10,173 Miles traveled and 27 hotel rooms June 2012

One month.  30 days.

Miles traveled in 30 days – paid and deadhead – 10,173.

2034.6 gallons of fuel at $4.00/gallon is $8138.40

27 hotel rooms at an average of $65 per night is $1,755.00

60 meals (2 per day for both Joe and I) for an average of $40 is $2,400

We are both exhausted and road weary.  We are  home long enough to do laundry, sleep in our own bed for two nights, make some repairs to my boom, and get ready for the next round of work which begins tomorrow (Monday – July 2, 2012) driving to Fort Worth, Texas to pick up three trucks going to Oakland, California.

My temper is getting short, the heat is making both of us sick, and all I want to do is go to bed and stay there until hell freezes over.

My iPhone is hacking up fur balls right and left.  I can’t take photos any longer.  The audio books I have on my phone has taken up over 3 GB of the 8 GB total.  Where the rest of it has gone to leave me with 191 MB I can’t fathom.

The thought of getting back in our pickup and being seat belted in for the trip to Fort Worth – less than 200 miles – is enough to make me want to rebel.  Find a job close to home that won’t pay the kind of money that we make with all the crazy miles we drive is pretty tempting right about now.  Knowing that Joe will be the one to hit the road and drive the crazy miles keeps me from losing my mind and doing something drastic.

Some days I really dislike this job.  Everyday I am thankful for this job, some days less thankful than others.  It is times like these that I need to drag out my “Gratitude Journal” and take a look at it.  Kind of like an “Attitude Adjustment”.

The winter months will come soon enough and I will be knee deep in paperwork to do our yearly taxes.  Joe tells me that we will be home for three weeks near the end of July and I can get a head start on the paperwork.

I have not answered the comments posted to this blog.  I apologize to all of you that have left comments and they have been ignored.  I appreciate everyone of you and am very thankful for your friendship.  That crazy iPhone acting up has been the largest problem I have had with answering your comments.  It has decided that I need to put in my Password for each comment I reply to and I have forgotten what it is 😦  This has been remedied and I will get to your comments as time permits today.

There are people today that have no home to go to.  The fires that have ravaged Colorado, Utah, New Mexico, and other parts of the US have been devastating.  Homes and businesses have been consumed by the flames.  My prayers go out to all who have suffered such great losses.

A police woman in Denver, Colorado has lost her life through the selfish act of one person.  This police officer was tasked with making sure that all the citizens who came out to a park in Denver to enjoy the Summer Concerts were comfortable, and able to enjoy their picnic meals upon blankets covering the ground as they listened to the various performers.  One damn fool walked up the officer and shot her in the head.  That dirt bag has deprived a 12 year old girl the safety and security of a home with her single mother, school, friends, and extended family.  This little girl has had her life turned upside down because of one thoughtless sh*t head.

The police woman was a co-worker and friend of our future son-in-law.  I, for one, am grappling with the injustice of our legal system that allows gang members the rights to run amok.  Endangering the lives of everyone else.  Our society, as a whole, has allowed this sort of thing to happen.  The rights of the few have overshadowed the rights of the many.  The dirt bag has been caught.  My faith in the justice system is nearly non-existent.  Take one idiot out and there are many to take up the empty space.

As you can tell, I am having little success with getting my mind and body into a better state of affairs.  This will pass and I will get back to my old self.  The frustrations of the past month have taken over my frame of mind and I need to get it righted.  So for now I will focus on the things I need to accomplish in order to get out the door and back to work tomorrow.

Signed,

Crabby Gertrude

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

14 responses to “10,173 Miles traveled and 27 hotel rooms June 2012

  • Maureen Mathis

    I don’t read very well. I thought the miles you drove was the amount of money you were paid, and I was fixin’ to tell you to quit PAYING to work! I couldn’t believe that you could actually LOSE that much money working. It would be kind of like gambling and losing money. But wait, THAT would actually be FUN!

    • Message In A Fold

      You crack me up! Thank you, thank you, a thousand times thank you for the much needed laugh 😀

      When we get close to San Antonio, more especially San Marcos, I have to stop to see you and spend some time in your presence. Soak up some of that “Maureen Magic” of love and kindness. Also I want to see your craft room and how you have taken over one of the now empty bedrooms to create your special space 😀

      Love you Girlfriend – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    We do understand what you are going through, and this heat will cook anything. Time away from home, driving thousands of miles constantly, things can drive a person totally bonkers.

    I will speak only for myself here, I understand sis, on the road constantly, it can make a person nuts. I am so very sorry for the loss of your son- in -law to be, losing a friend like that is horrible, i know you and your family will be there for him, there is strength in family.

    I was going to work part time for Logisticare, transporting people that cant drive to their medical appointments, the monkey in the wrence i was talking about, has stopped me from doing this work, thats ok, when one door closes, another door will open, i believe this.

    It would have been fun to some degree, work yes, i would travel all over the place, but, not overnight, not going to happen now.

    I hope you both get plenty of rest, take it easy a bit, its too hot to do too much, rest sis and joe, the job will always be out there, you lose your health, you lose allot. Keep your health, take care of yourself, pics can wait, comments can wait, responding to others can wait,

    Take care of you, then when you are ready, be there for other things you want to do.

    We love you both, cant stress enough, take care of YOU AND JOE, your lives are precious.

    Talk to you later, love you both.

    • Message In A Fold

      Sis, I am so glad you are back in my life. I know you understand the constant travel and how weary and crazy a person can get.

      Crapazoid! What a total bummer. You had your heart set on being a help to your community by transporting people to their medical appointments. It was fun thinking up crazy things you most certainly would never do as you dropped hints about this venture. I’m sorry to hear that your car was not large enough to pass the scrutiny of the Logisticare agency 😦

      As you say, “One door closes another will open”. I hope you find your fit there in the area you live in. I’m sure you are already making an impact on the lives you encounter with your smile and your kind words.

      Joe and I both love you and Les and feel fortunate to have the two of you in our circle of family. We all need support and communication.

      Thanks Sis for the support you have been to me.

      Love you Sis

  • gardenpinks

    Okay Crabby Gertrude put your big girl pants on again and get your butt into gear. You will soon be home for 3 weeks where you can kick that paperwork into touch and lose yourself in the craft room or not.

    So very sad that a woman has needlessly lost her life in the course of her work and that her daughter’s life has been turned upside down and inside out. We have thought for many years that the US needs to seriously reconsider its gun laws. We also heard via the news on the radio that so many states of America are filing for bankruptcy and laying off police personnel, teachers and so forth; it just beggars belief! I know that many US politicians denigrate the UK’s system of having a state run police force, teachers, etc and that everyone that is employed has to pay a percentage towards the upkeep of the police, teachers, etc but surely it is far better to have this system than to have states going bankrupt and cutting law enforcement and teaching staff…..where does that leave the citizens? How is that democratic?

    We then had some American financial ‘expert’ telling us how to turn our economy around and what Europe should be doing!! He obviously doesn’t believe in getting his own house in order first LOL

    Sorry rant over 🙂
    Now clear your head of all that is wrong/bad and think positive 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      There always seems to be some crack pot that comes out of the wood work spouting their “Cure for the world’s ills”. Poking their nose in other countries policies while not doing what would be necessary in his/her own country.

      I tell you, Lynn, there will come a time – I fear – when a general uprising will happen among the American Citizens and it will be all over with but the crying.

      Over here, and I’m sure it is the same everywhere, each person has their individual thoughts on what they think is the right way to live and rules to follow. Joe and Hugh will get into political discussions. Each trying their best to persuade the other to come over to their side. Listening to them go at it I sometimes wonder if this very small microcosm of political thought and discussion can turn into a melee on a larger scale. Yikes!

      As far as gun laws go here in the US….that is only a small part of what is wrong with our legal system. Take all the guns away from the citizenry the thugs will ALWAYS find a way to acquire them and be backed by our legal system that was set up to protect us. The thugs will prevail in that.

      Okay, I’m going to go off. The prison system is a giant laugh. It is, in fact, a school of higher education for the thugs. They have weight benches to pump up their muscles, other inmates teaching those that were caught in their nefarious acts how to not get caught the next time. All of the prisoners want their freedom of movement returned to them but once on the outside find they can’t live in a free environment because they don’t have the intestinal fortitude to find a job, a place to live, and support themselves. They find it easier to commit another crime to get put back in the system they have become comfortable in. I didn’t think the prison system was supposed to be a fun place to be in. I thought it was a place one would NOT want to go back to.

      These things are all courtesy of the lawyers we have a glut of. The rights of the thugs have to be protected even to the detriment of law abiding citizens. Long ago being a lawyer was a noble profession. Now there are terrible jokes about them and such distrust that the majority of people I talk to, or listen to on the radio, repeat Shakespeare’s quote “Kill all the lawyers”. At least it has been frequently stated to have been said by Shakespeare.

      Okay, off my rant.

      Enjoy your sunshine and your blooms.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Jann Gray

    Sweet girl…

    Do NOT be so hard on yourself! Let’s review….
    One month. 30 days.

    Miles traveled in 30 days – paid and deadhead – 10,173.

    2034.6 gallons of fuel at $4.00/gallon is $8138.40

    27 hotel rooms at an average of $65 per night is $1,755.00

    60 meals (2 per day for both Joe and I) for an average of $40 is $2,400

    Hmmmm….that plus the heat earns you the right to be grumpy, out of sorts and generally unwilling to go get back on the road!

    I will be keeping you and Joe in my prayers…I was thinking about you all the other day when the temp went to 111 here in Tennessee…my first thought was “I hope that Leslie and Joe are not out here working in this heat!” Crazy heat…you’re allowed to be Crabby Gertrude, Grumpy Gus or Frazzled Freda!

    {{hugs}} and wishes for cool breezes!

    Love ya – Jann

    • Message In A Fold

      Awwww. Thank you my Sweet Friend for the hug and the support 🙂

      This early summer is just plum crazy. The 100’s usually don’t start until later in July – especially in Tennessee. I used to look forward to getting to Tennessee from some of the southern states to bask in the cool morning air and the welcome cool evening breezes after the hot daytime temps. Things have gone pear shape with the weather and our time in Tennessee was just plain hot all the time.

      You and Royce keep yourselves in the A/C comfort during this crazy start of summer. Thank you for the permission to be a Crabby Gertrude, Grumpy Gus, or Frazzled Freda 😀

      Love you my Friend – Leslie

  • Anita

    Dear Crabby Gertrude: Thank you for this post. It has reminded me of what I need to be grateful for. Which would be YOU right this moment! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your life with us reading this blog. Crabby or not–reading this is one of my favorite parts of my day! Anita

    • Message In A Fold

      Thank you Anita for your sweet and kind words. I appreciate knowing you are out there and still a part of our lives 😀

      Joe and I are trying to figure out how to get back to Greeley, or close to it, to see you and to personally thank you for your efforts those many years ago to set us on the right path to a happy marriage and a regular life. We appreciate you more than you will ever know.

      Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    I can see already that you are becomming more cheerful, you needed the touch of your friends, aren’t they so thoughtful? No, it wasnt the fact that the car was too small, i guess i didnt put in that our insurance was progressive, they have been good to us for years. And apparently Logisticare doesnt care for Progressive, dont understand all the ins and outs of it, dont care, no other insurance company can get as low a payment as we get from progressive, so, will continue on with hospital. Was going to anyway for awhile, am part time, wheather or not i ever get full time is just the way it goes. I am happy with the housekeeping dept in the hospital, so, its all ok.

    Yes my sis,i understand what you are going through, and i also am happy we are back in each others lives.

    I have a new phone, mine was a dud from day one, i will be keeping up with you and joe, have been.

    Your friends are such wonderful friends, i am SOOO very glad you have them, they give you an e-hug, a smile, a kick in the pants as you need it.

    They make you strong, so that you can keep going to do what you need to do, we are all there for you and joe.

    Growl, grit your teeth, and then plunge on forward, keeping in mind your following, your friends and your sister. We are here for you.

    Love you sis and Joe, 😀

    • Message In A Fold

      What difference does it make which insurance company you have as long as you have insurance?! That doesn’t make any sense to me. Go figure. Just try to get your brain wrapped around any type of agency and their whims. Ain’t gonna happen, you’ll go nuts trying to figure it out.

      Sis, you are so right. Having the friends I have met online, that have stuck with me through all my whining and adventures is heartening. To have such support from each of them, plus the needed head slaps from time to time to kick me back on the right track 😀 This includes you Sis 😀

      Love you my Sister

  • Pati Mishler

    Just so you know, i did send a reply back to you, yesturday, 7-2-12, lol, from my phone, dont see it on here. Will check back later to see if the reply is on here.

    I too love you sister, summertime can be enjoyable, and also a very painful process if your on the road constantly, time sometimes slows down, the day’s begin to all run together.

    You get up in the morning in some strange motel, even if you have been there before, it is still not your bedroom. You get started on the road AGAIN for the day, and then fight through the heat of the day, only to go once again to a different hotel room for the night. This goes on all the time for you.

    Each day you put thousand’s of miles on the highway’s, is there ANY wonder it would make a person CRAZY???

    I know this is hard on you and joe, while we all look forward to hearing all about the thing’s you do, and see while on the road, ( oh my ) ( sigh ) its a HARD job to do.

    I commend you sis and Joe, I do hope there is a small break for you both, you get some rest, do something fun, get your mind’s OFF work for a small time, and refresh yourselve’s.

    We are all here, waiting, we will all still be here for you sis. You give us all that little something special in our live’s that keep us looking forward to ” what next is she going to do’, ” where are they going next”, ” what new challenge are we going to find they are getting into next,” and ” how are they going to get out of that situation”.

    Just remember, you take care of each other, dont worry about us, get refreshed, rested, take some time, we will all be here, we all care about you.

    Love you sis

  • Pati Mishler

    Just another thought, you need to destress,? You pour it all out on an email to ( ME ) i will get it on my phone, yes!! lol, i am FINALLY getting into the next century!!

    Phone wise anyway,lol, i am here for you sis, in case if cant answer my phone with work or whatever, leave me an email, i check my phone often.

    Again, love you sis.

Leave a Reply

