Waiting for repairs to be made.

Joe has no brake lights in the trailer electrical plug at the back of his cab. The DOT (Department of Transportation) requires all lights to work properly on any vehicle traveling our roads.

Besides it is good to know when the person in front of you has applied the brakes so you have a clue what is happening on the roadway ahead.

We are at the T/A – TravelCenters of America – in Edinburg, Texas. We have been here for close to three hours. There is one tech on duty at this facility. Right now, at 10:00 pm that tech is on a mandatory break. The woman at the service desk thought the situation was quite funny and laughed hysterically. Joe, on the other hand, is not very happy.

20120918-220941.jpg

We have been working some crazy hours. Up just after dawn and working until midnight. Trying to hold Joe back and get him to adopt a slower pace…..you go outside and approach a tree. Tell that tree to stop moving. See how much luck you have with that.

You may be interested to know that quite a number of Fort Worth’s “Finest” were taking Driver’s Ed day before yesterday. The police officers drove around a closed course near the Texas Motor Speedway dodging orange cones.

20120918-221520.jpg

I think they may have been given pointers on fast driving by a race car driver, or two.

The sky has threatened rain during our trips from McAllen to Ft. Worth. Leaden clouds have intrigued me.

20120918-221857.jpg

We did encounter a small thunderstorm south of San Antonio day before yesterday.

20120918-222007.jpg

After the brief shower I was greeted by a beautiful rainbow rising from the areas desert.

20120918-222127.jpg

Junk trucks are what we are hauling this week. As a matter of fact, most of the engine is in the front seating area of Joe’s back truck this trip. We’ve had a couple doozies.

This trip is the last for us for a while. Disney World and our children await next week. It is finally here. We have, as a family, been planning this reunion since February. I get daily calls from our kids. The excitement in their voices rises as each day passes.

I’ve received packing tips, information about what luggage to take on an airplane, and been asked numerous times if there will be a lot of walking involved.

Walking your feet off is what is going to happen!

Some of our children will be driving. I get questions about the best places to stop and see things, such as the World’s Biggest Ball of Yarn amongst other attractions.

I don’t know. If it can’t be seen from the highway then I have no idea it even exists!

Needless to say, as the time draws nearer, our kids are still that. Our excited kids that have a dancing and gleeful screaming inner child that is so ready to take on Mickey Mouse and all his friends.

Life is fantastic and our kids make it worth living.

I hope you have something to look forward to and feel like a giddy kid once again 😀

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

10 responses to “Waiting for repairs to be made.

  • Jann Gray

    So sorry that you all are having to deal with junk trucks….that has to make it doubly stressful! And while I know the time with the kiddos and Disney is going to be a BLAST – I will certainly be holding a good thought for you as you and Joe do the “herd cat shuffle” through all the rides and autographs and popcorn and character shows. It will be a HUGE memory…and I think you should plan to take two valium and sleep until noon the day that it is over! Hugs!

    Jann

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you, my dear friend, for the giant grin and the chuckle I had reading your comment.

      I think you have some experience behind your words. Herd cat shuffle, rides, shows, autographs, and the requisite Valium on the last day of the adventure 😀

      I will take your advice and enjoy every second of it 🙂

      You have a new blog entry, I’ve read it…have yet to watch the video and leave a comment, which I will be able to do later today or tonight. Love your work!

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m SOOO confused. Trees don’t MOVE!!!

    It’s so great that the kids are excited about the trip. Isn’t it crazy how much it means to us when they are happy like this? I have a feeling that plans will be discussed before the end of the trip as to where NEXT YEARS trip will be! Have a great time; you two deserve some R&R and to be surrounded by kids in their 20’s and grandkids who are squealing with delight about seeing Mickey and his friends!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Maureen 🙂

      Indeed, it is heart warming to listen to the excitement in our 30 Something’s voices. Makes them all 8 years old in my heart with the approach of Christmas and all the excitement in their actions and words. Seeing their eyes light up as the day approaches.

      I am looking forward to having them around me once again. This time with their spouses and our grandson.

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

      ps…Your cookies have lasted us all week and we have so enjoyed them. Thinking of you and Charlie and the Visit we had with you two each time we have a cookie :D. Thank you, very much

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh sis!! awesome!! I am soooo sorry that you are taking junk trucks, but, thank God it is almost over.

    And then you and joe and your ( excited ) kids of all ages are going to have the time of your lives, lol, 😀

    Enjoy yourselves,

    Its almost PARTY TIME!!!

    Have fun, love you both, P

    • Message In A Fold

      That was the longest week I’ve had in quite a while. Must be all the time I had off…lost all my gumption 😉

      Indeed, the kids are totally excited. Some are leaving today and others will leave later in the week. Talked to my grandson yesterday. He made a calendar to count down the days left before they leave 😀 He is just so stinkin cute!

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    You just didn’t need junk trucks at this time but hope you get them delivered okay without losing too much steam via the ears as you overheat with frustration 🙂
    Yay hey!! Lots of excitement and looking forward to a great family reunion. From what Jill and Darren said it is a great deal of walking so make sure you have your swimming costumes so that you can go into the pools to cool your feet off 🙂
    Think the best part as far as Liam and Dylan were concerned was watching the geckos at the villa they hired and Liam loved his trip out onto the water to go alligator spotting! Jill hated the sight of beef/ham burgers and longed for decent food with plenty of fruit and vegetables!!
    Have a great time with your family 🙂 Are you hiring a villa or some such thing for you all to stay in?

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry for the delay in answering your comment. That was one crazy week! No time to do much of anything…even stopping to relieve my bladder it was so wild. I did get to do that when we stopped for fuel, thankfully.

      Each of the kids had picked out the resort they want to stay in. Tiffany, with her little Simon, are staying in a Pirate themed resort. From what she tells us the room is set up to look like a pirate ship and has swords, cannon balls, and all kinds of pirate-y things in the room to keep Simon intrigued 😀

      We are scattered across Disney World so we will find out just how much will be involved to meet up at one spot. Looking at the map of the place I knew there would be so much walking. Which is a good thing for me. I need to be walking and what better place to do it at :D?

      There are places in Disney World that have more to eat than burgers. I’ve had to search to find them, since Joe and I are trying to eat better. So hopefully I have found places that will be healthy for us. I’m glad that Jill, Darren, Liam, and Dylan have had the adventure of Florida and Disney World. Culture shock I’m sure. I bet they had their share of seeing how American’s can dress inappropriately out in public. Some girls, with their gorgeous lithe bodies, like to show it all off over here. I’ve seen girls with shorts and tops so tight and body hugging it caused my lungs to nearly collapse just looking at them. Reminders of my days in girdles long ago and the discomfort of that time come roaring back.

      Hope you enjoyed your time with the grandsons. I see you are thinking of Christmas projects for the boys. I’d love to see what you create when you have them finished.

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        Jill, Darren, the boys and their friends shared a villa outside Disney World and bought tickets to visit each part. They wanted to be independent to a large degree – typical of the Brits 🙂 Then visit the parts appropriate to the boys ages although Jill and Darren did go down some of the huge waterslides!
        Yes Jill said she and Darren had huge fun watching out for some of the outfits many people wore, the most outlandish outfits being worn by people old enough to know better but it gave them a laugh:D

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Jill and Darren probably saved a ton of money sharing a villa with friends.

        Poking around the food court this evening I sure do understand Jill’s rant about burgers! The food costs are crazy expensive and the fare is gobs of greasy burgers, fries (chips), and deep fried stuff. Enough to give me heartburn just looking at it!

        Jill and Darren have some fond memories, I hope, of their time here at Disney World. After they got home went back to work to rest up after this vacation 😉

        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

