Mike Naughton Ford – Aurora, Colorado

Vehicle problems are common. Frustrating as all get out, but common.

Not everyone that owns a vehicle is a mechanic and can’t diagnose a problem when it happens.

Changing a flat tire can be a daunting proposition to some. I have a friend that lives in Texas who has taught her children how to change a tire beside the road. Major kudos to her teaching her children to be self reliant.

For mechanical malfunctions, more especially in the newer models of vehicles, trained mechanics are the people we rely on to keep us motoring in our daily lives. We pay premium fees for this expertise.

So what does a normal person do when their vehicle has been taken to a “reputable” shop for repairs? Blindly put their trust and hard earned money into the hands of these shops then drive away believing their world has been righted and life will return to normal.

Two months ago, early April, we had to take our Gladys to Reynolds Ford in Norman, Oklahoma to have fuel injectors replaced. $2,300 later we were on our way out of town and back to work.

April 12th we both left home assured Gladys was fixed and in good running order. Problems began to slowly show themselves. Hard to start. Once started Gladys would rumble and shake as though she were starved of fuel. She’d work great some days and badly others. Didn’t make much difference if she were driven daily or spent several days atop the trailer.

Last week on our way to Santa Rosa, California it got worse. Joe thought the left bank of fuel injectors had now gone out. The right bank was replaced in April, or so we thought.

Enter Mike Naughton Ford in Aurora, Colorado. Joe and I were resigned to facing another repair bill in the $2,000 range.

For the sum of $800 and a few cents the problem was found in the work done at Reynolds Ford. The trusted mechanics had not only pinched the wiring harness when they replaced the valve cover, they didn’t even clean the accumulated dust and debris under the cover nor around the work area.

A phone call had to be placed to Reynolds Ford to find out exactly what work had, in fact, been done in April.

Would we recommend Reynolds Ford to someone looking for vehicle service? At this point – NO. Not when they carelessly mess with our livelihood.

Would we recommend Mike Naughton Ford to someone looking for vehicle service? YES.

Mike Naughton Ford not only fixed another mechanic’s faulty workmanship they even washed Gladys of all accumulated road grime. She was so clean and bright as she sat in the lot. When Joe started the engine she purred as she has not done in a very long time.

20120613-110027.jpg

Thank you, Bob, for the care you and your mechanics have taken with our Gladys. You ever need a “Testimonial” call us!!

So, if you live in the Denver, Colorado area and need vehicle service make sure you go to Mike Naughton Ford located at 150 South Havana Street – Aurora, Colorado.

20120613-103722.jpg

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

23 responses to “Mike Naughton Ford – Aurora, Colorado

  • Maureen Mathis

    So glad the took good care of you! Be safe out on the road!

    • Message In A Fold

      Thanks Maureen. It is so good to have our pickup back in good working order.

      Hope all is well with you and your family. Seems to be shrinking lately with the older ones going off to college.

      Love you – Leslie

  • gardenpinks

    Rod, a trained mechanic, would get so cross about some of the mechanics he came across later in life especially those who were paid in good faith by customers to give their vehicles a full service only to discover that a full service did not include changing plugs especially the more difficult ones yet would show it on the invoice and charge the customer for it.
    One of his favourite sayings was – Mechanics! I’ve sh*t ’em!

    Rod would explain to people that when they had a full service ask for all the parts that had been replaced, then they could be checked to ensure that those parts had in fact been changed and that those parts had once been part of their vehicle!!

    Now that everything is computerised in vehicles then Rod admits it is all beyond him but he can still work on the older vehicles….doesn’t like doing it any more but he can at a push! He said his joints don’t bend like they used to ๐Ÿ™‚ He also gets cramp badly in his hands which can be a tad difficult when fiddling with bolts or such in a small place and he daren’t let go of anything!

    When Rod first taught me to drive I had to learn where the fuel went, water and oil and how to check oil levels. What the tyre pressures should be and how to change a tyre and all before he let me get behind the wheel. All to no avail as I never passed my driving test and actually didn’t enjoy driving although I could tootle about the hillside in an old beat up VW Beetle or drive up and down the main track ๐Ÿ™‚

    So glad Gladys is now sorted and back on the road, long may she continue ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      You have yourself quite the handy man to have around. Fixes vehicles, rebuilds and remodels your home, chops wood, and lots of other stuff, too ๐Ÿ™‚

      What has ever happened to personal integrity? I think it got lost and drowned out years back.

      Poor Rod and his arthritic fingers. I bet he spends days longing for the times when he could function fully. :-(. Give him a hug from me.

      How fun for you to tootle around in your VW :-). Your driving and licensing tests must be wicked hard. I know you are one sharp cookie and can do a lot of stuff so it has to be the licensing board that has stopped you and not your inability to drive.

      What a bunch of curmudgeons to deprive you of your freedom ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Love you – Leslie

      • gardenpinks

        The world is a safer place without me on the road ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps I should have learnt to drive when I was in my teens and far more blasรฉ about life instead of waiting until my 30s when I could see all the dangers??!!

        After I failed my test Rod asked “Do you really want to drive or do you think you ought to drive?” When I replied it was the latter and didn’t enjoy the experience then he said then don’t do it unless you really want to. So that was the end of that! I think there are far too many people who are driving because they think they should and are probably not relaxed enough. They don’t always make good drivers.
        As I tell everyone “There is eough idiots on the road why add another” ๐Ÿ™‚

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Seems you know yourself and your limits well. Can’t find fault with that logic at all.

        I do remember you writing about driving around on your property. I had a good chuckle at your rendition of a real life “Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride”. ๐Ÿ˜€

        That experience must have been enough excitement and an adrenaline rush for quite some time.

        I do hope your home sells and you can move to an area with public transportation. We may not hear from you for day’s on end as you explore your world ๐Ÿ˜€

        Love you – Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    It’s such a relief to finally find out what the trouble is, and find someone you can trust WILL fix the problem, and , DOES do it right. To not be stranded somewhere,and, not know what the problem is, or, find out that work that SHOULD have been done,HASN’T been done. We DO put our faith in people that are SUPPOSED to be there for us when we need them, and as you said, put out HARD earned money to THEM. It’s not right when other’s do people wrong. Or just a passing job, you and i were taught better than that, too bad some people didnt get taught the same, or didn’t listen. So glad thing’s turned out good, Thank you Mike Naughton Ford in Aurora, Colorado. Love you sis and Joe, take care on the road, be careful.

    • Message In A Fold

      We got our ears chewed off and our butts busted for less.

      Thanks Sis for reminding me that we did have some training in being considerate – even at the cost of a bit of pain. Sure has paid off for us now ๐Ÿ™‚

      Joe is, shall I say, livid about this whole ordeal. He’s just about ready to tear some heads off. Yikes!

      You and Les be careful in your travels up in your part of the world.

      Love you Sis

  • Earl Claus

    Door Jamb Switch was smashed-in while my car was in the care of people at Reynolds Ford. I spoke with Doug Sandlin about it. Hopefully, they can find the person who did it and drop the person from payroll. They owe me for one part, and I hope they are on the level and square-up.

    • Message In A Fold

      Man! I am sorry to hear of your troubles! That really sucks to have your car damaged while on their lot – and by one of their employees.

      Thank you for dropping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Leslie

  • Pati Mishler

    i know this isnt about your blog, but, i got to tell you, i was sooooo excited. I had let Tweety out to do her business, we heard a commotion, just to our left there is a field, our landlords farm allot around these parts. Anywho, there was a big combine harvesting wheat,now i am talking maybe 50 feet away from tweety and me. She didnt appreciate the monster at all, came flying back in the house, i closed the door and just watched, the gentleman inside the monster stepped out and asked me if i wanted to go along for the ride. I happen to know the young man, it quite surprised me, he encourage me along, ok, i climbed in, should say UP!! into the monster and away we went, did two or three fields i would say. It was fun, VERY DIFFERENT, but fun. All done in about 45 minutes, then he delivered me at the house and then a couple semi’s came to get what he had harvested. He said he didnt think i had ever ridden in a combine, NOPE! i said, never have, but, it sure was fun . Had to share that little story with you. love you sis. Glad you have Gladys back and all is well, be careful out there on the highways and byways.

    • Message In A Fold

      How awesome is THAT?!

      Getting to ride one of those humongous combines sounds like total fun. I’m jealous ๐Ÿ˜€

      Good thing it was you and not me. I’d have asked a gazillion questions and wanted to see the innards ๐Ÿ˜€

      So tell me. How big of a smile did you have on your face when your adventure was over? Does your face hurt from all the smiling and grinning?

      How many seconds passed after your ride was over before you called Les? I bet he got a chuckle out of your fun day ๐Ÿ˜€

      Love you Sis

  • Pati Mishler

    LOL!!! Actually, i DID, lol ask a gazillion question’s, lol, how does the machine know which is the wheat and which is the weeds? How does the machine know what parts to throw to the back to the proper places? I dont remember ALL the questions i asked, the guy got quite a kick out of me, lol, yep!! i had a grin from ear to ear, and he, his name is Charles Wheaton, was having a BLAST watching ME, and, paying attention to what he was doing also. We got a chance to talk, he is the grandson of our landlord, there are 7 boys, and one girl in his family, OMGOSH!! Such a very nice family. I told Les at lunch what i got to do, he just grins and shakes his head, cant you just see him doing that? As i got out of the big monster, and TRIED to climb down the long steps, lol, i WAS grinning, couldnt quit, and i kept waving back to him, just a grinnin along. He not only works for his dad that takes care of his grandpas land, they have quite a few guys working for them, he is also one of our hospital EMT’s, and is going to college to become a fireman. He is 19, WOW!! Knows WHAT he wants to do, and STILL wants to be sure to farm, OMGOSH!! Thought you would get a kick out of the story, lol, love you sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      I’m really stoked! You had an adventure! How cool is THAT!

      I’m glad the local people are welcoming you as they are. That is totally awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

      Be sure to let me know about your next adventure – whatever it is.

      Love you Sis

  • Pati Mishler

    Actually, working on something right now, in the midst of preparation, cant spill the beans yet. Takes time to put it all together, we hope that it comes about. YES!! Got you all interested now dont i? I hope to know something about it, within a couple few weeks. LOL, i will keep you up on any other adventures i might have, love you sis., and dont forget to tell Joe we said hi and we love him also. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Message In A Fold

      Joe sends his “Hi ‘ya Sis” and says to send his love to you.

      As you know…I’m psychotic and I predict that there will be an announcement from you inviting me, and anyone else, to come read your blog.

      This blog will feature farm machinery used to harvest crops and you will be the photo journalist and head writer.

      THAT! Would be totally cool. I’ve always wanted to know how that stuff works.

      Oh….did I say I was psychotic? I mean’t psychic ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love you Sis

  • Pati Mishler

    OMGOSH!! As i sit here laughing so hard i am nearly falling off my chair, psychotic? psychic? NO! lol, it wont be a blog on farm machinery, lol,, lmbo!! Hi Joe, later WHEN and IF i find out something i will let you know, till then, its blah blah blah, same ol, same ol ๐Ÿ˜€ Now!! I am off to read your adventures again, cant wait to see what you and Joe get into next. Love you both sis.

    • Message In A Fold

      Dang! I thought my ESPN powers were working :-(. Oh well.

      You can leave little hints from time to time.

      Wait. I just had another psychic flash. You are getting your CDL and heading out on the road yourself. Yes, I do believe I am correct this time. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love you Sis

  • Pati Mishler

    NO!!! lol, Now its your ESPN powers huh? OMGOSH!! lol, ( snort, snort), you are soooo funny. If you remember i already have my CDL, no, not getting out on the road by myself,but, your getting ( closer). Snicker, snicker, you said i could leave you little hints from time to time, lol,. And you are NOT!!! going to figure this one out, i garrrantee that. lol. This is SOOOOO much fun, well, gotta go, gotta find out where you went yesturday, have fun, well, not too much fun out there. Remember, ( we are ALL watching you.) ( spoken in a whisper). Love you sis and Joe

    • Message In A Fold

      Wait. I’m getting a message. There are voices in my head.

      They are saying “Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Brat Mobile”. You know, the “Batman theme music from the television show?

      The voices say you are going to be driving a School Bus. They also say you will be the Band Bus driver.

      Man! I’m really tuned in to all the mystical forces today ๐Ÿ˜€

      Love you Sis

  • Maureen Mathis

    I know, Pati – how about doing some more jewelry?! Would love to have more of your designs!

    • Message In A Fold

      That should get her attention :-). Maybe she will spill the beans on her secret endeavor. I’m about out of psychotic, I mean psychic, powers.

      As you well know – I really suck at guessing games ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love you -Leslie

      • Message In A Fold

        p.s. Maureen. I’ve tried to leave a comment on your EXCELLENT video showcasing the Genius. Best I could do was click the “Like button”.

        I’ve also tried to send you an email stating the same. My phone is really having a conniption fit.

        I saw you have several videos that I need to catch up on. Awesome that you have taken so well to doing video demos. I love it ๐Ÿ˜€

        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

