What it is like to have your things stolen.

News reporters, television or print, ask the most insane question I think possible.

“How did you feel when…..”

First thing is confusion.

Upon returning to our pickup, after spending nearly 5 hours in the Apple store, I reached for the door handle and it didn’t click right away that it was broken. A piece of the handle was sticking out at an odd angle and it just didn’t seem right. My brain said “Look. There is something different here” but my brain couldn’t make the split second leap to understand that some twerp had jammed a tool under the lock plate and ripped it up.

20120710-215629.jpg

Second thing is still confusion.

I looked into the pickup cab. The familiar items that I glance at briefly and barely acknowledge in my everyday life are missing.

Now my brain goes into a rapid fire slide show. Maybe you have looked at two pictures that seem to be identical until you take a closer look. Small things are different. Some things are missing while other things are in a different place. Or there is something added to one picture but not on the other.

That is what went through my brain in rapid fire. This is missing, that is missing, what else is missing.

Third is the feeling of being helpless.

Someone has been in our personal space. Some twerp has sat on my seat and my stuff is gone forever.

Fourth you feel the loss of familiar items and you feel sad.

The missing items, things that have had a purpose in your life are gone – forever. Poof. Gone.

Fifth you feel a powerful anger. Well, I did anyway.

Some slime ball with his britches below his butt cheeks has planted his sorry and stinky a$$ on my seat. That twerp that doesn’t have a lick of sense God gave a snail has pawed his hands through MY stuff.

Who the “F” does he think he is?! Some all powerful and frightening dude that will make me pee myself in fear?

That twerp is just damn lucky we didn’t catch him/them in the act. I could go for some arm and leg breaking of these twerps and leave their sorry a$$es on the pavement. Run them over a couple times as we drive away and listen to them scream in pain.

Crabby Gertrude escaped again.

Sixth thing you feel is resignation.

The stuff is long gone. Much of it doesn’t have serial numbers. Those items that do have serial numbers have not been written down and handy for the police report.

You run a mental tally of replacement costs for the stolen items and you will either feel overwhelmed or plain pissed off all over again.

For the next several hours you will fluctuate between being resigned and pissed off.

You will be hyper vigilant over the remainder of your possessions. You might even consider taking everything you own into your house or hotel room.

Sort of like a paranoia takes over and you want to keep what is left.

Finding a balance, when you are emotionally unbalanced, is difficult for a while.

I’m not a crier. I learned from a young age that crying only makes things worse. So I stuffed the feelings to cry and let it out. That turned into an inner rage that was nearly impossible to gain control over.

I feel the tension in my chest. The feeling to have a good cry but it gets stuck in my throat and in a while passes and goes away.

There is nothing you can do after a break in except inform the police, your homeowners or renters insurance agent and get on with your life.

There is always going to be twerps in this world of ours. Always.

Take the necessary precaution to make your vehicle as uninviting as possible. Don’t leave anything in your vehicle.

This is nearly impossible for Joe and I because our vehicle is our home. It is where we work from and the things we need to do our job have to come with us.

Now if only……the legal system didn’t lean so far in the twerps corner maybe something can be done.

I’ve often wondered if it would be possible to surround our vehicles with a high voltage wire of some kind. Put caution markers and warnings to not come near because of a shock hazard.

One of those pansy twerps would be on the ground so fast he wouldn’t know what hit him. The twerp would be represented by a major lawyer while I sit in jail for the rest of my life.

Oops, Gertrude is still upset.

Okay. Enough of this. Just know that all the emotional roller coaster stuff will go away and life will return to normal.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

14 responses to “What it is like to have your things stolen.

  • Maureen Mathis

    I’m so sorry that you two are having to go through this horrific chain of events. Your job is so much harder than it should be, due to no fault of your own. The job itself is difficult enough. You are experiencing a season; a difficult season surrounds you right now. But like ALL things, it WILL end.

    …..possibly with you doing 10-20 if you don’t shut Gertrude up, girl….. Tell her to wait for you at home, and by all means, give her your new address at 1234 Shut the Door, Apt C4, Hiroshima, Japan, 8675309!

    • Message In A Fold

      This is about over. Just another couple days and these trucks and the troubles will be behind us.

      We are back on the road and made it to Holbrook, Arizona last night. I’m hoping the repairs that were made are going to get us to Oakland and the buyers will have a good truck now in their fleet.

      Thank you Maureen for stepping up in my face and saying “Get over it already” :D. I appreciate you.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    O my goodness, when it rains, it pour’s, good grief, WHAT next? I agree with you, when things like this happen, i for one, really want to be the one to sock it to the jerk that did this horrific thing.

    Hmmmm, this sounds familiar doesn’t it? Well!! When people are done wrong, it is HUMAN to want the bad people to get their come up in’s.

    WE were taught to keep our HANDS to ourselves if it doesnt’t belong to us, we keep our hands off the item. And there were plenty of time’s we got our hand’s slapped, just , mind you, just to remind us when the time comes, and we get tempted to touch other’s things, that they DONT belong to us, so LEAVE it alone.

    Other’s have NOT been taught that apparently, or don’t care. Well, no matter, at least you are both alive, you were not there when the bad guys were there, you could have been hurt.

    Those things were just material things, they can be replaced, yes, it will cost you more money than you planned to spend, but, you both are still alive.

    Buy new stuff when you can, and do the best you can to protect your belongings, and yourselves, thats all you can do.

    Stay safe, be careful, and know we are all watching over you, love you sis.

  • My Homepage

    Hey, you used to write exceptional, but the last couple of posts have been kinda boring¡K I miss your super writings. Past couple of posts are just slightly out of track! come on! 382776

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for your comment, I appreciate you. Sorry if you do not approve of my last couple posts, the events of this trip got the best of me. Maybe my newer posts will be more of what you have grown to like about this blog.

      Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    I can imagine how frustrated, violated, angry and all other emotions you feel Leslie and all because some smackhead wants a hit – well come here and I’ll give you a hit asshole!
    Thank heavens it wasn’t laptops, serious money or cards otherwise that would have been even worse. It is a shame about the camera though and hope Joe can replace that and hope there weren’t any photos in that camera.

    Big hugs Leslie
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I love you!! You have made me laugh and that is stupendous!!

      This trip has just set me on my ear with all the troubles we have had and to have a break in just was the topper of it all. I went a little whacko there for a bit.

      Joe did have some pictures on film in his camera. He’s really upset because it was the most favorite of his cameras. So the only thing we can do now is just move forward and not look back.

      Maybe the streak is over. One can only hope anyway.

      Love you – Leslie

  • best kids apps

    An fascinating discussion is price comment. I believe which you need to write extra on this subject, it may well not be a taboo topic but typically individuals are not enough to speak on such topics. Towards the next. Cheers 667938

  • Your Premiere Source for Uncommon Bow Ties, Knot Your Ordinary Bow Tie

    Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a couple of of the pictures arent loading properly. Im not certain why but I think its a linking issue. Ive tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results. 12646

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you for the “Heads Up” on the photos not appearing sometimes. I have seen this as well and have no idea what to do about it. Sometimes the hotel connections I get leave a lot to be desired.

      Thank you for leaving a comment, I appreciate you.

      Leslie

  • Alaska Free Quote on Mold Removal

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this site needs significantly a lot more consideration. Ill probably be once more to read significantly a lot more, thanks for that information. 214065

  • new songs

    This is one extremely fascinating post. I like the way you write and I will bookmark your blog to my favorites. 82290

Leave a Reply

