Strange headlights and Super Singles

Have you seen the movie “Short Circuit”? It came out in the late 80’s or early 90’s and was a really cute movie.

The headlights on the truck I am driving remind me of that movie.

20120703-180915.jpg

20120703-180932.jpg

Most of the trucks we drive have eight tires and rims on the rear axles. These trucks we are taking to Oakland, California are “Super Singles”.

20120703-181204.jpg

Joe is having a little trouble. His right rear tire is going flat.

20120703-181332.jpg

He is trying to round up a repair service to get the tire fixed. Tomorrow is a National Holiday – July 4th – and every place except the State of Utah will be celebrating and businesses will be closed. Sounds as though someone will be coming to the hotel in Decatur, Texas in an hour or so to get Joe fixed up.

We have had a late start getting away from home. Yesterday, Monday, we were all packed and ready to leave for Justin, Texas. A small town outside Fort Worth.

We sat down to have lunch and watch a program that had been recorded on our Dish Network DVR while we were away last month.

Both of us fell asleep while eating our lunch at 11 a.m. and woke up in our chairs at 6 p.m.

Getting out the door this morning was just like having started an exercise regimen when your heart is not really in it. We had the alarm clock set for 4 a.m. and we slept right through all the racket. Waking at 6:30 instead.

Just as with an exercise regimen, the sooner you actually get going the easier it is to continue.

We will begin to feel better and more energized as the days progress. Saturday is our goal to deliver in Oakland, California then we will be taking trucks from our delivery location that will be going to Las Vegas, Nevada.

The fun and excitement is beginning once again :D. Woo Hoo

Have an excellent July 4th with your family. Sun screen, water sprinklers spraying in the yards with laughing and squealing children, barbecue cookers fragrant in the air, corn on the cob slathered with melting butter, hot dogs and hamburgers, potato salad, and maybe even some homemade ice cream. Yum!

Happy July 4th.

Leslie

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

11 responses to “Strange headlights and Super Singles

  • Indira

    Happy 4th July for you too, Leslie.

  • Sylvia

    Curious to know why you say that the State of Utah doesn’t celebrate the 4th of July. I have lived in Utah for 13 years now and have yet to see it not celebrated as in other states I have lived in. ???

    • Message In A Fold

      July 24th is the big Utah holiday. Their Pioneer Day celebration with ox carts, horse drawn Prairie Schooners, and re-enactments of the trek into Utah they had.

      We lived in Beaver. Just about 65 miles north of Cedar City. July 4th was not recognized with fanfare and hoopla. They saved it up for Pioneer Days.

      Salt Lake City held some activities in the Fairgrounds on the 4th but the Big Hoopty was always the 24th of July.

      Many of the smaller towns opted out of the July 4th festivities because of the costs involved in having the two celebrations in one month. Up in Salt Lake City some businesses were closed for the day but not in towns outside the Salt Lake Metro area.

      It totally amazed me how different the culture is there from everywhere else I’ve lived.

      The schools and businesses shut down in late September or early October for the start of hunting season, usually for one day. Families talk of past seasons for weeks before the event. The kids get really excited too.

      It just always struck me as a bit off when the 4th of July was outdone by the Pioneer Days. But when in Rome….

      Utah has the most beautiful landscapes I’ve ever laid eyes on and really enjoy passing through.

      Hope this answered your question.

      Leslie

  • Sylvia

    Oops. Fixed my email address…

  • Jerald Stockman

    I do like the way you have presented this situation plus it does indeed provide us some fodder for thought. On the other hand, coming from everything that I have witnessed, I just simply trust as other feed-back pack on that men and women remain on point and not embark on a tirade involving some other news of the day. Still, thank you for this exceptional piece and whilst I do not necessarily concur with it in totality, I regard your standpoint.

  • gardenpinks

    Loved that film Short Circuit Leslie. It is a fun film and I can see why those lights remind you of it 🙂
    Obviously your bodies told you that you both needed the well earned rest and sleep hence why you slept from early lunch to 6 pm and then slept through the alarm clocks going off – I have to admit to never being woken by alarm clocks!! I can sleep through anything 🙂 However I do have a good internal clock that only occasionally lets me down. Before going to sleep I tell myself I must wake up by whatever time and quite often it comes off. The other times I tend to have a restless night knowing I’ve got to be up early and then just before I have to get up I fall into a deep sleep – called sod’s law 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      I have experienced “Sod’s Law” a time or two in my life. That is no fun at all and a body is totally worthless that day.

      I’m normally up around 5:00 am but the month of June and this past week have taken a toll on restorative sleep.

      That movie, Short Circuit, was a really great movie. Can’t say the same for the sequel though.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Althea Orlinsky

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m sorry to hear that your long comment got lost in the ethernet somewhere. It did not show up in my spam, as some have before.

      Thank you for reading my blog and leaving a comment, I appreciate you.
      Leslie

Leave a Reply

