An open letter to Little America Hotel and Travel Center, Little America, Wyoming

General Manager
Little America Hotel and Travel Center
Little America, Wyoming

Dear Sir:

I wish to inform you of our recent dining experience in your restaurant in Little America, Wyoming.

We stopped in on Saturday, June 9, 2012 around 5:00 p.m. CDT. Nate was our server and his job performance would have made you proud.

My husband enjoys a good bowl of French Onion soup and a good BLT sandwich when he can get them. My husband asked Nate if the bacon could be cooked soft instead of the normal crispy that is frequently done in all restaurants.

Nate asked us to wait a moment while he consulted with the chef. Upon Nate’s return my husband was assured his bacon would be cooked to his satisfaction, which it was. My husband also enjoyed his bowl of French Onion soup as well. Something he has not enjoyed for the past five (5) years at your establishment.

This may seem a trivial matter to you but to us it is most fortunate. Because, you see, my husband told me in February of this year that we were never going back to any of the Little America’s again. His breakfast server had to be hunted down first for flatware upon food service, later it was for a coffee refill, and finally for the ticket. The food was cold when it was placed in front of him and my husband was not pleased with his experience.

Your establishments in Flagstaff, Arizona, Cheyenne and Little America, Wyoming have been a disappointment over the past five years. Each year it seems the food quality and service declines to the point of driving people away.

My husband has made each of the above mentioned properties stopping points in his travels for the past 42 years. For me it has only been 11.

I am writing you to let you know the change of management, cooking staff, and wait staff has been noticed by us and it is likely we will return again as we travel through Wyoming.

I am also letting you know that we have stopped going to your Flagstaff property over the past three years because the food and service quality has been truly unbearable.

As truck drivers we are mostly stuck with fast food or hot dogs in our travels. When we find a place that serves good food and the service is great we tend to pick our stopping places accordingly.

We look forward to stopping again in Little America, Wyoming. This letter is to let you know that we appreciate the changes being made.

Sincerely,

Leslie Bockenstette

About Message In A Fold

I am an over the road truck driver in Drive-Away Transport part of the year, and the sole bookkeeper of this operation the other part of the year. I do a lot of whining until I can get in my craft room and play with paper and glue. View all posts by Message In A Fold

4 responses to “An open letter to Little America Hotel and Travel Center, Little America, Wyoming

  • gardenpinks

    Their response will be interesting to see. These establishments need to be told when service/staff is rubbish but also when they have got it right. After having worked as a waitress at various local eateries I know what hard work it is and how damn rude the customers can be. These places have a high turn over of staff and if the management don’t treat their staff with some respect instead of treating them as losers then the only staff they can get is those that couldn’t care less.
    Hope these Little Americas start to learn their lessons :)
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • Message In A Fold

      Boy. You and I could swap stories about waiting tables. The customers that make you wonder if you are, in fact, part of the human race from the constant barrage of crap they say.

      Then there are the servers from the previous shift that thinks side work is beneath them. Leaving you and me to get it all taken care of while waiting in the hoards of customers coming in.

      Then there are the “tip thieves” that have no compunction to take the money rightfully yours. I don’t know what you were paid per hour. We in the US get a whopping $2.15 per hour plus tips. so every tip counts.

      Management has a lot to do with the morale and how well the staff acts as a team.

      The last time I waited tables the cooking staff were spotty in their food prep and cooking. I spent more time taking food back to the kitchen and getting into a conversation with the manager about getting someone in that knows how to cook. He wasn’t happy with me :-)

      Bet you have quite a few stories of your own.

      What television shows are you watching? You know “Nosy Parker’s want to know”. :D

      Live you – Ledlie

      • gardenpinks

        Well I did get more per hour than you did Leslie (around £4.50 ) but those tips were important and yes those damn tip thieves were awful people.
        At the last place I worked in there was a communal tip pot so that the kitchen staff and washer upper could have a dibs of the tips but it was then ensuring that all tips went in that pot! I don’t think there was ever a foolproof system for tips.
        I remember that any waiting staff not waiting would have to help putting away crockery and cutlery or preparing salad and I managed to severly slash my thumb with a rather sharp knife…ended up being taken to accident and emergency at the local hospital where it was decided not to stitch but to use ‘butterfly’ strips and a huge bandage!! The skin sloughed off after a few days as I badly reacted to the adhesive strips! Those were the days :D

        Television programmes ….well I watched several documentaries mainly about archaeological digs and finds which I find fascinating. Love all that history. Also there were a couple of programmes called Coast where there is a walk around parts of coastal UK and the history of the various places, industries that go on plus the natural and nature side of it.
        I then watched a series of episodes of Miami CSI on DVD that Jill has got. Love those CSI and NCIS programmes :)

        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold

        Uh-oh. More history and documentaries to fill your head. :D

        I love those kinds of programs as well. Fascinates me to listen to the stories of long passed lives and communities that have been buried for hundreds of years. As a teen I was smitten by the Egyptian stories and wanted to be an archeologist. Never had the chance to pursue a college education. However I did work at Arizona State University in the early 1980′s where a dig was going on outside of Tempe, Arizona. There was a neighbor of mine who was active in the dig and said I could come along.

        I was so excited about the prospect of finding pottery shards and stone tools. I manned the sifting screen for the day. Buckets of dirt were brought to me all day long. By the end of the day my zeal turned into a disappointment and that was the beginning and end to my archeology dream.

        I’m happy you have had the grandsons to enliven your daily routine by all their questions and antics. Plus the bonus of getting caught up on your television viewing.

        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

