Cleared to go back to work.

We had a heart thumping scare on Tuesday (day before yesterday)!  Joe’s INR blood test was pretty high.  Quite high in fact.

The first test done by the Home Health nurse gave a reading of 5.0!  Joe’s range is supposed to be are 2.0 to 2.1.  The nurse ran a second test and it was still way too high at 3.8.

Joe's most recent INR blood testTime to get salads and other vegetables back in his diet.  I’ve held him way back on them because of the high amounts of Vitamin K in them.  This is a tricky business finding the right mix of foods.  The meals I have been making for him have been too low in Vitamin K and have caused his blood to thin down to a really scary range.

Blood thinned to an INR of 4.0 and higher can be dangerous.  All Joe needs do is bump his head fairly hard, as he often does under our work trailer.  Hard enough to put a goose egg on his head.  That goose egg can lead to a brain bleed and I can loose him.  So this is serious and I have to figure out how to get that number down without it going down too far.

The really creepy thing about his higher INR number is his eyes.  They really look bad, awful in fact.  So bad that I had to take pictures of them and text them to our daughter, Loreli – the ICU trauma nurse – about 7:30 pm Tuesday night to see if I needed to get Joe to the hospital.

Joe's eye looks pretty bad to me - doctor says it is the CoumadinJoe had his follow up doctor visit yesterday morning and has been cleared to go back to work.  The doctor looked at Joe’s eyes and said that is the Coumadin.  The high INR reading from the Coumadin (Warfarin) in his system is what is causing his eyes to look that bad.

Maureen, my friend from Texas asked if I had a pedometer app on my iPhone.  I have a Nike one but I can’t figure out how to work it.  The iPhone App is called “Pedometer” and I took the FREE one.  Never know which app works and which doesn’t so I don’t like to pay for something that won’t work for me.

Pedometer App for iPhoneI’ve been averaging a mile to nearly a mile and a half around our neighborhood.  Joe and I start off slow at his pace.  When he is headed to the house I leave him at the driveway and continue on at a faster pace.

So far, I like the app.  I don’t know what all it does other than keep track of how far I walk.  I haven’t figured out how to set the heartbeat….mostly because I can’t figure out how to find my heartbeat 😦  Every time I think I have it I lose it.  Only time I can find it is when my heart is beating hard and fast.  So I don’t know if the app needs a resting heart rate or a fast heart rate.

Yep, I am one smart cookie 😦

My boom is coming off the trailer later today.  Take some unnecessary weight off our trailer since we won’t be taking four trucks any longer.  Probably not until next year – literally.

In the meantime I’m working on a scrapbook for one of our daughters.  I have to have it finished, as much as I can, before we leave home so I can give it to her in Orlando, Florida.

We are supposed to be getting a portable blood checking machine before we leave so I will be reporting Joe’s progress in keeping his INR down to 2.0 and 2.1 while we are on the road.  This should prove to be exciting!

Have a fantastic day – we will be because Joe is on his way back to work.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

6 responses to “Cleared to go back to work.

  • Pati Mishler

    OH my! lol, it is a good thing you have Loreli and Maureen to ask when you have questions, Loreli for medical questions, Maureen, as a good friend when you need to talk.

    And it doesnt hurt she is married to a doctor, lol. Well, Maureen is close to the medical field, lol,

    Well, now its off to the road again, glad things are looking up for Joe, good job Joe!! 😀

    And lets not forget sis also, good job sis, since it takes you both to keep Joe doing good.

    Nothing like a little excitement to keep your world going, NOT!!!!! lol.

    You both take care, be careful on the road, i am sure Joe is chomping at the bit to get back to work, lol.

    Keep us up on all the goings on, love you sis and Joe.

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Sis for your enthusiasm and your support.

      Joe and I are blessed by the many people, you included, in our lives that have made this recent foolishness and mayhem easier to handle. I love you for that.

      Indeed, Joe is more than ready to hit the road again. He thinks he can do everything just like he were 20 years old again and I have to rein him in sometimes. Sucks being the bad guy 😦

      I’ll keep you informed, promise 🙂
      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    So glad Joe is cleared to wor k again but he has to be sensible and if that means a Bad Wife badge so be it 🙂
    I was at Joan and Derek’s today, Joan had to go and have her weekly INR blood test and she gets a print out of her drug levels needed for that week. She has four boxes of tablets – each box is a different colour with matching coloured tablets and these indicate strength of warfarin in each tablet. Her printout indicates she has to have a total of 5mg each day for 4 days followed by a day of 4.5mg and 2 days of 5mg so the printout reads something like – Friday 5mg = 1 brown tablet, 1 blue and 1 white.
    As Joan has short term memory loss due to dementia Derek works through the list and makes up the combined tablets and puts one days supply into each corresponding compartments in a 7 day plastic container. This oblong container has 7 compartments marked with days of the week and Joan can work from one end of the box to the other and not become confused.
    I asked Derek if Joan had ever been given a sheet of Vitamin K foods and whether she had to work out her diet and avoid those foods high in Vitamin K. He said no and the medical prfession had never mentioned this so from my understanding of the situation here in the UK anyone prescribed Warfarin has regular INR checks and the medication is altered to suit the INR reading so that patients don’t have to fuss and worry about Vitamin K. Seems to make life easier. Also she was asked what her usual daily alcohol intake is – in Joan’s case one small glass of sherry – which is factored in when she has her INR blood test.
    Joan has a dodgy heart which is why she has to have her blood thinned so her ticker doesn’t have to work so hard.

    So Joe – behave 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Reading about your friends, Joan and Derek, with the process they go through sounds sane and economical in keeping her INR where it needs to be.

      I have no idea why that can’t be done here in the US. The only reason I can come up with is we are a total society of whiny babies. People over here don’t want to go through the trouble of sorting out the pills in Derek’s manner. People over here want ONE pill, and they want it to work right now! Immediately! If not sooner!

      Joan’s doctor has the right idea, in my opinion. The body has to be fed correctly to work well. The less stress on the body and mind of the caregiver means a healthier and better body on the person being treated.

      I tell you, it has been really difficult working with the information I’ve received from the hospital for the care and feeding of Joe. I’m hoping to find the right mix of foods that will include everything from “soup to nuts” and he can get back to eating the things he likes….except for the fried foods which are no good to either one of us.

      Thank you for your investigative “on the ground” research 😀 I appreciate it.

      Are you girded and prepped for the upcoming marathon? Have you practiced for the 100 yard dash, hurdles, and skill climbing? Your competitor, although shorter in stature than you and more fleet of foot, has been practicing and is up for the challenge 😀

      I used to scoff at the older people that said raising children is for the young and not the old. It was my thought that the older people that grumbled at the young children just didn’t like children. Boy, I could not have been more WRONG! Just watching my 3 year old grandson is enough to give me a coronary from his non-stop action. I’d never be able to keep up with that little tyke.

      Enjoy your weekend home with Rod and the peace and quiet of your abode 😀

      Love you – Leslie

  • Salt

    I agree that you should get back on adding meals with vitamin K again. That’s better. Or how about vitamin K2 supplements? And will try this app as well. It looks pretty good. 🙂

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for leaving a comment, I appreciate you stopping by my blog.

      This Warfarin business has been a trial of our sanity. After, finally, being set straight by Joe’s doctor on his food intake for proper nutrition while on this drug he is feeling better. Now it is getting the dosage regulated so we don’t have any more alarming episodes.

      Thanks for the suggestion of Vitamin K2. I’ll look into that supplement to see if it is available.

      Leslie

Leave a Reply

