dry up all the mucus.

Where does all the mucus come from?! Horrid amounts of the stuff. Can’t seem to stay on top of it all. Start hacking then have bubbles forming out my nose. It is terrible I tell you. Not to mention unsightly!

Good grief! Have to get this stopped!

I used a Breathe Right Strip for the first time ever last night. Man, go “get you some”. They help keep the nasal passages open and makes breathing so much easier. They don’t do anything for the mucus problem though.

Another day or two and this will be a memory. For today I will fantasize about being home in a comfy chair drinking hot Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Tea while Joe waits on me hand and foot.

Okay, I did say it was a fantasy!

We are at a Kellogg warehouse in Youngstown, Ohio getting ready to take three trucks to Texas. Joe’s two go to Schertz – near San Antonio – and my one truck goes to Ft. Worth.

Seems that work has evaporated for a bit. We will plan on going back home after delivery and the work will take that idea away fast.

Hope you all are enjoying a cool, nearly chilly, Sunday. Also hope you do it minus copious amounts of mucus and no hacking.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “NyQuill, DayQuill, Kleenex, Breathe Rite Strips, and other necessities.

  • Indira

    Sorry to hear about your sinusitis. So, I`ll try to explain what I do with mine. I took vapors, to help me breath. Sometimes, I put on the water some vick vaporub and also I prepare my own saline water for nose. I drop one or two drops on the nose. Hope you feel better. Take care.

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you, my sweet friend, Indira. Some Vicks in a vapor sure sounds good right now. Especially since the tons of mucus has quit running from my nose and I can breathe again.

      The saline wash through the nose, you describe, sounds like a Neti Pot to rinse the sinuses. That might be good for me, too.

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Oh poor you Leslie, it is miserable isn’t it. We have been hatching colds here – mine hasn’t progressed very much but has left me coughing and with a banging headache whereas Rod has the full works including sinusitis which causes coughing and mucus by the ton with pain in the right side of his face. He is also sneezing fit to bust but he is a great sneezer anyway! Once he starts he will sneeze about 18 times in quick succession 🙂
    Hope your sinuses wil soon clear and give you relief.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Poor Rod! Sneezing 18 times at a whack. Bet he doesn’t enjoy that!

      I’m sorry to hear the both of you are waylaid with this stuff. You coughing with a headache and Rod sneezing his head off.

      Only thing for this crud is to just ride it out until the end. Good grief!

      Love you, and wishing this ailment passes quickly – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh my goodness, all that change of temperatures and so on caught up with you. My les always uses the breath right strips, with his allergies he cannot breath at night without one, your right, they sure help.

    I sure hope you get to breathing better, and feeling better real soon.

    Love you sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe has been using the Breathe Rite Strips since July when his CPAP machine was stolen in Albuquerque. He said “If Les says they’re good then I’ll give them a try”.

      They really are good. So Thank You, Les!

      Hope you two will successfully evade this crud. Take care of each other.

      Love you Sis.

  • Pati Mishler

    I will be sure and tell Les you like using the Breathe Rite strips.

    And also, thank you both so much for the wonderful happy birthday song this morning, it was so sweet, i really enjoyed the song, and the conversation.

    Be careful on the road, love to you both, i took a flu shot at work about two weeks ago, should have known better, the few times i take a flu shot i get bad sick.

    I really got sick, for me, no more flu shots, maybe it was the shot, maybe not, i dont get sick very often.

    So i hope we dont get the crud either, both of you get better real soon.

    love you both, P

  • You Are What You Wear | I Prefer Heels

    […] NyQuill, DayQuill, Kleenex, Breathe Rite Strips, and other necessities. (message8.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

