AT&T Internet Upgrade

Now I know how my friend, Lynn Claridge, in the UK feels when her phone lines get cut and she is without internet!

We got home Saturday afternoon, August 4th.  We were home long enough to do a “dump and run” before heading to the grocery store to replenish our food stores.  It is our practice to give away all perishable food items to our neighbor just before we walk out the door and leave for weeks at a time.  Our refrigerator was empty save for a couple jars of pickles.

Once home, and after putting the groceries away, I went online to check my emails and do a bit of catching up on the news.  Sunday morning, August 5th, I couldn’t get online at all.  The Broadband box we have had for a number of years had a red flashing light indicating the Broadband was offline.  Yikes!  Did I forget to pay the phone bill?!

Sorting through the accumulated mail over the past month I found the phone bill was current so that was not the problem.  It must be the Broadband box has decided to quit, it is very old after all.  Joe called AT&T to find out what we needed to do to upgrade our router when he heard a message indicating that ALL of AT&T’s internet was offline due to an upgrade.  That included my trusty iPhone!

Cut off from my world!  No email access, no finding out what is going on in the lives of my family and friends via Facebook, no thrilling news reports to read on Yahoo nor AOL, no way to find out what updates have been posted to the blogs I read.

Time and again I headed for my computer to go online only to have my efforts dashed by seeing a yellow triangle with a black exclamation point with the message that I am offline 😦

I had bills to pay!  My website was up for renewal.  If I could not get online to pay that I would lose my “messageinafold.com” forever!  That would not be good.  In fact, that would be tragic.  To me anyway 😦 since that is the account this blog is tied to!  How would I ever be able to get useless information broadcast if I lost my website?!

This morning, August 8th, all is well.  I have internet access once again.  My bills are paid.  I have been able to catch up on the blogs I read.  All is well with my world 🙂

I can’t imagine what happened in the world of big business.  My trivial little needs are nothing compared to the businesses, large and small, that rely on internet access to sell their goods or provide their services.  My feeble little cries of lamentation over not having access to my world are pitiful.  My livelihood is not predicated on internet access.

My paperwork mess has begun.  I will be checking in on my friends and family to find out what is new.  More than likely there will be no blog updates here for a while.  Three weeks of being at home are going to go by quickly and we will be off on another adventure.  I just hope I can get my paperwork done in the time allotted.  That means it is time to get off the internet and get busy once again.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

21 responses to “AT&T Internet Upgrade

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh my sis, you crack me up, lol 😀 I DO however realize exactly WHAT you are going through without internet, amazing as it may seem, our lives, even though we dont hold BIG positions and our lives dont include the big corporations, we NEED internet. I have also become a slave to the internet, i look for my fb messages, my emails, i can access SO much more with my internet. With out it, reminds me what life was like back then, you know, when there was NO SUCH THING as internet, and you relied completely on encyclopedias, tv, books, wherein tv and books are still and always will be GREAT!!. We still LOVE the comfort of our INTERNET!! I used to think we could do without it, and rolled my eyes when les said WE HAVE TO HAVE IT!!, Alas, MY HUSBAND is SO correct. Even though i bet we COULD do without it, find some other way to pay bills, and such, we have gotten so used to this convience, that it would be hard to change and get used to something else again. So glad we have it though. 😀 Love you sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      Sorry for the delay in getting your comment posted and sending a response.

      How Knew?! You would be addicted to the internet as bad as I am 😀

      This thing is just as bad as the electricity! I take them both for granted. Flip a switch and we have lights or get a machine to work. Press a key and the internet pops up. It is terrible how much I rely on both of them. I had withdrawals 😦 There is nothing fun to do on my computer…everything fun is on the internet 😦

      I really need to get on Facebook to see what everyone is up to, especially You dear Sis 😀

      Love you Sis –

  • aspot2stamp

    Oh how upset I was when our internet was down, and Poor Brian had to head up to Mc donalds on my laptop to do his ebay. It was quite a challenge he had to do his regular things on his desktop copy them to disk and put them on my laptop…..ect and he hates this things small keyboard and touchpad mouse 😦 …….. at least I love my little computer 🙂 It is nice to see your post and I ‘m happy to hear you and Joe are faring good. We are well here and almost have everything for school finished up. Having someone come to look at our roof before winter gets here and maybe get the master bathroom shower replaced Much happening around here. I hope paperwork goes smoothly for you and quickly. Just think how this will help you when winter gets here you will have time to play with all your crafty goodies. Not much crafting going on around here but we have picked up tons of souviners to add to each book just need to get motivated to actually break them out. Gotta run laundry just beeped, lunch is upon me and I’d like to run the vacuum this afternoon. Tell Joe Hi from us. Love ya Shelly

    • Message In A Fold

      Your world is one Whiz Bang Hang-On-Or-You’ll-Get-Left-Behind kind of thing! It has been forever since I had to take a passel of kids to the stores in preparation for school to begin. The supplies and clothing needed just about put us in the Poor House when they were all at home.

      It seems the illnesses and skin issues have cleared up in your household. Hope they stay that way 😀

      Poor Brian. He’s got big hot dog fingers like Joe has. It is funny to watch Joe plonk the little keys with his big fingers 😀 It may be inconvenient for Brian but he has found a workable solution to keep up with this eBay stuff. Good for him!

      Good luck on your roof repair when the time comes. I hope you get a reliable and competent company to fix your roof. Here in Oklahoma, after all the hail damage, there were new reports daily about people being swindled out of their money by roofers who cheated them. We had to have the guy who did our roof come back to do it all over again. The shingles they used weren’t staying down in the winds. There was a bit of a “stadium wave” thing going on up there 😀 At least it is fixed.

      I have to stop by your blog to see what is happening in your world. Finally have a few minutes to just goof off before I have to crack the whip once more. Well….at least get in the kitchen and make dinner.

      The paperwork is coming along, thank you 😀

      Souvenirs?! How fun! Your Smash Books are going to be great once you can get at them again. Hope you do get some crafting time in.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Indira

    Hi Leslie, it`s nice to read that everything is ok and just internet issue. I really understand you, I prefer not to have cable, than internet. I really like to be “on line”. Take care.

    • Message In A Fold

      Hey there Indira! I’ve got to go hit your blog. I see you have posted a new card and I am dying to see it. I’m sorry to learn of the illnesses your family has been experiencing 😦 I hope you are all back to being well.

      When our children were young they were germ factories. One child would come home from school with something and just had to share it with everyone else. Seemed that as one child got better it wasn’t long before a relapse of the same crud.

      Good to hear from you and I will be parked on your blog in just a few minutes 😀

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I was getting worried about you Leslie so I am so very glad that you are back 🙂 Oh it is agonising isn’t it when we have no internet? In such a relatively short time we have come to depend upon it and are lost without it. Now I hope you can catch up with a lot of the paperwork and don’t forget to keep the home tidy too 🙂 But also give yourself time to play 😀 Love and hugs Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks for your concern Lynn. The last two weeks we were out on the road seems that everyone was working us overtime to get work done. We nearly made up for the loss of time in July in just the last two weeks of the month. Whew! Both of us thought we had been shoved through a knot hole and drug back through!

      Tidy the home is going to be hit and miss until I get this dreaded paperwork done. I want to have several days to play before I have to leave once again. Dang it all 😦

      I’m loving what you are doing with that screen thing and the sunflowers. I can’t wait to see it finished 😀 Hope you are enjoying the process of creating your masterpiece 😀

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    Well everyone, here I go a blabbing again, is EVERYONE listening???? Well tomorrow, Saturday, August 11th, just happens to be my sister and Joe’s Anniversary. SOOOOO!! I would REALLY appreciate it if EVERYONE would just pop in to my sis’s blog, or text her if you have her number, and wish them a VERY HAPPY Anniversary. Much thanks folks, Leslie’s sis. 😀 , Pati

    • Message In A Fold

      Well good grief! I forgot. I totally forgot!

      Joe and I have been so focused on vehicle repairs and paperwork that it just totally slipped my mind.

      Thanks Sis. You warm my heart with your thoughtfulness. Maybe I need to do the same for you :-(. I can’t remember YOUR anniversary 😦

      Love you Sis

      • pati

        Our anniversary is 8 days before urs lol, not to worry, 🙂 will be seeing u 2morrow if nothing happens to stop it. Later sis, love u

      • Message In A Fold

        What is that – August 3rd? I’ll have to make a real note of that on my phone’s calendar. Your birthday I will never forget 😀

        See you tomorrow – I’m looking forward to seeing you Sis.

  • aspot2stamp

    Happy Anniversary Leslie and Joe !! 🙂
    It’s easy for me to remember since it’s the same as mine.
    Hope you both have a fabulous day.

    Hugs to both of you
    Shelly

  • Pati Mishler

    Lookin forward to seeing you and joe again, at leaste SOME people paid attention to what i was saying, lol. You DID get some anniversary wishes at least, 😀 Love you sis, yep, 2morrow, we live only about 30 to 40 miles east of Dodge, so it wont take very long to get there. Whereever there is, somewhere in Dodge, lol Be waiting for more info on where to meet you. Love you sis. P

    • Message In A Fold

      We had a wonderful time with you and Les. Thanks for meeting us on our little journey to Colorado.

      Thanks for the birthday and anniversary wishes :D. I’ve made a note of your anniversary so I won’t forget it 😀

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    So sorry didn’t see this before now but belated Happy Anniversary greetings to Joe and Leslie. Hope you had a great day 🙂 Love and hugs Lynn xx

  • Pati Mishler

    To all those that might be concerned, my sister’s internet is on the blink again, NO INTERNET!! We talked about that when sis and joe and i and my husband met up , still not able to access the internet. It went out shortly after she got it back.

    So just an update folks, she wont and cant be making any comments unless she does some on her phone, sometimes that is a chore.

    But stay tuned, her internet is bound to come back sooner or later.

    Leslie’s sis, Pati

  • Pati Mishler

    Oh, and bye the bye, when the four of us met up in Dodge cIty, it was such a good visit, sure enjoyed the visit sis.

    Love you sis and Joe. Pati

Leave a Reply

