It is Margarita time. More breakdowns.

20120707-194634.jpg

Actually Joe is the tippler. Two sips and I’m drunk, or slightly intoxicated. I think I’m allergic to alcohol because it hits my brain so fast and I’m worthless for the next 10 hours.

This morning, at sunrise in Tucumcari, the air was cool with just a touch of humidity. Forecasts were for cooler temps in the high 80’s with a chance of rain later in the day.

My truck went right into gear and we left Tucumcari behind. Flagstaff, Arizona was our stopping place for the night.

20120707-195508.jpg

Our first stop was the Love’s in Santa Rosa, New Mexico for cash to pay Arizona Permits and to wash my windshields, windows, and mirrors. Getting back on the road was not a problem.

The next stop was west of Albuquerque at the Route 66 Truck Stop for a potty break. That done we got back on the road.

10 miles later my truck hacked up a fur ball and would not go any further. I lost engine power and the truck acted like it was going to quit so we pulled off the highway at an exit ramp.

20120707-200021.jpg

Nearly three hours later the tow truck showed up. This time it was a ‘Honkin’ Monster of a truck.

20120707-200155.jpg

Interstate Towing came to get me. The driver hooked onto the front of my truck….

20120707-200324.jpg

Disconnected my driveline….
20120707-200752.jpg

And off he went to the Kenworth shop 35 miles back to Albuquerque.

20120707-200547.jpg

We encountered a gulley washer of rain heading back to the shop.

20120707-200703.jpg

Now my truck is sitting the weekend out in the shop yard until Monday when the Kenworth mechanics can get to it.

20120707-201019.jpg

Hotel rooms in Albuquerque are scarce! There is a barbecue festival going on this weekend in Albequerque. The “Pork and Brew“. We snagged one of the last rooms in town and are paying an obnoxious rate. $114 plus tax!

So we are here in Albuquerque until Monday afternoon – best case scenario – or until Thursday – worst case scenario.

Tomorrow it will be a trip north of Santa Fe to a place called “Rancho de Chimayo” in Chimayo, New Mexico.

First is to find a Starbucks. I’m out of coffee for my percolator and that is not good 😉

Hope you all are enjoying cooler temps. If not I’ll think of you as I sit under the shade of a big tree and watch the kids, big and little, splash around in the hotel pool.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “It is Margarita time. More breakdowns.

  • Jann Gray

    Well stink, stank, stunk! It just doesn’t stop! Grrrrr! How are you holding out on the “creative front?” Know I am praying for you…as my Jammy Jane used to say – “this too shall pass” – but Lordy could you make it PASS FAST!?!?!?!?!?

    [[hugs}}

    • Message In A Fold

      Amen, to your Jammie Jane. This will pass.

      Out of all the aggravation of these past several days the thing I cling to and try to stay focused on are the people that come to our aid. The machines built to do the job of towing trucks are amazing!

      Joe and I are blessed in so many ways. More especially by the friends we have and You are one of those blessings 😀

      Crafting? I have a few hours this morning and hopefully some later today after Chimayo. Gonna take advantage of the time I do have 🙂

      Thank you for the hug 🙂

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Tucumcari is not a lucky place for you because if I remember correctly the last time you stayed there you were robbed of Joe’s light bar. I would be sick to the back teeth of that darn truck Leslie! As Jann said let it past fast, the faster the better 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

Leave a Reply

