Clearwater Beach, Florida

After leaving Disney World on Saturday we drove down to Tampa to stay at the Howard Johnson just off I-4 at Exit 3.  This is not a posh resort hotel but it is clean and has truck parking.  We have our pickup and trailer with us.

Once we got in the hotel around 1 pm Joe and I both crashed on the bed and slept for 5 hours.  That Disney Adventure totally whipped our butts.  We went back to bed around 9 pm and slept until nearly 8 Sunday morning.  We needed the sleep, the dark cool room, and the absolute quiet.  The interstate traffic noise doesn’t bother us.  We stay at so many hotels off the busy interstates that the noise is common to us.

Joe has a food destination in Clearwater Beach that we have to go to when we are in Florida.  Whenever we are anywhere near Orlando or Tampa we have to get to Shepperds so he can indulge in the huge fresh seafood buffet.

The sands at Clearwater Beach are white.  The first time I was ever down in this part of the world it was late June.  Joe was delivering groceries at that time and had volunteered to help out a large grocery chain in Birmingham, Alabama when their freezer went down.  We spent two weeks in Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, and Florida.

Joe was always hot and I was always cold in those years.  That was back in about 1998.  The truck he was driving had some really cold air conditioning.  I had to wear a jacket while I rode with him.  We got into Florida and I saw all the white drifts along side the road.  I have a faulty brain, so you have to make allowances for me sometimes.

I thought it had SNOWED in Florida.  It was so cold in the truck as I rode beside Joe.  I mean so cold that I just about had “snot-cicles”.  Then seeing the white drifts everywhere I asked Joe “Does it snow down here in Florida?”  I was serious.  He thought I had lost my mind.

So now take a look at the white sands of Clearwater Beach.

Clearwater Beach, Florida

The residents and vacationing guests were enjoying the beach on Sunday.

Beach goers enjoying the sand and surf

Shepperds Beach Resort, located at 602 South Gulfview Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, Florida has an outdoor entertainment area.  Local bands come and play for a few hours then another band comes to do their stuff.  This goes on until long after dark during the summer months.

Shepperds has a hotel.  The reviews are not that great for the hotel part but the seafood buffet always gets ringing endorsements.  Parking is a problem.  Sometimes we have had to park out in the beach parking area and walk the several blocks to the restaurant.  A little walking doesn’t hurt anybody.

Sunday night's fare.

The cost of the all you can eat seafood buffet is $25.95 per person.  All beverages are additional.  Adult beverages as well as the coffee, tea, and sodas are not included in the per person charge.

Vegetables and rice.

Fried chicken, pork loin, and some other stuff I don't konw what it isFish of some kind, shrimp, mussels, and other shell fish.

Here are the mussels, other shelled stuff, and crab legs

Ham and prime rib

Desserts

Fresh fruits and some Creme Brulee

Sushi stuff

Shrimp (prawns) and oysters

Smoked salmon

Cole slaw, potato salad, and other mixed salads

Various green salads, black olives, and tapanade

This is Joe’s “Starter”.  Oysters.  He really likes them.  A plate like this in Phoenix, Arizona at Las Casuelas costs us $30.  Just for the oysters!

Joe's "Starter"

I don’t care for fish of any kind.  I tried a couple of the deep fried shrimp and they were not bad.  Mostly I stick with “normal” types of food.

My dinner plate

After Joe’s “starter” he went for his dinner.  Not a vegetable in sight!

Prime rib and crab legs for Joe

While we ate we could watch the bathers as they frolicked in the water.  On the boardwalk the people were mingling and dancing to the band as they played the current favorites heard on the radio.

People enjoying the music

One guy was out in the water with a metal detector.  He must have been searching for gold doubloons that may have washed near shore.

Guy with a metal detector searching for treasure in the water

After dinner it was back to the hotel.  We had ran some errands before heading to Clearwater Beach.  Tonight Joe has to fill his weekly pill boxes and we needed to get some prescriptions refilled and purchase other vitamins and things for him.

Sunday night back at the Howard Johnson in Tampa for more rest before we head for Spartanburg, South Carolina to begin our work for the week.

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Clearwater Beach, Florida

  • aspot2stamp

    Ohhhhh I am so jealous !!!!! I love ClearWater beach 🙂 The sand is so soft under your feet. This is the first beach I collefted sand at. I was so amazed at how fine the sand was not like any other beach I’d been to. Thanks fo sharing your adventurres I so love to see your posts.
    Big hugs
    Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Shelly you are so right about the sand at Clearwater Beach. It is so fine and soft. Really hard to get off your feet and bum though 😀

      I’m happy to have reminded you of a good time 😀

      Hope you and your family are adjusting to being home from your long trip.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    How can you go to the beach and not give us an “up to our ankles at the edge of the water picture?” 🙂 I remember the last one you posted. It was hilarious!

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry! I missed this comment 😦 I know….ankle shots in the water. I can’t believe that was over two years ago with Pati and Les. Time has flown by so fast. Stand still long enough and the world will pass me by. Zoom zoom!

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Yuk to the oysters but oh deep joy to the rest of it 🙂 I would have a plate piled high with prawns (shrimps to you) and smoked salmon! That beach looks gorgeous, the sand looks so silvery just like the sand on some of the islands in The Scillies 🙂

    Must tell you our good news – we have had a good offer on the house and the sale is going through now 😀 So we are house hunting with a vengeance, then there is 37 years of junk to get rid of before we even think about packing!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn x

    • Message In A Fold

      Awesome, awesome. Doing a spinning, hopping on one foot and hope not to sprain that one, dance for you! At long last. Your fervent wish has come true.

      37 years of accumulated gems and eyesores. And to think they came in your home one at a time and have nearly taken over.

      You and Rod will conquer this mighty task. A few cross words, maybe a tear or two in seeing something have to go.

      Hope you find your dream home near a bus stop to carry you to the shops and back home again.

      Joe totally enjoyed all of his seafood. I couldn’t watch – YUCK! The smell is what puts me off. That and the strong tastes.

      When it is finally time to move into your new home…..how will you get it all moved? Will you hire a moving company? I feel sorry for you. I don’t envy you the task ahead.

      You and Rod will be in my thoughts and prayers as you go through the process of packing and moving out.

      When your home is finally empty, walking from room to room for a final check on anything left behind, the memories of all the hard work you two put in and the endless hours of scrubbing, scraping, shoveling, and rebuilding will hover over you like ghosts.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

