Peanut butter, and not used in cooking.

Do you remember back in July when we found a window shattered in our camper shell thing of our work pickup?

Plexiglass and Gorilla Glue ducktapeWell, it is time to get that window fixed.  Joe was feeling quite ambitious.  He enlisted the aid of our neighbor, Hugh, and Hugh’s brother, John Paul, to help take the broken window out and install the new one.

The Plexiglass piece has been removedPoor Hugh, he got the hot job of being in the back of the pickup in over 100 degree heat to get the broken window unscrewed and taken out.  I think once the Plexiglass was removed there was a breeze going inside to help cool him off a bit.  Having little overhead room to work  and no way to gain a good purchase in taking out the old and rusted screws was back breaking work for our friend.

Poor Hugh, trapped inside that little spaceJohn Paul was on the outside pushing and pulling where Hugh told him to be to enable the removal of the whole window piece.

John Paul working from the outside to help get the window outJoe…poor Joe.  He tried to help these two guys but found his ambitions failed him quickly and he had to be the “supervisor” on this job.  And he also had the job of being the “gopher”.  You know…go fer this and go fer that.

Poor Joe, he had high hopes to lend assistanceNo matter how much he improves daily he’s still not quite up to his old self just yet.  However, he has gained enough strength back to be ramming around outside and going up and down stairs.  A vast improvement and I’m delighted to see it.

The Gorilla Glue duck tape left a pretty nasty trail behind.

Glue reside on the outer shell.While Hugh was inside that cramped and hot space with John Paul on the outside lending assistance in getting the window out, I had to get myself in the way.  I picked a spot a little distance from the action and poured on some rubbing alcohol.  That stuff usually gets glue residue off.

Rubbing alcoholThe rubbing alcohol didn’t even touch the glue.  No visible evidence of much happening.

I went back into the house for the strong stuff.  Goof Off.

Goof Off cleanerThe instructions on the can say to use this stuff in a well ventilated area.  I was in a well ventilated area.  I was outside.  However, poor Hugh was not in a well ventilated area.  The fumes of this stuff were blowing inside that hot and cramped space he was working so diligently in.  Not good neighborly conduct to cause a friend to be overcome by toxic fumes and pass out.

Besides, neither the rubbing alcohol nor the Goof Off put a dent in that pesky tape residue.

Rubbing alcohol and Goof Off did not penetrate the glueInspiration struck.  What gets gum out of little girls hair?  What does not have toxic fumes?  What is really great at getting reluctant price tag stickers off glass items?  Well peanut butter, of course.

Peanut butter to the rescueAnd not just any peanut butter.  Chunky style peanut butter.  Only because that is all we have on hand.  It made application of the stuff a little difficult.

Liberally smear peanut butter over the glueWhile Hugh was sweating away inside the back of our truck and John Paul was pulling and pushing from outside the broken window finally came free.  Next was to get the new window installed.  With all that action going on at my elbow, and trying to stay out of John Paul’s way I began working at the glue and peanut butter.  First with my fingernail.

Working at the glue and peanut butter with my fingernailIt was working!  Yes!  Soon all that nasty stuff would be gone.  Did you know that peanut butter is highly attractive to flies?  Well, I had quite the turnout.

The peanut butter is working on the glueIt was taking quite a long time to scrape at the glue with my fingernail – thumbnail really – and I had just got a start.  What can I use to speed things along just a bit?  Any kind of metal scraper would damage the paint so I had to toss that idea out.  Then it occurred to me.  My George Forman grill has a plastic scraper to clean the raised areas of the grill.  I can use that!

George Forman grill cleaner/scraperThat worked really great.  I was able to work at larger areas than just with my thumbnail.

The plastic scraper is working great with the peanut butterHugh was finally let out of the sweat box, the old window was completely removed and the new one was installed.  Hugh cautioned me about damaging the clear coat of the paint but I had to get the glue off.

Thank you Hugh and John Paul for your friendship, your assistance, and your willingness to be cooked and fumed out into a stupor.  Joe and I appreciate you both.

Long after Hugh went home to take a shower and get cooled off, and John Paul left to finish a recorded football game he had been watching before we interrupted him, Joe was inside the house recuperating from his spurt of ambition, I scraped away at the peanut butter and glue gunk until I had it finally cleaned off.

Glue finally scraped completely offNext item was to roust Joe from his recliner and get him to go with  me to the car wash.  Doing his manly duties of taking care of business Joe was in command of the power washer and worked at getting all the peanut butter and glue off of the shell that I had so liberally smeared all over the place.

Removing the peanut butter at the car washI’m happy with the results.  Although I did get a little carried away in a couple spots and worked the paint right off 😦 at least the tape residue is totally gone, the window is good as new and only we will know that there had been a problem recently.

Clean and beautiful once againDinner last night was at a local Chinese restaurant.  We haven’t eaten out the whole time we have been home.  Joe is giving me the lower lip curled down and the puppy dog eyes.  He wants Chinese and I think it is time.  When we get back to work it will be restaurant food all the time.  Might as well take the first foray out while we are home and near our doctors and a hospital…should this outing prove to be not so pleasant.

Take the time to thank your friends and family that are there to help you when you need them.  Let them know how much you appreciate them for all they do.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

9 responses to “Peanut butter, and not used in cooking.

  • Maureen Mathis

    I can’t believe that you guys can actually do repairs like that yourself! Nothing short of amazing! I have always been dependent on repairment. It must feel so good to have the skills necessary to complete such difficult jobs on your own; you must be so proud – of yourself as well as Joe, Hugh and John Paul! It was probably great for Joe to be able to see that he is still up to the task again, as well. I know it probably wore him out for the rest of the day, but that’s what progress looks like. Congratulations to the both of you, for I KNOW that he is where he is today because of his inner strength and your love, shown in your care of him these last few weeks which were preceded by many years as well. Bravo, my friend. BRAVO!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks, Maureen! Your comment has given me something to think about. I’m so used to Joe fixing stuff. When he needs help Hugh and John Paul are there to lend their hands and their knowledge of how things work to get the job done. When it is just Joe and I he tells me what to do to help him.

      I’ve had my moments when I’m sure the task is more than Joe can deal with but he always has an answer. He may not physically be Superman right now, but he is Superman to me. I’m his stubborn and reluctant to believe Lois Lane 😀

      You have warmed my heart by your compliment and I thank you for that, my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Jann

    Brilliant! I’ve known about pb for gum…but don’t think I would have come up with this solution! Brilliant!

    Glad to see Joe’s ambitions are moving towards bigger things!

    Did I mention how Brilliant you are?!? Love you guys!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Jann! I appreciate you 🙂

      Joe is getting better each day. His mood is brightening and he is looking forward to his follow up visit with the doctor in hopes of getting back on the road soon. He overdid things yesterday but is recuperating quickly 😀

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    WHAHOOOO!! Good job sis, you got your brains a cookin. P.b. good choice, isnt it amazing what the most simplest products can do so many things.

    We are so glad that Joe is doing better, YOU GO JOE!! WHAHOO!!

    Tell Hugh and John Paul thanks for helping you both out. From Les and I that is.

    Sounds like he is coming along little by little, tell him, Dont push too hard too fast Joe, take it easy.

    Love you both, sis and Les.

    • Message In A Fold

      Hey Sis, sorry for the late response to your comment. Things have been a little crazy here now that Joe thinks he is back to being fit. Ya, fit to be tied up!

      I’ll pass on your thanks to both Hugh and John Paul. I know you have met Hugh, I don’t think you have met his brother. Maybe you did, I just can’t remember.

      Keep taking photos of your environment. It is good seeing you take an active interest in your world and posting to your Facebook page 😀

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    What wonderful friends and neighbours you have Leslie and that they were prepared to give up their time to help you both out. Joe will have to learn to pace himself; it is great that he is improving day by day but slowly Joe please 😀
    I never knew that about peanut butter! Well you live and learn, any type of duct tape is awful for leaving glue trails. Can’t think of a better way to use peanut butter! LOL

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe and I are truly blessed by the people that surround us. Even you way across the pond. Thank you for your friendship.

      Hugh and John Paul are the best people. We try, ever so hard, to not take advantage of them and their willingness to be our friends and helpers. Friends first, helpers second. They keep watch over our home when we are gone, mow our yard, and give advice when needed. We pay them for the lawn care and the computer services Hugh provides from time to time. Then we load them down with food from our refrigerator that would spoil (no leftovers – well….once in a while). They have a standing invitation to celebrate the holidays with us and we can get together over the table for copious amounts of food and conversation. Then leave laden with leftovers 😀

      Joe and I are not financially rich, but we are rich in friends!

      Peanut butter is the best thing to get rid of glue on surfaces that can be washed. Not so good on getting gum or other sticky substances out of the carpet. The oils tend to leave a really bad stain! Experience!

      Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

